BIRD - The first satellite for spotting forest fires



Artist’s impression of the BIRD satellite in orbit
Launch: 22 October 2001

From the ground, forest fires are often detected very late. However, they can be identified much earlier from the air or from space. DLR is testing the technologies of such an early warning system with BIRD (bi-spectral infra-red detection), a small satellite that was successfully launched from India on 22 October 2001. Weighing no more than 94 kilograms, BIRD is a 60-centimeter cube of high technology, equipped with two solar panels. It was the first satellite to demonstrate that forest fires and, more particularly, their extent and the temperature of the flames can be identified early from space.

BIRD is the first satellite in space that was specifically designed to detect and examine fires, which it identifies by their infra-red radiation. For this purpose, DLR developed and successfully validated in laboratory and airborne tests a new generation of infra-red sensors specially designed for remote fire sensing and deployment on small satellites.

DLR contributed the services of the Institute of Space Sensor Technology and Planetary Exploration (coordination, sensors), the German Space Operations Control Centre (mission control), the German Remote Sensing Data Centre (data reception and evaluation), and its own simulation and software technology. Further project participants include the Fraunhofer FIRST (on-board computer system), Jena-Optronik GmbH (star sensors), the Global Fire Monitoring Centre of Freiburg, Astro- und Feinwerktechnik GmbH (momentum wheels), and Berlin TU. The BIRD mission is based on a concept of consistent austerity: its total budget of about 15 million Euros - distributed over six years - is low compared to that of other satellite missions.

BIRD will not go into routine operation. Instead, the point of this mission is sounding out innovative satellite and sensor technologies as well as scientific methods so that these can be used routinely later on in Earth observation or in remote sensing of Earth and the planets. Together with the infra-red sensor technology installed on BIRD, new fire detection methods developed by DLR play a key role in FUEGO (Spanish for fire), a fire-detection satellite project sponsored by the European Union with a total of about five million Euros.

Mission parameters

Launch October 22, 2001
Site SHAR Centre in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh, India
Launcher PSLV-C3 (ISRO)
Orbital height 572 km
Weight 94 kg
End of mission 2006


Contact
Dr. Matthias Alpers
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel: +49 228 447-585

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Matthias.Alpers@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2440/3586_read-5329/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/os/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3493/
http://www.dlr.de/caf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/
http://www.dlr.de/sc/en/desktopdefault.aspx
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2725/4114_read-6137/
http://www.first.fraunhofer.de/en/home/
http://www.fire.uni-freiburg.de/
http://www.ilr.tu-berlin.de/
http://www.astrofein.com/
http://www.jena-optronik.de/en/company/references.html
http://www.fuegosat.com/

BIRD - Erster Satellit zur Entdeckung von Waldbränden



Künstlerische Darstellung des  BIRD-Satelliten im Orbit
Start: 22. Oktober 2001

Vom Boden aus werden Waldbrände erst sehr spät entdeckt. Eine frühzeitige Erkennung kann dagegen aus der Luft oder gar vom Weltraum aus erfolgen. Technologien für ein solches Frühwarnsystem erprobte das DLR mit dem Kleinsatelliten BIRD (Bispectral Infra-Red Detection), der am 22. Oktober 2001 erfolgreich von Indien aus startete und bis 2006 im Einsatz war. Mit BIRD, einem nur 94 Kilogramm schweren High-Tech-Würfel mit rund 60 Zentimetern Kantenlänge und zwei Solarsegeln, konnte erstmals gezeigt werden, dass vom Weltraum aus Waldbrände, insbesondere ihre Ausdehnung und die auftretenden Flammentemperaturen, frühzeitig bestimmt werden können.

BIRD war der erste Satellit im Weltraum, der speziell für die Erkennung und Untersuchung von Bränden ausgelegt war. Er erkannte Feuer über die Strahlung im infraroten Wellenlängenbereich. Das DLR entwickelte dazu eine neue Generation von Infrarotsensoren, die auf die Feuerfernerkundung zugeschnitten sowie für den Einsatz auf Kleinsatelliten geeignet sind und zuvor erfolgreich im Labor und auf Flugzeugen erprobt wurden.

Neben dem DLR mit dem Institut für Weltraumsensorik und Planetenerkundung (Federführung, Sensoren), dem Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (Missionskontrolle), dem Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (Datenempfang und Auswertung) sowie der Simulations- und Softwaretechnik waren Fraunhofer FIRST (Bordrechnersystem), Jena-Optronik GmbH (Sternsensoren) das Global Fire Monitoring Center in Freiburg, die Astro- und Feinwerktechnik GmbH (Drallräder) sowie die TU Berlin in das Projekt eingebunden. Die BIRD-Mission war auf ein konsequentes Sparkonzept ausgerichtet: Die Gesamtsumme von 15 Millionen Euro - verteilt auf sechs Jahre - war im Vergleich zu anderen Satelliten-Missionen niedrig.

Der Kleinsatellit BIRD arbeitete nicht im operationellen Routine-Einsatz: Bei dieser Mission ging es vielmehr darum, neuartige Satelliten- und Sensor-Technologien sowie wissenschaftliche Methoden zu erproben, um sie für spätere Routineaufgaben der Erdbeobachtung oder für die Fernerkundung von Erde und Planeten einzusetzen. Die bei BIRD eingesetzte Infrarot-Sensortechnologie und neue, im DLR entwickelte Feuerdetektionsverfahren haben eine Schlüsselrolle in dem von der Europäischen Union mit insgesamt fünf Millionen Euro geförderten Feuermelde-Satelliten-Projekt FUEGO (span. Feuer).

Missionsparameter

Start 22. Oktober 2001
Ort SHAR Centre in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh, Indien
Trägerrakete PSLV-C3 (ISRO)
Orbit 572 km Höhe
Gewicht 94 kg
Ende der Mission 2006


Kontakt
Dr. Matthias Alpers
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel: +49 228 447-585

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Matthias.Alpers@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2440/3586_read-5329/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/os/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3493/
http://www.dlr.de/caf
http://www.dlr.de/sc/
http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2725/4114_read-6137/
http://www.first.fraunhofer.de/
http://www.fire.uni-freiburg.de/
http://www.ilr.tu-berlin.de/
http://www.astrofein.com/
http://www.jena-optronik.de/de/unternehmen/referenzen.html
http://www.fuegosat.com/