News-Archive 2011

Gerd Gruppe takes office as Director of DLR Space Administration

1 April 2011

 Gerd Gruppe took up his post as Director of Space Administration at DLR on 1 April 2011
zum Bild Gerd Gruppe took up his post as Director of Space Administration at DLR on 1 April 2011

Gerd Gruppe took up his post as Director of Space Administration at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), joining DLR's Executive Board and filling a vacancy that had been open for 18 months. DLR's Supervisory Board, the Senate, unanimously appointed him on 25 November 2010.

DLR Space Administration is responsible for the management of national space programmes and bilateral cooperation with and contributions to the European Space Agency (ESA) and the European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT). The total annual budget for this area is about 900 million Euros. DLR Executive Board Chairman Johann Dietrich Wörner expressed his pleasure at the beginning of the term of office of his new colleague. 

Space for the benefit of society and the economy

After working for the Bavarian State Government for more than 20 years, Gruppe is now looking forward to his new field of work. "I am grateful for this challenge in space – it is an area I'm familiar with from my previous role and I can relate to its goals," he said as he took up his post at the DLR Space Administration office in Bonn. "At the interface between politics, technology and the stimulation of research, I will be working to ensure that space benefits both society and small and medium-sized companies in Germany."

As well as promoting scientific projects, Gruppe will also stress the importance of space as a technology of the future; this includes the commercial exploitation of space technology. He says the European Galileo satellite navigation system and the EU Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES) project are outstanding examples of good marketing opportunities for small and medium-sized businesses. These large-scale European projects offer these companies a multitude of opportunities to develop innovative devices and services. Gruppe believes that DLR should actively shape the process of networking with industry by encouraging companies to establish themselves in the vicinity of DLR’s research sites or through the formation of spin-off companies.

Experience in politics and space

Gerd Gruppe was born in 1952 and grew up in Eschweiler near Aachen, in Germany. He received a degree in mining from RWTH Aachen University. Upon completion of an internship at the Bureau of Mines in Munich, he obtained a doctorate degree in Energy Marketing at Augsburg while continuing to pursue his career. He then transferred to the Bavarian State Ministry for Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transport and Technology. Initially, he was responsible for promoting research and for technology transfer, and later had his first professional experience with space – in the late 1980s he was involved in the establishment of the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) at DLR's Oberpfaffenhofen site. Later, as Head of the Department of Research, Innovation and Technology at the same ministry, he greatly advanced the development of Bavaria as a location for space activities, particularly with his involvement in the Galileo Control Centre and the world-renowned Robotics and Mechatronics Center – both based at DLR Oberpfaffenhofen.


Contact
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Spokesman

Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
Michael Müller
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Communication
Tel: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: M.Mueller@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7224/12028_read-29903/12028_page-2/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/raumfahrt-agentur/;internal&action=_setlanguage.action?LANGUAGE=en
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Dr. Gerd Gruppe neues DLR-Vorstandsmitglied für das Raumfahrtmanagement (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-11/129_read-27938/12028_page-2/usetemplate-print/)

News-Archiv 2011

Gerd Gruppe tritt Amt als Vorstand des DLR Raumfahrtmanagements an

1. April 2011

 Dr. Gerd Gruppe trat am 1. April 2011 sein Amt als DLR-Vorstandsmitglied für das Raumfahrtmanagement an
zum Bild Dr. Gerd Gruppe trat am 1. April 2011 sein Amt als DLR-Vorstandsmitglied für das Raumfahrtmanagement an

Dr. Gerd Gruppe hat sein Amt als Vorstand für das Raumfahrtmanagement im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) angetreten. Er komplettiert damit nach knapp anderthalbjähriger Vakanz dieses Vorstandsbereichs den Vorstand des DLR. Am 25. November 2010 hatte ihn das DLR-Aufsichtsgremium, der Senat, einstimmig berufen.

Zum Vorstandsbereich Raumfahrtmanagement gehört das Management nationaler Raumfahrtvorhaben ebenso wie bilaterale Kooperationen und Beiträge zur Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) sowie der Europäischen Organisation zur Nutzung meteorologischer Satelliten (EUMETSAT). Das Gesamtbudget für diesen Bereich beträgt rund 900 Millionen Euro im Jahr. Der Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Prof. Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, zeigte sich erfreut über die nun beginnende Amtszeit des neuen Kollegen. 

Raumfahrt zum Nutzen für Bürger und Wirtschaft

Nach über zwanzigjähriger Tätigkeit im Dienst der Bayerischen Landesregierung freut sich Dr. Gruppe auf das neue Betätigungsfeld. "Ich bin dankbar für diese Herausforderung in der Raumfahrt, mit der ich aus meiner früheren Tätigkeit vertraut bin und mit deren Zielen ich mich identifiziere", sagte er anlässlich seines Amtsantritts im DLR Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn. "An der Schnittstelle von Politik, Technik und Forschungsförderung setze ich mich dafür ein, dass Raumfahrt auch zum Nutzen der Bürger und der kleinen und mittelständischen Betriebe in Deutschland geschieht."

Neben der Förderung wissenschaftlicher Vorhaben will Dr. Gruppe auch den Stellenwert der Raumfahrt als Zukunftstechnologie weiter ausbauen. Dazu gehört auch die kommerzielle Nutzung von Raumfahrttechnologien. Hervorragende Beispiele für gute Vermarktungschancen auch im Mittelstand seien das im Aufbau befindliche europäische Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo und das EU-Projekt GMES, so Gruppe. Diese europäischen Großvorhaben böten Unternehmen eine Vielzahl von Chancen zur Entwicklung innovativer Geräte und Dienstleistungen. Den Prozess der Vernetzung mit der Industrie - durch Ansiedelung im Umfeld eigener Forschungsstandorte oder durch Ausgründungen - müsse das DLR aktiv gestalten, so Gruppe.

Erfahrung in Politik und Raumfahrt

Dr. Gerd Gruppe, Jahrgang 1952, wuchs in Eschweiler in der Nähe von Aachen auf. An der RWTH Aachen studierte er Bergbau. Nach seiner Referendarzeit am Oberbergamt in München promovierte er berufsbegleitend in Augsburg im Bereich Energie-Marketing. Anschließend wechselte er in das Bayerische Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Technologie. Hier war er zunächst für Forschungsförderung und Technologietransfer zuständig und kam auf diese Weise zum ersten Mal beruflich mit der Raumfahrt in Kontakt: Ende der 1980er-Jahre war er am Aufbau des Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrums (German Space Operations Center, GSOC) am DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen beteiligt. Später förderte er als Leiter der Abteilung Forschung, Innovation und Technologie im selben Ministerium maßgeblich den weiteren Ausbau des Raumfahrtstandortes Bayern, insbesondere durch seinen Einsatz für das europäische Galileo-Kontrollzentrum und des weltweit anerkannten Robotik und Mechatronik Zentrums (RMC), beide am DLR-Standort in Oberpfaffenhofen beheimatet.


Kontakt
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Pressesprecher

Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
Michael Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Kommunikation
Tel: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: M.Mueller@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7224/12028_read-29903/12028_page-2/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Dr. Gerd Gruppe neues DLR-Vorstandsmitglied für das Raumfahrtmanagement (http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-11/129_read-27938/12028_page-2/usetemplate-print/)