News-Archive 2011

TEXUS 49 lifts off with four German experiments on board

29 March 2011

 TEXUS 49 launch
zum Bild TEXUS 49 launch

The TEXUS 49 sounding rocket lifted off from the Esrange Space Center near Kiruna in northern Sweden on 29 March 2011 at 06.01 CET. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) rocket, carrying four German experiments for medical and materials research, reached an altitude of 268 kilometres. The experiments were subjected to close to six minutes of microgravity during the twenty-minute long flight before the payloads were parachuted back to Earth, as scheduled.

Alloys in microgravity

TEXUS' main payload was the German-developed electromagnetic levitation system (Elektromagnetische Levitationsanlage; EML). With it, research scientists from the DLR Institute of Materials Physics in Space in Cologne performed two experiments to study the thermophysical properties and solidification behaviour of metal alloys of interest to industry. One of the experiments analysed an aluminium-nickel compound used in aviation and other transport systems.

The second experiment examined a nickel-tantalum alloy with ceramic particles, which were added to improve the composite's wear characteristics. The results obtained in the microgravity environment are more accurate than those obtained in a laboratory on Earth because the forces required to maintain the particles in suspension and the disruptive internal flows in the liquid metal are substantially reduced. The researchers obtained high-precision data that is important for the development of computer simulations required for modern industrial manufacturing processes.

 Solidification in microgravity
zum Bild Solidification in microgravity

The TRACE+ (Transparent Alloys for Columnar Equiaxed Solidification) materials science experiment, performed by the Aachen ACCESS research centre, investigated the processes and structures involved in the solidification of metallic alloys. This was done by analysing the behaviour of a mixture of organic substances with a solidification process similar to that of a liquid metal. The transparency of the organic alloy made it possible to observe its solidification process directly. The experiment will yield data for improving industrial casting processes.

SITI-1 investigates the human immune system in microgravity

The SITI-1 medical/biological experiment, carried out by a research group from the Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg, studied the mechanisms leading to disturbances in the immune system when subjected to a microgravity environment. For example, some astronauts are prone to suffering infections during prolonged periods of time in space.

 Preparing the SITI-1 experiment
zum Bild Preparing the SITI-1 experiment

In addition, cell cultures were carried on board TEXUS 49 to monitor the activity of all genes in the immune system using modern DNA chip technology. Scientists suspect that certain molecules in cell membranes may be responsible for disrupting the immune system in microgravity. If these suspicions are confirmed, the findings could eventually lead to new approaches for fighting diseases.

DLR commissioned Astrium Space Transportation in Bremen for the launch preparations and implementation of the TEXUS 49 mission. Kayser-Threde in Munich and DLR's Mobile Rocket Base (MObile RAketenBAsis; MORABA) in Oberpfaffenhofen also participated in the mission. The VSB-30 two-stage launcher was a joint venture between the Brazilian aerospace organisations Centro Técnico Aeroespacial (CTA) and Instituto de Aeronáutica e Espaço (IAE), together with MORABA and the Swedish Space Corporation (SSC). This was its seventh launch from Esrange under the TEXUS programme.

The TEXUS programme

The TEXUS (Technologie-Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit – technology experiments under microgravity) programme, begun in 1976 under the joint sponsorship of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung; BMBF) and the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie; BMWi) through DLR's Space Agency, uses sounding rockets to achieve microgravity experimental conditions lasting close to six minutes. The TEXUS 50 'Anniversary flight' is scheduled for either 2012 or 2013.

 Transport to the launch tower
zum Bild Transport to the launch tower

Up to two rockets are launched from Esrange each year. Following a parabolic trajectory, they can reach an altitude of up to 270 kilometres before parachuting back to Earth and being recovered by helicopter. During the flights, experiments are performed in separate, autonomous modules within the launcher. Data is acquired using telemetry during the flight and upon recovery of the scientific payloads. The tests can be directly controlled and monitored via telecommanding and video transmissions.

The TEXUS programme offers scientists the opportunity to perform independent experiments in microgravity and prepare experiments to be conducted on the International Space Station (ISS). It stands out for the re-usability of the payload, short preparation and access times, a regular, user-friendly access to zero gravity and, in comparison to manned missions, lower safety requirements. These factors allow for relatively low-cost research.


Contact
Diana Gonzalez
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Communication
Tel: +49 228 447-388

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Diana.Gonzalez@dlr.de
Dr. Otfried Joop
German Aerospace Center

Space Agency

Tel: +49 228 447-204

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Otfried.Joop@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7224/12028_read-29678/12028_page-2/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/mp/en/desktopdefault.aspx
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4711/7804_read-12180/
http://www.access.rwth-aachen.de/
http://www.ssc.se/esrange

News-Archiv 2011

Forschungsrakete TEXUS 49 startet mit vier deutschen Experimenten

29. März 2011

 Start von TEXUS 49
zum Bild Start von TEXUS 49

Am Dienstag, 29. März 2011, startete um 6.01 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Zeit (MESZ) die Forschungsrakete TEXUS 49 vom Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange bei Kiruna in Nordschweden. Die Rakete des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) trug vier deutsche Experimente zur Gesundheits- und Materialforschung in eine Höhe von 268 Kilometern. Während der 20-minütigen Flugzeit herrschte für rund sechs Minuten Schwerelosigkeit, bevor die Nutzlast planmäßig am Fallschirm landete.

Materiallegierungen in der Schwerelosigkeit

Hauptnutzlast der Mission war die in Deutschland entwickelte Elektromagnetische Levitationsanlage EML. Mit ihr erforschten Wissenschaftler des Kölner DLR-Instituts für Materialphysik im Weltraum in zwei Experimenten thermophysikalische Eigenschaften und das Erstarrungsverhalten von Metalllegierungen, die von industriellem Interesse sind. So wurde beispielsweise eine Aluminium-Nickel-Verbindung untersucht, die in der Luftfahrt und anderen Verkehrssystemen verwendet wird.

Ein zweites Experiment beschäftigte sich mit einer Nickel-Tantal-Legierung mit beigemischten keramischen Partikeln, die die Verschleißeigenschaften dieses Verbundwerkstoffes verbessern sollen. In der Schwerelosigkeit sind dabei wesentlich genauere Messungen möglich als im Labor auf der Erde. Denn hier sind die notwendigen Haltekräfte zum Schmelzen in der Schwebe (Levitieren) und störende innere Strömungen in der flüssigen Metallprobe wesentlich reduziert. Die Forscher gewinnen somit hochpräzise Daten, die wichtig sind für künftige Computersimulationen. Diese werden für moderne industriellen Herstellungsverfahren benötigt.

 Kristallbildung in der Schmelze
zum Bild Kristallbildung in der Schmelze

Im materialwissenschaftlichen Experiment TRACE+ (Transparent Alloys for Columnar Equiaxed Solidification) des Forschungszentrums ACCESS aus Aachen wurden Vorgänge und Strukturen untersucht, die bei der Erstarrung metallischer Legierungen eine Rolle spielen. Dies wurde beispielhaft an einem Gemisch organischer Substanzen durchgeführt, das ähnlich einem flüssigen Metall erstarrt. Die Durchsichtigkeit dieser Legierung erlaubte dabei eine direkte Beobachtung des Erstarrungsablaufes. Die so gewonnenen Daten sollen zur Verbesserung industrieller Gießprozesse beitragen.

SITI-1 erforscht das menschliche Immunsystem unter Schwerelosigkeit

Das medizinisch-biologische Experiment SITI-1 einer Wissenschaftlergruppe der Universität Magdeburg hatte zum Ziel, die Mechanismen aufzuklären, die zu Störungen des menschlichen Immunsystems in der Schwerelosigkeit führen. So leiden einige Astronauten bei längeren Aufenthalten im All verstärkt unter Infektionen.

 Vorbereitungen beim Experiment SITI-1
zum Bild Vorbereitungen beim Experiment SITI-1

Auf TEXUS 49 wurden dazu Zellkulturen eingesetzt, in denen die Aktivität aller Gene des Immunsystems mittels moderner DNA-Chip-Technologie untersucht wurde. Die Wissenschaftler vermuten, dass bestimmte Moleküle der Zellmembran für die durch die Schwerelosigkeit hervorgerufenen Störungen verantwortlich sind. Sollte sich diese Vermutung bestätigen, könnten diese Erkenntnisse langfristig auch zu neuen Ansätzen bei der Bekämpfung von Krankheiten führen.

Mit den Startvorbereitungen und der Durchführung der TEXUS-49-Mission hatte das DLR die Firma Astrium Space Transportation in Bremen beauftragt. Weiterhin beteiligt waren die Firma Kayser-Threde in München und die mobile Raketenbasis (Moraba) des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. Die zweistufige Trägerrakete VSB-30 wurde gemeinsam von den brasilianischen Raumfahrtorganisationen CTA (Centro Técnico Aerospacial) und IAE (Instituto de Aeronáutica e Espaço), der DLR Moraba, sowie der schwedischen Raumfahrtorganisation SSC (Swedisch Space Corporation) entwickelt und im Rahmen des TEXUS-Programms bereits zum siebten Mal vom Raketenstartplatz Esrange aus gestartet.

Das TEXUS-Programm

In dem seit 1976 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi) über das DLR Raumfahrtmanagement geförderten TEXUS-Programm (Technologie-Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit) wird mit Hilfe von Forschungsraketen eine annähernde Schwerelosigkeit für etwa sechs Minuten Experimentierzeit erreicht. Der "Jubiläumsflug", TEXUS 50, ist für 2012 oder 2013 geplant.

 Transport zum Start-Turm
zum Bild Transport zum Start-Turm

Bei bis zu zwei Flügen pro Jahr starten die Raketen von Esrange bei Kiruna in Nordschweden, erreichen in ballistischem Flug eine Gipfelhöhe von bis zu 270 Kilometern, landen am Fallschirm und werden anschließend per Hubschrauber geborgen. Die Experimente werden dabei in übereinander liegenden, autonomen Einzelmodulen innerhalb der Rakete durchgeführt. Dabei kann die Datengewinnung während des Fluges per Telemetrie und nach der Bergung der wissenschaftlichen Nutzlast erfolgen. Die direkte Steuerung und Überwachung der Versuchsabläufe per sogenanntem Telecommanding und Videoübertragung sind möglich.

Das TEXUS-Programm bietet Wissenschaftlern die Möglichkeit, eigenständige Experimente unter verminderter Schwerkraft durchzuführen und Experimente für die Internationale Raumstation ISS vorzubereiten. Es zeichnet sich durch eine weitgehende Wiederverwendbarkeit der Nutzlasten, relativ kurze Vorbereitungs- und Zugriffszeiten, einen regelmäßigen und nutzerfreundlichen Zugang zur Schwerelosigkeit und die im Vergleich zu bemannten Missionen niedrigeren Sicherheitsanforderungen aus. All dies ermöglicht eine relativ kostengünstige Forschung.


Kontakt
Diana Gonzalez
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Kommunikation
Tel: +49 228 447-388

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Diana.Gonzalez@dlr.de
Dr. Otfried Joop
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Forschung unter Weltraumbedingungen
Tel: +49 228 447-204

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Otfried.Joop@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7224/12028_read-29678/12028_page-2/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/mp/
http://www.dlr.de/moraba
http://www.access.rwth-aachen.de/
http://www.ssc.se/esrange