News-Archiv 2006

Zooming in from Space: DLR delivers satellite imagery of World Cup stadiums

06/27/2006

 The football stadium in Hannover
zum Bild The football stadium in Hannover

During broadcasts of the evening World Cup games, Das Erste TV offers its viewers a special, eye-catching treat: images taken from space zooming directly into the playing fields show the World Cup stadiums in a whole new perspective. Such views, not previously available, are made possible thanks to satellite data provided by the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

These animated zoom views should not be compared with images usually found on the web. Instead, they comprise data from actual satellite photographs combined with sophisticated digital image processing and high-resolution computer animation. Additionally, the satellite images are enhanced with high-resolution picture data gathered by aircraft in order to make additional details recognizable.

The space images are provided by scientific satellites conducting Earth observation missions and the animated zooms are created by processing images taken at different resolutions. Among other support, the commercial firm European Space Imaging served as partner to DLR and supplied very high-resolution images taken by the IKONOS satellite having a resolution on the ground of about 1 metre.

With this project, DLR and WDR (Westdeutscher Rundfunk) continue to foster their close and long-established cooperation. One goal of the project is, against the background of the World Cup championship, to boost the visibility of Germany's sophisticated technical capabilities in the area of space.

DLR is Germany's national research centre for aeronautics and space. Its extensive research and development work is integrated into national and international cooperative ventures, particularly with ESA, the European Space Agency. As Germany's Space Agency, the German federal government has given DLR responsibility for the forward planning and implementation of the German space programme as well as international representation of Germany's interests. Germany's cutting-edge space technologies range from manned space travel, microgravity research and reentry technology to robotics, camera technology, navigation, communications and Earth observation. The World Cup TV zoom shots were processed from satellite data by the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) located at the DLR facility in Oberpfaffenhofen and were formatted using the new HDTV television standard.

Within the ARD consortium of public broadcasters, WDR is responsible for transmitting FIFA's World Cup 2006 to the the pool of international broadcasters.

 The Berlin Olympic Stadium
zum Bild The Berlin Olympic Stadium

 The Hamburg Arena
zum Bild The Hamburg Arena

 The football stadium in Dortmund
zum Bild The football stadium in Dortmund

 

 The football stadium in Cologne
zum Bild The football stadium in Cologne

 

 The football stadium in Kaiserslautern
zum Bild The football stadium in Kaiserslautern

 

 The football stadium in Stuttgart
zum Bild The football stadium in Stuttgart

URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3981/5166_read-3610/5166_page-2/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/caf

News-Archiv 2006

Zoom aus dem All: DLR liefert Satellitenbilder der WM-Stadien

27/06/2006

 Das Fußballstadion in Hannover
zum Bild Das Fußballstadion in Hannover

Das Erste bietet seinen Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern während seiner Übertragung der Abendspiele der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft einen Eye-Catcher der Sonderklasse: Zooms aus dem All direkt bis in die Spielstätten der WM zeigen die WM-Stadien aus einer neuen Perspektive. Die Verwendung von Satellitendaten des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ermöglicht eine Art der Darstellung, die es in dieser Form vorher nicht gab.

Die animierten Weltraum-Zooms sind nicht mit den üblichen im Internet verfügbaren Bildern zu vergleichen. Der Blick, den die Zuschauer auf die Stadien erhalten, stammt weitgehend aus dem All und ist ein Produkt realer Satellitenbilder in Kombination mit Techniken der digitalen Bildverarbeitung und der hochauflösenden Computeranimation. Zusätzlich zu den Satellitenbildern wurden Bilder mit hochauflösenden Kameras aus Flugzeugen aufgenommen, um weitere Details erkennbar zu machen.

Die Daten aus dem Weltraum stammen von wissenschaftlichen Satelliten zur Erdbeobachtung und wurden für die Zooms in verschiedenen Auflösungen verarbeitet. Unter anderem lieferte auch die Firma "European Space Imaging" als Kooperationspartner des DLR höchstauflösende Bilder des IKONOS-Satelliten mit einer Auflösung von einem Meter am Boden.

Das DLR und der WDR setzen mit diesem Projekt ihre über viele Jahre gewachsene enge Zusammenarbeit fort. Ziel des Projektes ist es, im Rahmen der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft die Hightech-Kompetenz Deutschlands auf dem Gebiet der Raumfahrt sichtbar zu machen. 

Das DLR ist das nationale Zentrum der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie für Verkehrs- und Energieforschung und beschäftigt sich in dieser Funktion mit umfangreichen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten in nationalen und internationalen Kooperationen. Über die eigene Forschung hinaus ist das DLR als Raumfahrt-Agentur im Auftrag der Bundesregierung für die Umsetzung der deutschen Raumfahrtaktivitäten, insbesondere mit der europäischen ESA zuständig. Herausragende Kompetenzen der deutschen Raumfahrt liegen zum Beispiel in den Bereichen bemannte Raumfahrt mit der Mikrogravitationsforschung, Wiedereintrittstechnologie, Robotik,  Kameratechnologie, Navigation, Kommunikation und Erdbeobachtung. Die Zooms wurden am Deutschen Fernerkundungdatenzentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen aus Satellitendaten zusammengestellt, gestaltet und unter Verwendung neuer Technologie im neuen Fernsehstandard HDTV berechnet.

Der WDR ist der federführende Sender innerhalb der ARD für die FIFA WM 2006.

 Das Berliner Olympiastadion
zum Bild Das Berliner Olympiastadion

 

 Die Hamburger Arena
zum Bild Die Hamburger Arena

 

 Das Fußballstadion in Dortmund
zum Bild Das Fußballstadion in Dortmund

 

 Das Fußballstadion in Köln
zum Bild Das Fußballstadion in Köln

 

 Das Fußballstadion in Kaiserslautern
zum Bild Das Fußballstadion in Kaiserslautern

 

 Das Fußballstadion in Stuttgart
zum Bild Das Fußballstadion in Stuttgart

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3981/5166_read-3610/5166_page-2/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/caf