Control Rooms



The control rooms of the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) can be found at the DLR’s Oberpfaffenhofen site near Munich. Currently there are 11 Mission Control Rooms, the System Control Area as well as the offices of the control center staff. Scientific, commercial and security relevant missions are controlled out of these control rooms. Additionally the Columbus Lab of the International Space Station is operated from here. For some of the missions only the operations in the Launch and Early Orbit Phase (LEOP) are performed by the teams in the control center, for other missions, in particular for scientific missions also the long-lasting (up to 15 years) routine operations are done from here. Examples are the EUTELSAT missions (only LEOP) or the scientific missions CHAMP and GRACE (LEOP and routine operations). The control rooms are configured according to the mission requirements.

Control Room K1

 Control room K1
zum Bild Control room K1

Control Room K1 is the biggest control room operated in the German Space Operations Center. Because of its size and outfitting it is mainly used for the demanding LEOPs. Besides GSOC’s subsystem engineers also the experts from the Industry Support Team can monitor mission progress and spacecraft behavior in the control room at the consoles. They support the GSOC operations teams in the critical phase of a mission. Since early 2009 Control Room K1 is used for the LEOPs of the communication satellite mission SATCOMBw.

Control Room K2

 Control room K2
zum Bild Control room K2

Control room K2 is currently used for the preparation of the LEOP of the TanDEM-X mission. After the launch of TerraSAR-X in June 2007 TanDEM-X is the second satellite of this series of radar earth observation satellites. After completion of the LEOP and the In-Orbit Tests this satellite will also be transferred to and controlled by GSOC’s multimission operations team.

Control Rooms K3, K4, K11

 Control room K4
zum Bild Control room K4
 Control room K3
zum Bild Control room K3

These Control Rooms represent the central part of the Columbus Control Center that was inaugurated in October 2004. They are used for the operations of the European Columbus module of the International Space Station ISS. Operations are performed from one of the two control rooms, the other one is used for tests, training and simulations. Like this a continuous adaptation caused by new requirements is possible. Since the launch of Columbus on 7 February 2008 the operational Control Room (mainly K4) is in use at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 seven days a week with a minimum of 4 Flight Controllers who work in three shifts. They share the tasks of the Columbus Control Center, namely the monitoring and control of the Columbus Lab as well as coordination of the operations of the scientific experiments. In special mission phases and during normal office hours they are complemented by another 4-5 experts in that room, like the EUROCOM who is authorized to directly speak with the astronauts on board the ISS.

Another smaller third control room (K11) in a separate building is also available for back-up operations, tests and simulations.

Control Room K5

This small Control Room (K5) is prepared and configured for Back-Up support. Out of this room the necessary safety operations can be taken over from other control center with a pre-warning time of 1 day. As an example the 5 satellites of the SAR-Lupe mission which have been placed into orbit since 2006. After LEOP they were handed over to a dedicated control center.

Control Room K6

Another Control Room (K6) is used for the integration of mission operations systems of new satellite projects (e.g. TET-1).

Control Rooms K7, K8

In Control Rooms K7 and K8 the routine operations of the SATCOMBw mission are performed. Around the clock, a special dedicated Flight Operations Team monitor and controls two geostationary communication satellites.

Control Room K9

 Control room K9
zum Bild Control room K9

Control Room K9 hosts the multimission environment of the German Space Operations Center. Out of this room all scientific earth observation missions of GSOC (CHAMP, BIRD, GRACE 1 & GRACE 2 and TerraSAR-X) are controlled in routine operations phase. In the multimission operations several projects with similar scenarios are comprised in one operations area which is based on common systems and tools. Each member of the multimission operations team is in the position to monitor and control each of the satellites. This ensures a maximum exchange of experience and maximum operations reliability through support by mission specific satellite subsystem experts.

Control Room K10

The European Proximity Operations Simulator (EPOS, modernized in 2009) is controlled out of Control Room K10.

Control Rooms K12-14

In 2010 the refurbishment of three additional Control Rooms is planned, K12 for the Asteroid finder mission, K13 for small geostationary communication satellites and K14 for the new On-Orbit Servicing missions.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6821/4251_read-6296/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Columbus (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6302/usetemplate-print/)
TerraSAR-X (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6308/usetemplate-print/)
SAR-Lupe (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6305/usetemplate-print/)
BIRD - Bispectral InfraRed Detector (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6311/usetemplate-print/)
CHAMP - CHAllenging Minisatellite Payload (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2814/4262_read-6313/usetemplate-print/)
EUTELSAT W (W2,W3,W4,W1R,HB6,W5) (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2814/4261_read-6324/usetemplate-print/)
GRACE - Gravity Recovery And Climate Experiment (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6309/usetemplate-print/)

Kontrollräume



Die Kontrollräume des Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrums (GSOC) befinden sich am DLR Standort Oberpfaffenhofen. Hier sind sowohl elf Missionskontrollräume, der System-Kontrollraumbereich als auch die Büros der Mitarbeiter des Kontrollzentrums untergebracht. In den Kontrollräumen K1 bis K11 werden sowohl wissenschaftliche als auch kommerzielle und sicherheitsrelevante Missionen geflogen sowie das Columbus Labor an der Internationalen Raumstation betrieben. Für einige Missionen wird nur der Betrieb in der sogenannten Launch and Early Orbit Phase (LEOP) vom Kontrollzentrum durchgeführt, während für die meisten, insbesondere bei wissenschaftlichen Missionen auch der Routinebetrieb übernommen wird. Beispiele hierfür sind die EUTELSAT W - Missionen (nur LEOP) oder z.B. die wissenschaftlichen Missionen CHAMP und GRACE (LEOP und Routinebetrieb). Die Kontrollräume werden entsprechend den Missionsanforderungen konfiguriert.

Kontrollraum K1

 Kontrollraum K1
zum Bild Kontrollraum K1

Der Kontrollraum K1 ist der größte Kontrollraum, den das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum betreibt. Aufgrund der Größe wird dieser für die aufwendigen LEOPs benutzt. Neben den Subsystemingenieuren des GSOC können auch Ingenieure vom "Industry Support Team" in diesem Kontrollraum an den jeweiligen Konsolen die Mission mitverfolgen und stehen insbesondere für kritische Situationen dem Betriebsteam zur Seite.

Kontrollraum K2

 Kontrollraum K2
zum Bild Kontrollraum K2

Der Kontrollraum K2 wird zurzeit für die Missionen TerraSAR-X und TanDEM-X genutzt. TDX ist nach TSX (Start im Juni 2007) der zweite Satellit dieser Serie von Radar-Erdbeobachtungssatelliten. Das primäre Ziel der TanDEM-X Mission ist die Erstellung eines globalen digitalen Höhenmodells der Erde. Zur Abdeckung der gesamten Erdoberfläche wird ein dreijähriger Parallelbetrieb der beiden Satelliten TDX und TSX im Formationsflug durchgeführt - bei einem Abstand von nur wenigen hundert Metern.

Kontrollräume K3, K4, K11

 Kontrollraum K4
zum Bild Kontrollraum K4
 Kontrollraum K3
zum Bild Kontrollraum K3

Diese Kontrollräume repräsentieren den zentralen Teil des im Herbst 2004 eingeweihten Columbus-Kontrollzentrums. Diese werden für den Betrieb des europäischen Columbus-Moduls der Internationalen Raumstation ISS eingesetzt. In einem dieser beiden Kontrollräume läuft der operationelle Betrieb, im anderen finden Tests, Trainings und Simulationen und damit eine fortwährende Anpassung an sich neu ergebende Anforderungen statt. Seit dem Start des Columbus-Moduls am 8.2.2008 ist der operationelle Kontrollraum (meistens K4) zu jeder Zeit, Tag und Nacht, mit mindestens 4 Flight Controllern besetzt, die sich in drei Schichten pro Tag die Aufgaben aufteilen - nämlich die Kontrolle über den Zugang des Columbus Labors sowie die Koordination des wissenschaftlichen Experimentbetriebs. In besonderen Missionsphasen sowie zu Normalarbeitszeiten sind noch weitere 4-5 Experten in diesem Raum zugegen, so z.B. der EUROCOM, der vom Columbus Kontrollzentrum aus direkt mit den Astronauten an Bord der ISS sprechen kann.

Zusätzlich steht noch ein dritter, etwas kleinerer Kontrollraum (K11) in einem benachbarten Gebäude zur Verfügung. Er dient als Reserve sowie ebenfalls für Tests und Simulationen.

Kontrollraum K5

Dieser kleine Kontrollraum steht für einen BackUp-Support zur Verfügung. Aus diesem Raum können mit einer Vorwarnzeit von einem Tag die notwendigsten Aufgaben anderer Kontrollzentrum übernommen werden, so z.B. die der fünf Satelliten der SAR-Lupe Mission, die 2006 in den Orbit gebracht und nach der LEOP (Launch and Early Orbit Phase) für den Routinebetrieb an ein spezielles Kontrollzentrum übergeben wurden.

Kontrollraum K6

Ein weiterer Kontrollraum K6 wird für Simulationen und Trainings sowie für die Integration der Betriebssysteme neuer Satellitenprojekte (z.B. TET-1) genutzt.

Kontrollräume K7, K8

Aus diesen Kontrollräumen wird der Regelbetrieb der SATCOMBw-Mission durchgeführt. Hier betreibt ein eigenständiges Flugbetriebsteam rund um die Uhr die beiden geostationären Kommunikationssatelliten.

Kontrollräume K9

 Kontrollraum K9
zum Bild Kontrollraum K9

Dieser Kontrollraum umfasst die sogenannte Multimissionsumgebung des Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrums. Von hier werden alle wissenschaftlichen Missionen des Kontrollzentrums (BIRD, GRACE 1 & GRACE 2) im Routinebetrieb betreut. Im Multimissionsbetrieb sind die unterschiedlichen Projekte in einer einzigen Betriebsumgebung zusammengefasst, die auf gemeinsamen Systemen und Werkzeugen basiert. Jedes Mitglied des Multimissionsbetriebsteams ist dabei in der Lage, jeden der Satelliten zu betreuen. Dies sichert einen maximalen Erfahrungsaustausch und durch die Unterstützung von dedizierten Projektingenieuren eine maximale Betriebssicherheit.

In diesem Raum wurde auch der PRISMA-Betrieb durchgeführt.

Kontrollraum K10

Die im Jahr 2009 modernisierte European Proximity Operations Simulator (EPOS) Anlage wird aus diesem Kontrollraum überwacht und gesteuert.

Kontrollräume K12-14

Für die Zukunft ist der Ausbau dreier weiterer Kontrollräume geplant, so für kleine geostationäre Kommunikationssatelliten (K13), sowie On-Orbit Servicing Missionen (K14).


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6821/4251_read-6296/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Columbus (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6302/usetemplate-print/)
TerraSAR-X (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6308/usetemplate-print/)
SAR-Lupe (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6305/usetemplate-print/)
BIRD - Bispectral InfraRed Detector (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6311/usetemplate-print/)
CHAMP - CHAllenging Minisatellite Payload (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2814/4262_read-6313/usetemplate-print/)
EUTELSAT W (W2,W3,W4,W1R,HB6,W5) (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2814/4261_read-6324/usetemplate-print/)
GRACE - Gravity Recovery And Climate Experiment (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6813/11188_read-6309/usetemplate-print/)