Virtueller Kontrollraum



Data of the Rosetta spacecraft, space station experiments MSL, EXPOSE and MATROSHKA

The Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC) of DLR in Köln-Porz

The „Virtual Control Room“ is a feature on the DLR Website, where you will have access to telemetry data for the Missions ROSETTA, MSL (ISS), EXPOSE (ISS), MATROSHKA (ISS), coming straight from the control rooms of the Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC). This allows you to follow these missions.

In the context of the Rosetta mission, a scientific probe is accompanied and examined the comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko. The highlight of the mission will be the landing of the small piggyback probe Philae onto the comet’s surface. The MUSC houses the Lander Control Center (LCC). The Philae team at LCC is responsible for the control and operation of the lander.

The Materials Science Laboratory (MSL) supports microgravity research in the areas of solidification physics, measurement of thermo-physical properties of materials, and crystal growth.

In the trays of the EXPOSE payload, different organisms and organic-chemical compounds are exposed to the extreme environmental conditions of open space to test their survivability; meanwhile, the intensity and composition of incoming radiation is measured.

The experiment facility MATROSHKA is a life-sized model of a human torso. For the first time, this enables research into the effects of cosmic radiation on organs such as the eyes, lung, stomach, kidneys, intestine and the other organic systems of the human body during so-called Extra Vehicular Activities (EVA). Users of the “Virtual Control Room” could monitor current data of the MATROSHKA experiment aboard ISS, which measures radiation both inside and outside the ISS (alternately).

The “Virtual Control Room” is now online in an initial version. In the near future, it will be extended with further missions and applications, continuously expanding the “proprietary Control Room at home”.


Contact
Jerzy Zywicki
German Aerospace Center

Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel: +49 2203 601-3562

Fax: +49 2203 61471

E-Mail: Jerzy.Zywicki@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4540/7441_read-11291/

Virtueller Kontrollraum



Daten der Rosetta-Sonde, der Experiment-Anlagen EXPOSE und MATROSHKA

Das Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) des DLR in Köln-Porz

Der "Virtuelle Kontrollraum" ist ein Feature im DLR Web. Hier erhalten Sie Daten direkt aus den Kontrollräumen des Nutzerzentrums für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) zu den Missionen EXPOSE (ISS), MATROSHKA (ISS), ROSETTA und können so die Missionen zeitnahe verfolgen.

Im Rahmen der Mission Rosetta fliegt eine Forschungssonde zum Kometen Tschurjumow-Gerasimenko. Sie wird ihn auf seiner Bahn begleiten und dabei erkunden. Den Höhepunkt der Mission stellt die Landung der kleinen Tochtersonde Philae auf dem Kometen dar. Im MUSC befindet sich das Lander Kontrollzentrum (LCC). Das Philae-Team im LCC ist für die Steuerung und den Betrieb des Landers verantwortlich.

Die Experiment-Anlage MATROSHKA beherbergt ein dem menschlichen Oberkörper in Originalgröße nachempfundenes Modell. Erstmalig konnten damit die Einflüsse der kosmischen Strahlung auf Organe wie Augen, Lunge, Magen, Niere, Darm uvm. und die übrigen Organsysteme des menschlichen Körpers bei Außenbordaktivitäten, den so genannten Extra Vehicular Activities (EVA), studiert werden. Die "Virtueller Kontrollraum" Benutzer können die Messdaten des MATROSHKA-Experiments auf der ISS abrufen, das die Strahlenbelastung innerhalb und außerhalb der Internationalen Raumstation ISS misst.

In EXPOSE-Anlagen werden verschiedene Organismen und organisch-chemische Verbindungen den extremen Umgebungsbedingungen des Weltraums ausgesetzt und ihre Überlebensfähigkeit untersucht; gleichzeitig wird die Stärke und Zusammensetzung der Weltraumstrahlung gemessen.

Der "Virtuelle Kontrollraum" ist jetzt in einer ersten Version online. Er wird in nächster Zeit noch um einige weitere Missionen und Anwendungen erweitert - so wird der "eigene Kontrollraum zu Hause" ständig größer.

 

Anwendungsbeispiel für die Kometenmission Rosetta

 
Kontakt
Jerzy Zywicki
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel: +49 2203 601-3562

Fax: +49 2203 61471

E-Mail: Jerzy.Zywicki@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4540/7441_read-11291/