ESA Affairs



There is a marked political dimension to European space activities. Representing national interests as effectively as possible within the international arena is part of modern spaceflight management. At the same time it is similarly important to enhance and sustainably strengthen European space policy as a whole.

The department's mission

"ESA Affairs" is one of the DLR Space Administration’s central units. One of its key responsibilities is to provide support to political leaders and DLR decision-makers by developing Germany’s politically and strategically co-ordinated positions and negotiating lines, and by representing them consistently and uniformly on all ESA bodies.

Further tasks include developing and strengthening relations with the European Space Agency (ESA) and 17 fellow ESA member states as well as monitoring and evaluating space activities across Europe in order to be effectively aware of the European context when defining national policies.

Building up and enhancing European cooperation is of strategic importance, especially at the interface between ESA and the European Union, where a harmonised European space policy needs to be developed and consolidated. Another key activity is to provide input to EU’s industry and technology policy.

The team of the ESA Affairs department and its representatives on the various ESA bodies are strongly committed to preparing and co-ordinating DLR's public statements and to representing Germany's national interests efficiently within ESA.


Contact
Dr. Gerd R. Kraft
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, ESA-Affairs
Tel: +49 228 447-368

Fax: +49 228 447-711

E-Mail: Gerd.Kraft@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2101/3269_read-4991/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.bmwi.de/BMWi/Navigation/Presse/pressemitteilungen,did=281846.html
http://www.esa.int/esaCP/index.html
http://www.esa.int/SPECIALS/Industry/index.html
http://ec.europa.eu/enterprise/policies/space/index_de.htm
http://europa.eu/pol/rd/index_de.htm

ESA-Angelegenheiten



 Die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA
zum Bild Die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA

Die europäische Raumfahrt besitzt eine ausgeprägte politische Dimension. Die eigenen nationalen Interessen im internationalen Rahmen möglichst effektiv zu vertreten ist daher Aufgabe eines modernen Raumfahrtmanagements. Dabei gilt es aber auch den Aufbau und die nachhaltige Stärkung der europäischen Raumfahrt als Ganzes zu verfolgen.

Die Aufgaben der Abteilung

Die Abteilung "ESA-Angelegenheiten" ist eine zentrale Einrichtung des DLR Raumfahrtmanagements. Eine ihrer Kernaufgaben besteht darin, gemeinsam mit den Entscheidungsträgern aus Politik und DLR eine unter politischen und strategischen Gesichtspunkten abgestimmte deutsche Position und Verhandlungslinie auszuarbeiten und diese konsequent und einheitlich in allen ESA-Gremien zu vertreten.

Die Gestaltung und Stärkung der Beziehungen zur Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA und zu den anderen ESA-Mitgliedstaaten sowie die Bewertung der europäischen Raumfahrtpolitik sind weitere Aufgaben der Abteilung. Dies ermöglicht es, das europäische Umfeld bei der Festlegung der nationalen programmatischen DLR-Politik wirkungsvoll zu berücksichtigen.

Dem Ausbau und der Festigung der europäischen Zusammenarbeit kommt dabei als strategischem Aufgabenfeld eine besondere Bedeutung zu - insbesondere in Bezug auf die Schnittstelle zwischen ESA und Europäischer Union. Das Ergebnis dieser Aktivitäten ist die Fortschreibung und Konsolidierung einer abgestimmten europäischen Raumfahrtpolitik. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Mitgestaltung der europäischen Industrie- und Technologiepolitik.

Das Team "ESA-Angelegenheiten" und ihre Vertreter in den ESA-Gremien sorgen durch ihr Engagement für die Harmonisierung der Stellungnahmen des DLR, wie auch für die effiziente Vertretung der nationalen Interessen bei der ESA.


Kontakt
Dr. Gerd R. Kraft
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, ESA-Angelegenheiten
Tel: +49 228 447-368

Fax: +49 228 447-711

E-Mail: Gerd.Kraft@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2101/3269_read-4991/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.bmwi.de/BMWi/Navigation/Presse/pressemitteilungen,did=281846.html
http://www.esa.int/esaCP/Germany.html
http://www.esa.int/SPECIALS/Industry/index.html
http://ec.europa.eu/enterprise/policies/space/index_de.htm
http://europa.eu/pol/rd/index_de.htm