The METimage concept

 The METimage-Instrument
zum Bild The METimage-Instrument

METimage is an advanced multispectral imaging radiometer for meteorological applications to be integrated in the EUMETSAT Polar System –Second Generation (EPS-SG) which is planned to be operational as of 2021.

METimage is a multi-purpose instrument, which will provide inter alia detailed information on clouds, cloud cover, land surface properties, and sea, ice, and land surface temperature, contributing important data for meteorological- and climate forecasting.

From an orbit height of 830 kilometers, METimage detects every 1.7 seconds images of a ground strip of 12 times 2670 kilometers. The high scanrate together with a large image width is facilitated by using a rotating mirror, which scans the earth surface in quick succession. During each rotation of the scan mirror measurement data from the image strip from earth, as well as data from the internal calibration sources is collected and processed. The internal calibration sources allow reference measurements which are used to significantly increase the image quality. Furthermore, in order to satisfy the demanding requirements on data accuracy, the use of state-of-the-art detectors and read-out electronics is foreseen. The infrared detectors will be operated at temperatures below -200°C. METimage provides a Ground Sampling Distance of 500 Meters. The division into 20 individual spectral channels in a spectral range from 443 nanometers to 13.345 micrometers is realized with use of beam splitters and optical filters. METimage circles the earth 14 times and generates 140 gigabytes of meteorological data each day.

The concept for METimage was developed and patented by Airbus Defence And Space GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH. The instrument development is currently in the development phase C.

The EUMETSAT Polar System

The EUMETSAT Polar System is Europe's contribution to the system of polar orbiting meteorological satellites that is being maintained jointly with the USA. Within the system, EUMETSAT is in charge of the so-called mid-morning orbit on which satellites cross the equator at 9:30h local time. In the frame of EPS-SG, METimage fulfills the requirements of the VII (Visual Infrared Imager) mission, which is considered high priority for the overall mission.

The space component of EPS-SG program will be implemented by the MetOp-SG satellites. The operational lifetime of EPS-SG is foreseen to be 21 years and will be realized with three identical satellite generations. The first MetOp-SG satellite will be launched by 2021 to ensure the continuous availability of meteorological data.

On behalf of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI), DLR Space Administration will conclude a cooperation agreement with EUMETSAT, covering the development and procurement of three METimage instrument flight models for EPS-SG.

With its innovative and demanding technology, METimage will contribute valuably to the improvement of climate and weather forecasting.

Isabel Zerfowski
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel: +49 228 447-447

Fax: +49 228 447-747

Dr. Christian Brüns
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel: +49 228 447-529

Fax: +49 228 447-792

URL for this article
Links zu diesem Artikel

METimage



 Das METimage-Instrument
zum Bild Das METimage-Instrument

Das METimage-Konzept

METimage ist ein multispektrales, abbildendes Radiometer für meteorologische Anwendungen, welches auf den Satelliten des EUMETSAT Polar System - Second Generation (EPS-SG) ab 2021 zum Einsatz kommen soll.

METimage wird unter anderem wichtige Informationen über Wolken, Wolkenbedeckung, Landoberflächen, Ozean-, Eis- und Landoberflächentemperaturen zur Verfügung stellen und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zu Fragen der Wetter- und Klimavorhersage leisten.

Aus einer Orbithöhe von 830 Kilometern nimmt METimage alle 1,7 Sekunden Bilder eines Bodenstreifens von 12 mal 2670 Kilometern auf. Die hohe Aufnahmerate bei gleichzeitig großer Bildbreite wird durch einen rotierenden Spiegel ermöglicht, der die Erdoberfläche in schneller Folge abtastet.

Mit jeder Rotation des Spiegels werden sowohl die Messdaten des Bildstreifens auf der Erde, mit einer Bodenauflösung von 500 Metern, als auch die Vergleichsdaten von internen Kalibrationsquellen aufgenommen und verarbeitet. Die Kalibrationsquellen erlauben Referenzmessungen, durch die die Genauigkeit der gemessenen Bilddaten deutlich verbessert werden kann. Darüber hinaus kommen hochmoderne Detektoren und Auslese-Elektroniken zum Einsatz, sodass die anspruchsvollen Anforderungen an Bildqualität und Bodenauflösung erfüllt werden können. Hierfür werden die Infrarotdetektoren bei Temperaturen unter -200°C betrieben. Die Auftrennung in 20 verschiedene spektrale Kanäle in einem Spektralbereich von 443 Nanometern bis 13.345 Mikrometern erfolgt über Strahlteiler und optische Filter. METimage umfliegt die Erde 14-mal und generiert dabei täglich ca. 140 Gigabyte an meteorologischen Daten. Dies entspricht ungefähr der Datenmenge von 200 CDs.
Das METimage-Konzept wurde von der Airbus Defence and Space GmbH und der Jena-Optronik GmbH entwickelt. Die Entwicklung des Instruments befindet sich derzeit in Phase C.

Das EUMETSAT Polar System

Das EUMETSAT Polar System ist der europäische Beitrag zum System polar umlaufender meteorologischer Satelliten, das gemeinsam mit den USA unterhalten wird. EUMETSAT ist hierbei für den sogenannten Mid-Morning-Orbit zuständig, bei dem der Äquator jeweils um 9:30 Uhr Lokaler Ortszeit überflogen wird. Im Rahmen von EPS-SG erfüllt METimage die Anforderungen der VII (Visual Infrared Imager) Mission, welche für die Gesamtmission die höchste Priorität hat.

Die sogenannten MetOp-SG-Satelliten bilden das Raumsegment des EPS-SG Programms. Die geplante Betriebsdauer beträgt 21 Jahre und soll durch drei identische Satellitengenerationen abgedeckt werden. Der erste MetOp-SG Satellit soll im Jahr 2021 gestartet werden, um die kontinuierliche Verfügbarkeit von Wetterdaten sicherzustellen.

Das DLR Raumfahrtmanagement wird im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) mit EUMETSAT ein Kooperationsabkommen zur Entwicklung und Beschaffung von drei METimage Instrumenten für EPS-SG abschließen.

Mit seiner hochmodernen und anspruchsvollen Technologie wird METimage einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Verbesserung von Klima- und Wettervorhersagen leisten und damit den Wirtschafts-, Industrie- und Wissenschaftsstandort Deutschland nachhaltig stärken.


Kontakt
Isabel Zerfowski
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel: +49 228 447-447

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Isabel.Zerfowski@dlr.de
Dr. Christian Brüns
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel: +49 228 447-529

Fax: +49 228 447-792

E-Mail: Christian.Bruens@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2440/3586_read-10140/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.eumetsat.int/website/home/Satellites/FutureSatellites/EUMETSATPolarSystemSecondGeneration/index.html
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2441/3589_read-16851/