LISA Pathfinder – A Technology Experiment in Preparation of the Gravitational Wave Observatory eLISA



Launch: expected for mid of 2015

Scientific Goals of the eLISA and LISA Pathfinder Missions

LISA Pathfinder will serve as a technology demonstration mission (formerly SMART-2) for the cornerstone mission eLISA (evolved Laser Interferometer Space Antenna). eLISA shall be launched presumably in 2028 or later, and is intended to detect low frequency gravitational waves from space in the frequency range starting from below 0.1 Millihertz to 0.1 Hertz.

eLISA will thus be operated complementary to earthbound (interferometric) gravitational wave observatories, such as LIGO and Advanced LIGO (USA), GEO 600 (Germany/Great Britain), VIRGO (France/Italy), TAMA 300 (Japan), and their replacements, which will all perform their measurements in the frequency range between about ten and 10,000 Hertz. A leading role in the development and the operation of GEO 600 is taken by the Max Plank Institute for Gravitational Physics/Albert Einstein Institute (Golm near Potsdam/Hannover, Germany), which is also collaborating in a prominent role in the development of LISA Pathfinder and eLISA.

 The science module of LISA Pathfinder (left) has just separated from its dedicated propulsion module (lower right)
zum Bild The science module of LISA Pathfinder (left) has just separated from its dedicated propulsion module (lower right)

Cosmic sources of gravitational radiation which is expected to be detected by earthbound observatories and from space in the frequency ranges mentioned above are short-period binaries, close and collapsing systems of neutron stars and/or black holes, gamma ray bursts and super-novae, super massive black holes in the centers of galaxies, and a stochastic background of sources within and outside our Galaxy. Moreover, gravitational waves may be detected which can be interpreted as the relicts of different processes in the early universe, such as vibrating cosmic strings, phase transitions, and the big bang itself. Typical amplitudes, i.e. relative alterations in length, ΔL/L, of distances measured by interferometry, are of the order of 10 exp -19 to 10 exp -23, depending on the nature of the sources and the frequencies and durations of the signals emitted.

While, in particular, electromagnetic waves from the gamma to the radio-frequency range provide information on the surface conditions of astrophysical objects, the gravitational wave astronomy will allow drawing conclusions about the entire mass distributions of their sources and their temporal variations. Terrestrial as well as space borne gravitational wave observatories will open a new and very important window to the universe, and let expect novel and fundamental scientific discoveries on single objects as well as on our universe as a whole.

The eLISA Mission

The three spacecraft of eLISA form an equilateral triangle with sides of one million kilometers in length.

eLISA will consist of a configuration (cluster) of three satellites, one mother and two daughter spacecraft, placed at the corners of an equilateral triangle with a side length of approximately one million kilometers, which will follow the Earth on its orbit around the sun at a distance of about 50 million kilometers (i.e. the center of gravity of the cluster will follow the Earth at a phase angle of 20 degrees when viewed from the sun). Moreover, the entire configuartion is inclined by 60 degrees with repsect to the orbital plane of the Earth around the Sun (i.e. the ecliptic  plane). The mother spacecraft carries two and each of the daughter spacecraft carry one free-flying test masses that will be kept as far as possible free of external disturbances. The mutual distances of the test masses from satellite to satellite will be measured by means of high-precision heterodyne laser-interferometry.

In this way, the extremely small distance variations between the test masses of two satellites can be detected which are caused by the passages of a gravitational waves. The required measurement accuracy of the distances amounts to typically 1/100 of the diameter of a hydrogen atom (10 exp -12 meters) at a distance of one million kilometers (for a broadband measurement in the frequency range from 1 to 10 Millihertz). The tiny orbital and attitude corrections which are necessary to keep each satellite centered on the test masses will be determined by a "Drag-free Attitude Control System" (DFACS) using the measurements of inertial sensors. The attitude measurements will be converted into correctional motions via Micro-Newton thrusters. Cold gas and colloid thrusters will be tested during the LISA Pathfinder mission.

LISA Pathfinder: Technology Goals

Owing to the combined disturbing effects that are to be controlled, in particular, the gravity of the Earth and its variations, the required freedom of the test masses from disturbing forces cannot entirely be verified on ground. Thus, LISA Pathfinder as the necessary precursor mission to eLISA follows the goal to test the key technologies of the system in space. In particular, these technologies are:

  • the inertial sensors to measure the positions of the test masses with respect to the satellite,
  • the drag-free control system (DFACS) to control the compensation of the disturbing forces by means of the inertial sensor system and the Micro-Newton thrusters,
  • the laser interferometry to determine the mutual positions and alignments of the test masses with very high precision.
 The LISA Pathfinder Technology Package (LTP) will test key technologies for the gravitational wave observatory eLISA in space.
zum Bild The LISA Pathfinder Technology Package (LTP) will test key technologies for the gravitational wave observatory eLISA in space.

During the tests performed with LISA Pathfinder the system performance shall converge to the specification of the eLISA mission regarding the freedom from disturbances to within one order of magnitude. The maximum spectral energy density of the disturbing accelerations of the test masses shall be < 3 x 10 exp -15 ms x exp -2 x Hz exp -1/2 in the frequency range from 0.1 Millihertz to 1 Millihertz. This goal is followed both by the LISA Technology Package (LTP) developed under the auspices of ESA, and by the Disturbance Reduction System (DRS) which will be supplied by NASA (JPL) as a second and analogue payload to LISA Pathfinder. Both systems will be operated separately as well as in joined operation.

After its launch LISA Pathfinder will at first be injected into an elliptic transfer orbit. The aphelion of this orbit will then be risen during several burning phases by means of a dedicated propulsion module to finally reach a halo orbit which is centered on the Lagrangian point L1 of the Sun-Earth system, about 1.5 million kilometers from the Earth. Immediately before turning into its final orbit, and the begin of the scientific (drag-free) operations under the smallest possible influence of disturbances, the payload module will be separated from the propulsion module to exclude disturbances by the latter one. The halo orbit around L1 has been selected in order to fulfill the stringent requirements regarding the thermal stability of the payload (constant solar irradiation and temperature), and the small gravitational disturbances that are prevailing near the point of gravitational equilibrium between the Earth and the Sun.

The LISA Pathfinder Team

The LISA Technology Package is presently being developed under the auspices of ESA as the responsible space agency of the project, with important contributions from a number of national European space agencies and government administrations. These contributions come from research institutes and universities as well as space companies from Spain, Italy, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Germany. While the LISA Pathfinder spacecraft is built by the EADS Astrium Ltd. (Great Britain), the EADS Astrium GmbH (Friedrichshafen, Germany) as the “Industrial Architect“ is coordinating the development, the assembly and integration, and the tests of the entire LTP. As an important German contribution to the LTP the Albert-Einstein-Institut (AEI) is leading the development of the interferometer which represents the core of the scientific payload of LISA Pathfinder.

The German Contribution to the LISA Pathfinder Technology Package

In particular, the German contributions to the LTP payload, funded by DLR, comprise:

  • the role of the Co-Principal Investigators (Co-PI) represented by Prof. Karsten Danzmann of the Max Plank Institute for Gravitational Physics/Albert Einstein Institut (AEI) in Hannover;
  • the task of the "Industrial Architect" (system engineering) of the LTP system for which EADS Astrium GmbH (Friedrichshafen, Germany) has been selected;
  • the delivery of the LTP laser assembly, and the design, assembly, integration, verification and tests of the optical bench of the LTP interferometer;
  • scientific and technological support of the LTP development by the AEI, in particular, regarding the interferometry and the laser system;
  • support of the mission operations and the evaluation and interpretation of the scientific and technical (performance) data in preparation of the LISA mission.
Mission and technical Parameters

Launch: mid of 2015 from launch site Kourou (French Guiana) or Plesetsk (Russia)
Launch vehicle: Vega (or Rockot)
Orbit: halo orbit around Lagrange point L1 of the Sun/Earth system, distance from Earth about 1,5 million kilometers
Nominal mission duration: 12 months (6 months of drag-free operations)
Mass of space craft: 475 kg payload module/1900 kg launch mass
Dimensions (spacecraft): 2,1 m x 1,0 m (payload module)
Mass of LTP: 145 kg
Dimensions of LTP: 64 cm x 38 cm x 38 cm
Electrical power consumption: typically 150 W
Telemetry data rate: 1,7 kbit/s (X-Band)


Contact
Dr. Hans-Georg Grothues
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Science
Tel: +49 228 447-348

Fax: +49 228 447-745

E-Mail: HG.Grothues@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2448/3635_read-5451/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.rssd.esa.int/index.php?project=LISAPATHFINDER&page=Index
http://www.esa.int/esaSC/120397_index_0_m.html
http://www.elisa-ngo.org
http://sci.esa.int/science-e/www/area/index.cfm?fareaid=27
http://lisa.nasa.gov/
http://geo600.aei.mpg.de/
http://www.ligo.caltech.edu
http://www.virgo.infn.it
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
LISA Pathfinder Datenblatt (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/rx/LISA-PF_D_04_13.pdf)
LISA Pathfinder Fact Sheet (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/rx/LISA-PF_E_04_13.pdf)

LISA Pathfinder - Technologieerprobung für das Gravitationswellen-Observatorium eLISA



Start: voraussichtlich Mitte 2015

Wissenschaftliche Ziele der Missionen eLISA und LISA Pathfinder

LISA Pathfinder dient als Technologie-Demonstrations-Mission (ehemals SMART-2) für die Cornerstone-Mission eLISA (evolved Laser Interferometer Space Antenna). eLISA soll voraussichtlich 2028 oder später gestartet werden und als Weltraumobservatorium niederfrequente Gravitationswellen im Frequenzbereich von weniger als 0,1 Millihertz bis zu 0,1 Hertz beobachten.

eLISA wird damit komplementär zu bodengebundenen (interferometrischen) Gravitationswellen-Observatorien wie Advanced LIGO (USA), GEO 600 (Deutschland/Großbritannien), VIRGO (Frankreich/Italien), TAMA 300 (Japan) beziehungsweise deren Nachfolger betrieben, die im Frequenzbereich zwischen etwa zehn und 10.000 Hertz messen werden. An der Entwicklung und dem Betrieb von GEO 600 ist federführend das Max-Plank-Institut für Gravitationsphysik/Albert-Einstein-Institut (Golm bei Potsdam, Hannover) beteiligt, das auch maßgeblich an der Entwicklung von LISA Pathfinder und eLISA mitarbeitet.

 LISA Pathfinder mit dem Wissenschaftsmodul (links) und dem bereits abgetrennten Antriebsmodul (rechts unten)
zum Bild LISA Pathfinder mit dem Wissenschaftsmodul (links) und dem bereits abgetrennten Antriebsmodul (rechts unten)

Kosmische Quellen von Gravitationsstrahlung, die sich in den genannten Frequenzbereichen von erdgebundenen Observatorien und aus dem Weltraum nachweisen lassen werden, sind kurzperiodische Doppelsternsysteme, enge beziehungsweise kollabierende Systeme von Neutronensternen oder Schwarzen Löchern, Gamma-Strahlungsausbrüche und Supernovae, supermassive Schwarze Löcher in den Zentren von Galaxien sowie ein stochastischer Hintergrund von Quellen innerhalb und außerhalb unserer Galaxis.

Darüber hinaus lassen sich möglicherweise Gravitationswellen nachweisen, die als Relikte von Prozessen im frühen Universum zu deuten sind, wie etwa schwingende kosmische Strings, Phasenübergänge und das Echo des Urknalls selbst. Typische Amplituden, das heißt relative Längenänderungen ΔL / L, von interferometrisch vermessenen Abständen, die durch die Gravitationswellen-Detektoren nachzuweisen sind, liegen in der Größenordnung zwischen 10 hoch -19 und 10 hoch -23, abhängig von der Art der Objekte sowie der Frequenz und der Dauer der emittierten Signale.

Während elektromagnetische Wellen vom Gamma- bis in den Radiobereich im wesentlichen Informationen über die äußere Beschaffenheit astrophysikalischer Objekte liefern, erlaubt die Gravitationwellenastronomie, Rückschlüsse auf die gesamte Massenverteilung der Quellen und deren zeitlichen Änderungen zu ziehen. Sowohl die terrestrischen als auch weltraumgestützte Gravitationswellen-Observatorien werden ein wichtiges neues Fenster zum Universum öffnen und lassen damit wesentliche neue Erkenntnisse über Einzelobjekte wie auch das Weltall in seiner Gesamtheit erwarten.

Die Mission eLISA

Die drei Sonden von eLISA spannen im All ein gleichseitiges Dreieck mit einer Seitenlänge von einer Million Kilometern auf.

eLISA wird aus einer Konfiguration (Cluster) von drei Satelliten, einem Mutter- und zwei Tochtersatelliten, an den Ecken eines gleichseitigen Dreiecks mit etwa einer Million Kilometern Seitenlänge bestehen, das der Erde auf ihrer Umlaufbahn um die Sonne in einem Abstand von etwa 50 Millionen Kilometern folgt (das heißt, der Schwerpunkt des Clusters folgt der Erde von der Sonne aus betrachtet unter einem Phasenwinkel von 20 Grad). Die gesamte Konfiguration ist dabei um 60 Grad gegen die Bahnebene der Erde um die Sonne (Ekliptik) geneigt. Mutter- und Tochtersatelliten enthalten zwei beziehungsweise jeweils eine freifliegende Testmasse(n), die möglichst frei von äußeren Störungen gehalten werden. Die gegenseitigen Abstände der Testmassen werden von Satellit zu Satellit durch hochgenaue Heterodyn-Laserinterferometrie vermessen.

Auf diese Weise sollen die durch Gravitationswellen hervorgerufenen minimalen Abstandsänderungen zwischen den Testmassen zweier Satelliten nachgewiesen werden. Die erforderliche Meßgenauigkeit der Abstände beträgt (bei breitbandiger Messung im Frequenzbereich zwischen etwa einem und zehn Millihertz) typischerweise rund 1/100 des Durchmessers eines Wasserstoffatoms (10 hoch -12 Meter) bei einem Abstand von einer Million Kilometern. Die minimalen Bahn- und Lagekorrekturen, die für die Zentrierung der Satelliten auf die Testmassen notwendig sind, werden jeweils durch ein "Drag-free Attitude Control System" (DFACS) aus den Messungen von Inertialsensoren ermittelt und über Mikro-Newton-Triebwerke (Kaltgas- und Kolloidtriebwerke) umgesetzt.

LISA Pathfinder: Technologische Ziele

Die notwendige Freiheit der Testmassen von Störkräften lässt sich jedoch auf der Erde wegen der Größe der dort auszuregelnden Störeffekte (insbesondere der irdischen Schwerkraft und ihrer Variation) nicht vollständig verifizieren. Daher verfolgt LISA Pathfinder als notwendige technologische Vorgängermission von eLISA das Ziel, die Schlüsseltechnologien des Systems im Weltraum zu testen. Diese Technologien umfassen insbesondere

  • die Inertialsensoren zur Messung der Positionen der Testmassen relativ zum Satelliten,
  • das "Drag-Free-Control-System" (DFACS) zur Steuerung der Kompensation von Störkräften mittels Inertialsensoren und Mikro-Newton-Triebwerken,
  • die Laserinterferometrie zur hochgenauen Bestimmung der gegenseitigen Positionen und der Orientierung der Testmassen.
 Das LISA Pathfinder Technology Package (LTP) wird im Weltraum Schlüsseltechnologien für das Gravitationswellen-Observatorium eLISA erproben.
zum Bild Das LISA Pathfinder Technology Package (LTP) wird im Weltraum Schlüsseltechnologien für das Gravitationswellen-Observatorium eLISA erproben.

Dabei soll sich das System bei Frequenzen oberhalb von einem Millihertz den relevanten Spezifikationen für die Störungsfreiheit bei eLISA (maximale spektrale Energiedichte der Störbeschleunigungen der Testmassen < 3 x 10 hoch -15 m x s hoch -2 x Hz hoch -1/2 im Frequenzbereich 0.1 mHz bis 1 mHz) bis auf eine Größenordnung annähern. Diesem Ziel dient das unter Federführung der ESA entwickelte "LISA Technology Package" (LTP). Die Entwicklung des zunächst vorgesehehen, zum LTP komplementären "Disturbance Reduction System" (DRS), des Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) der NASA ist inzwischen eingestellt worden. Lediglich die Kolloidtriebwerke werden noch vom JPL beigestellt.

Nach ihrem Start wird die LISA-Pathfinder-Sonde zunächst in eine elliptische Transferbahn eingeschossen, deren Aphel dann mit Hilfe eines eigenen Antriebmoduls in mehreren Phasen angehoben wird, um schließlich in eine Halobahn um den Lagrangepunkt L1, rund 1,5 Millionen Kilometer von der Erde entfernt einzuschwenken. Vor dem Einschwenken in die endgültige Bahn und dem Beginn des wissenschaftlichen (Drag-Free-) Betriebs unter möglichst geringen Störeinflüssen wird schließlich das Antriebmodul vom Nutzlastmodul abgetrennt, um dessen störenden Einfluss auf die Testmassen auszuschließen. Die Halobahn um den L1 wurde ausgewählt, um die die hohen Anforderungen an die Nutzlast im Hinblick auf die thermische Stabilität (konstante Sonneneinstrahlung und Temperatur) und die geringen gravitativen Störungen zu erfüllen, die nahe des Gravitationsgleichgewichtspunktes zwischen Erde und Sonne gegeben sind.

Kooperation bei LISA Pathfinder

Das "LISA Technology Package" wird unter Führung der ESA, als verantwortlicher Raumfahrtagentur für das Gesamtprojekt, mit Beiträgen verschiedener europäischer Raumfahrtagenturen bzw. Ministerien entwickelt. Beteiligt sind Forschungs- und Universitätsinstitute sowie Industrieunternehmen aus Spanien, Italien, Frankreich, Großbritannien, den Niederlanden, der Schweiz und Deutschland. Während die LISA-Pathfinder-Sonde von der EADS Astrium Ltd. (Großbritannien) gebaut wird, koordiniert die EADS Astrium GmbH (Friedrichshafen) als Industrial Architect die Entwicklung, den Bau und die Tests des gesamten LTP. In Deutschland ist das Albert-Einstein-Institut (AEI) in Hannover federführend an der Entwicklung des Interferometers, das das Herzstück der wissenschaftlichen Nutzlast von LISA-Pathfinder darstellt, beteiligt.

Deutscher Anteil am LISA Pathfinder Technology Package

Zum deutschen Beitrag an der LTP-Nutzlast, der durch das DLR finanziert wird, gehören insbesondere:

  • die Rolle des Co-Principal Investigators (Co-PI), die durch Prof. Karsten Danzmann vom MPI für Gravitationsphysik/Albert-Einstein-Institut (AEI) in Hannover wahrgenommen wird;
    die Aufgabe des Industrial Architect (Systemingenieur) des LTP-Gesamtsystems, für die die EADS Astrium GmbH (Friedrichshafen) ausgewählt wurde;
  • die Bereitstellung des LTP Laser-Systems sowie der Entwurf, die Montage und Integration sowie Verifikation und Test der optischen Bank des zentralen Interferometers des LTP;
  • die wissenschaftlich-technische Unterstützung der LTP-Entwicklung durch das AEI, insbesondere betreffend die Interferometrie und das Laser-System;
  • die Unterstützung der Betriebsphase der Mission sowie die Auswertung der wissenschaftlichen und technischen (Performance) Daten im Hinblick auf die Vorbereitung der LISA-Mission.
Missionsdaten und technische Parameter von LISA Pathfinder:

Start: Mitte 2015 vom Startplatz Kourou (Franz. Guayana) oder Plesetsk (Russland)
Trägerrakete: Vega (oder Rockot)
Orbit: Halobahn um den Lagrange-Punkt L1 von Sonne/Erde,
Abstand von der Erde etwa 1,5 Mio. km
Nominelle Missionsdauer: 12 Monate, davon 6 Monate im Drag-free Betrieb
Masse der Sonde: 475 kg Nutzlastmodul/1900 kg Startmasse
Äußere Abmessungen der Sonde (Nutzlastmodul): 2,1 m x 1,0 m
Masse des LTP: 145 kg
Abmessungen des LTP: 64 cm x 38 cm x 38 cm
Elektrische Leistungsaufnahme: typ. 150 W
Telemetrierate der Sonde: 1,7 kbit/s (X-Band)


Kontakt
Dr. Hans-Georg Grothues
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Extraterrestrik
Tel: +49 228 447-348

Fax: +49 228 447-745

E-Mail: HG.Grothues@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2448/3635_read-5451/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.rssd.esa.int/index.php?project=LISAPATHFINDER&page=Index
http://www.esa.int/esaSC/120397_index_0_m.html
http://www.elisa-ngo.org
http://sci.esa.int/science-e/www/area/index.cfm?fareaid=27
http://lisa.nasa.gov/
http://geo600.aei.mpg.de/
http://www.ligo.caltech.edu
http://www.virgo.infn.it
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
LISA Pathfinder Datenblatt (http://www.dlr.de/rd/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/rx/LISA-PF_D_04_13.pdf)
LISA Pathfinder Fact Sheet (http://www.dlr.de/rd/Portaldata/28/Resources/dokumente/rx/LISA-PF_E_04_13.pdf)