CHAMP - A geoscience mission to "Planet Earth"



 Artis's impression of the CHAMP-Satellite
zum Bild Artis's impression of the CHAMP-Satellite

Launch: 15 July 2000, 2p.m. CEST
End: 19 September 2010, 12.10p.m. CEST

Conceived at the Potsdam GeoResearch Centre, CHAMP (Challenging Minisatellite Payload) is a research satellite which, operating from a near-Earth orbit, made important contributions towards the exploration of the Earth’s magnetic and gravitational field as well as for atmospheric physics. It provided reference data of hitherto unattained accuracy for geodesy, new insights in geophysics and oceanography, and contributions to climate research. The measurements it made of the Earth’s atmosphere and magnetic field from the extremely low altitude of its last flight phase are unique.

Equipped with seven scientific instruments, the satellite was originally designed for a life of five years. Thanks to its robust technology and favourable "space weather conditions", the life of the satellite was eventually more than twice as long. During its entire active period, it was controlled and its data received by DLR’s German Space Operations Centre at Oberpfaffenhofen. On 19 September 2010, at 10.26 a.m., two hours before the satellite burned up, the ground station succeeded in making contact with it for the last time, successfully retrieving the data that were buffered on board.

The CHAMP research satellite is a project of the Potsdam GeoResearch Centre (GFZ) and the German Aerospace Centre (DLR). Equipment was provided by international partners from the USA and France. Jena-Optronik GmbH (JOP) was responsible for the construction of the satellite.

Mission parameters

Launch 15. July 2000, 2 p.m. CEST
Site Plesetsk Cosmodrome, Russia
Launcher Russian COSMOS rocket
Orbital height 460 km,
gradually diminishing over the years
Scheduled mission duration 5 years
Actual mission duration 10 years and 2 months
Last ground contact 19. September 2010, 10.26 a.m. CEST
at 150 km altitude
End by atmospheric re-entry

19. September 2010, 12.10 p.m. CEST
above the Sea of Okhotsk (56°N, 149°O)


Contact
Dr. Achim Friker
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel: +49 228 447-397

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Achim.Friker@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2440/3586_read-5330/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://op.gfz-potsdam.de/champ/
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2725/4114_read-6137/
http://www.jena-optronik.de/en/company/references.html
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
CHAMP-Broschüre (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/RE/champ.pdf)
Plesetsk - Kosmodrom im russischen Norden (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/RE/plesetsk.pdf)

CHAMP - Eine geowissenschaftliche Mission zum "Planeten Erde"



 Künstlerische Darstellung des CHAMP-Satelliten
zum Bild Künstlerische Darstellung des CHAMP-Satelliten

Start: 15. Juli 2000, 14.00 Uhr MESZ
Ende: 19. September 2010, 12.10 MESZ

CHAMP (Challenging Minisatellite Payload) ist ein am GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam konzipierter Forschungssatellit, der aus niedriger Erdumlaufbahn wichtige Beiträge zur Erforschung des Erdmagnetfeldes und Erdschwerefeldes sowie zur Atmosphärenphysik geleistet hat. Er lieferte Referenzdaten für die Geodäsie mit zuvor unerreichter Genauigkeit sowie neue Erkenntnisse in der Geophysik und Ozeanographie sowie Beiträge für die Klimaforschung. Einzigartig sind auch seine Atmosphären- und Magnetfeldmessungen in extrem niedriger Flughöhe aus der letzten, sehr niedrigen Flugphase.

Der mit sieben wissenschaftlichen Instrumenten ausgestattete Satellit war für fünf Betriebsjahre konzipiert. Seine solide Technik und günstige Bedingungen des "Weltraum-Wetters" bescherten dem Satellit allerdings eine mehr als doppelt so lange Lebensdauer. Das Deutsche Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen war während der gesamten Zeit für die Kontrolle des Satelliten und den Datenempfang zuständig. Am 19. September 2010 um 10.26 Uhr, zwei Stunden vor dem Verglühen, gelang es zum letzten Mal, Kontakt mit der Bodenstation herzustellen. Die an Bord zwischengespeicherten Daten konnten noch abgerufen werden.

Der Forschungssatellit CHAMP ist ein Projekt des GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam (GFZ) und des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Internationale Partner aus USA und Frankreich sind in Form von Gerätebeistellungen beteiligt. Die Jena-Optronik GmbH (JOP) war für den Bau des Satelliten verantwortlich.

Missionsparameter

Start 15. Juli 2000, 14.00 Uhr MESZ
Startplatz Plesetsk Kosmodrom, Russland
Trägerrakete russische COSMOS-Rakete
Orbithöhe 460 km
im Laufe der Jahre absinkend
Geplante Missionsdauer 5 Jahre
Tatsächliche Missionsdauer 10 Jahre und 2 Monate
Letzter Bodenkontakt 19. September 2010, 10.26 MESZ
bei 150 km Bahnhöhe
Ende durch Atmosphäreneintritt

19. September 2010, 12.10 Uhr MESZ
über dem Ochozkischen Meer (56°N, 149°O)


Kontakt
Dr. Achim Friker
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel: +49 228 447-397

Fax: +49 228 447-747

E-Mail: Achim.Friker@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2440/3586_read-5330/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://op.gfz-potsdam.de/champ/
http://www.dlr.de/rb/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2725/4114_read-6137/
http://www.jena-optronik.de/de/unternehmen/referenzen.html
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
CHAMP-Broschüre (http://www.dlr.de/rd/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/RE/champ.pdf)
Plesetsk - Kosmodrom im russischen Norden (http://www.dlr.de/rd/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/RE/plesetsk.pdf)