Earth Observation



 Photograph of a hurricane taken from space
zum Bild Photograph of a hurricane taken from space

Monitoring the Earth and its ecosystems from outer space is easily the most important task of the space sector. It is through Earth observation that we can detect any changes in the land surfaces, oceans and the atmosphere, and develop measures to protect our environment and the Earth’s climate.

In the event of disasters such as earthquakes, floods or oil spills, Earth observation satellites can deliver an instant overview. Satellite images provide information on the extent of a disaster, indicate where relief action is most urgently needed, as well as supporting response teams on the ground.  Satellite-based remote sensing is used to generate digital maps of the Earth’s surface as well as assisting with daily weather forecasting, thus, for instance, securing air and shipping traffic.

Earth observation satellites also provide decision support information for international agreements such as that on protecting the ozone layer or controlling global warming. They also help monitor the degree to which countries comply with their commitments. By providing intelligence to authorities, they assist in mapping biotopes, targeting agricultural subsidies and setting up mobile telephone systems.  And these are but a few of a wide range of applications.

Priorities within the German Earth observation programme

By international standards, the vast body of expertise gathered and systems deployed in Europe are outstanding, both from a scientific and technical point of view. Germany has been contributing to this by investing in applications and technology development as well as by operating its own Earth observation satellites. Our aims are to:

  • continuously extend existing Earth observation systems,  thereby developing further expertise
  • involve business enterprises in Earth observation missions and services, thus encouraging the creation of modern workplaces
  • develop satellites and technologies to help the German government fulfil its tasks in the fields of meteorology, oceanography and environmental monitoring 
  • improve scientific methods to process and evaluate Earth observation data and disseminate the results
  • help build a permanent European Earth observation programme to get the best value out of Germany’s assets in satellite-based Earth observation.

Contact
Dr. Hans-Peter Lüttenberg
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel: +49 228 447-572

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Hans-Peter.Luettenberg@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2113/3077_read-4710/

Erdbeobachtung



 Wirbelsturm-Aufnahme aus dem All
zum Bild Wirbelsturm-Aufnahme aus dem All

Die Beobachtung der Erde und ihrer Ökosysteme aus dem All ist die wohl wichtigste Aufgabe der Raumfahrt. Denn sie ermöglicht es, Veränderungen von Landoberflächen, Meeren und Atmosphäre zu erkennen und Maßnahmen zum Schutz von Umwelt und Klima zu entwickeln.

Erdbeobachtungssatelliten verschaffen bei akuten Katastrophen wie etwa Erdbeben, Hochwasser oder Ölpest blitzschnell einen Überblick. Ihre Aufnahmen zeigen das Ausmaß einer Katastrophe und deren Brennpunkte und unterstützen so Hilfsdienste vor Ort. Die Fernerkundung via Satellit ermöglicht die Erstellung digitaler Karten der Erdoberfläche sowie die tägliche Wettervorhersage und sichert damit beispielsweise den Flug- und Schiffsverkehr.

Die satellitengestützte Erdbeobachtung liefern zudem Entscheidungsgrundlagen für internationale Verträge wie etwa zum Schutz der Ozonschicht oder zum Kampf gegen die Erderwärmung. Außerdem helfen sie, die Einhaltung solcher Verträge zu überwachen. Sie stellen Informationen für amtliche Stellen bereit, ermöglichen Biotopkartierungen, helfen bei der Optimierung landwirtschaftlicher Subventionen und bei der Planung von Mobilfunksystemen. Und das sind nur wenige Beispiele einer großen Palette weiterer Anwendungen.

Schwerpunkte des deutschen Erdbeobachtungs-Programms

Die in Europa aufgebaute Expertise und die eingesetzten Systeme sind aus wissenschaftlicher und technischer Sicht international herausragend. Deutschland trägt hierzu bei durch Förderung von Anwendungen und Technologie-Entwicklung sowie durch eigene Erdbeobachtungssatelliten. Ziele sind:

  • der kontinuierliche Ausbau vorhandener Erdbeobachtungssysteme und damit deutscher Expertise
  • die Einbindung von Wirtschaftsunternehmen in Erdbeobachtungsmissionen und Dienstleistungen nebst Schaffung moderner Arbeitsplätze
  • die Entwicklung von Satelliten und Technologien für Aufgaben der Bundesregierung in den Bereichen Meteorologie, Ozeanographie und Umweltbeobachtung
  • die Weiterentwicklung wissenschaftlicher Methoden der Verarbeitung und Auswertung von Erdbeobachtungs-Daten sowie die Bereitstellung der Ergebnisse
  • ein kontinuierliches europäisches Erdbeobachtungsprogramm das die Stärken Deutschlands in der satellitengestützten Erdbeobachtung optimal einbindet.

Kontakt
Dr. Hans-Peter Lüttenberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel: +49 228 447-572

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Hans-Peter.Luettenberg@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2113/3077_read-4710/