Space Programme Planning



The German space industry and space science can look back on a successful decade. Both in Europe and world-wide, Germany has won a reputation as a reliable supplier of fine technology, and a welcome co-operation partner. For many years and in many fields, moreover, German space technology has been making essential contributions towards enhancing our standard of living, progress in science, and security in Germany and Europe. It has become an engine of our country’s economic development and an important factor in promoting Germany as a business location.

The Space Administration is guided by a number of overarching objectives derived from its statutory mandate and the political targets set by the Federal Government's space strategy. We serve these objectives by implementing programmes and missions in:
 

 

  • The fundamentals of Germany's space programme planning 

    In their coalition agreement of 2009, the governing parties firmly announced a redirection of Germany's space policy: German space activities need clear-cut objectives. For that purpose, it was decided to develop a space strategy stating clear mission and technology objectives within a year. In November of 2010 the Federal Cabinet adopted a space strategy entitled "Making Germany’s Space Sector Fit for the Future", which was presented to the expert public on December 1, 2010.

    The Raumfahrtaufgabenübertragungsgesetz (RAÜG, Act on Space Science and Technology Mandating) provides the legal basic rules for this strategy. It mandates DLR as an agency to plan Germany’s space activities and represent Germany's space interests at the international level, particularly vis-à-vis ESA. Based on the RAÜG, the DLR Space Administration awards orders and remits funds for proposed space projects under the National Space Programme. Its tasks range from counselling applicants, making funding decisions, down to facilitating technology transfers.

     

 

Augmenting the common benefit of space technology

The Space Administration rates projects by their scientific excellence and economic efficiency. Projects contributing towards solving global challenges are considered increasingly important, as we intend to respond to new challenges and offer solutions for them more rapidly. In this regard, one of our major tasks is to involve all stakeholders in a dialogue about the future of space science and technology, for which we need to present a transparent account of DLR’s activities and those of the German space industry as a whole. For this purpose, the Space Administration works to keep politicians, scientists, industry, the media, and the public informed about its activities.

Guaranteeing scientific excellence

Today, we live in a knowledge-based society, and our country’s future depends to some degree on the cognitive capabilities of every individual. Knowledge has become the strategic resource of the 21st century. The contest for the best brains is in progress. Only excellent national competencies will enable Germany to hold its own in European co-operation as well as in international competition as an eminent business nation with a high standard of living, an intact public welfare system, and effective internal and external security. The soil on which all this must grow consists of excellent scientific research and a systematic promotion of young researchers.

Science conducted in space offers new insights into the nature and development of our Solar System and the Universe. It creates new opportunities to verify fundamental questions in physics, such as the Theory of Relativity, and it provides us with fresh knowledge about the influence of gravity on biological, medical, and physical processes. Research under microgravity conditions is dedicated to human medicine and questions in biology, physics, and materials science.

However, space science also focuses on our own home planet, Earth: investigating our climate system, our atmosphere, the tropical rain forests, the oceans or the poles is indispensable if we are to understand and protect our eco-system to ensure its survival. Then again, excellent research can and should also be applied to launchers, satellites, and other components of the space infrastructure. With this in mind, the Space Administration puts a special focus on funding projects of excellence in basic and applied research from which other disciplines may benefit.

Encouraging commercialisation and innovation

One important criterion of success stipulated by the Federal Government's space strategy is the extent to which space technologies are being commercially exploited. This policy aims at a whole range of fields of action, resulting, firstly, from extending the commercial exploitation of satellite data, and secondly, from applying space technologies in other sectors. A great variety of target groups that must be addressed in this context: 

  • Large system integrators
  • Small and medium-sized firms (SMEs) in the space industry and user sectors
  • Start-ups in the space and user sectors


The Space Administration plans to expand its activities in all three areas. Spaceflight, beyond being important to industry, science and politics in its own right, has always been a rich source of innovations and spin-offs, given that the extreme conditions prevailing in space fire up the creativity of engineers and scientists to the utmost.

Promoting technology developments and innovations and preparing their translation into marketable products or services is an increasingly important planning task in Germany's Space Programme. The intention is to see concrete applications derived from space technology to benefit as many industrial sectors and users as possible.

Increasing the efficiency of space investments

In the future, spaceflight activities will be judged far more than in the past by their ability to manage their budgets reliably and responsibly. The Space Administration aims to award space technology grants based on the best cost-benefit ratio, thus underpinning the competitiveness of Germany's space industry in technological as well as financial terms.

Related aspects include calculating the cost of space missions, using valid pre-investment studies so that any technical and financial risks can be assessed reliably and in good time, ensuring stringent cost engineering, long-range software and hardware quality control, and the capability to deliver valuable data until the very end of the mission. Where satellites are concerned, sustainability demands that there should be a possibility to dispose of them safely in compliance with the international Code of Conduct. We will look for intelligent engineering solutions for complex space projects and develop and establish up-to-date operating scenarios.

Strengthening co-operation and winning new partners

Long-term co-operation on the national and international level is an important success factor for safeguarding the long-term future of Germany as a business location as well as of the European Economic Area as a whole. The Space Administration contributes towards this by maintaining a closely-knit community of high-technology experts in Germany and by co-operating with partner countries, particularly the ESA member states.

One constant challenge in this regard is finding and involving new partners from academia and the business world  for whom space science and technology might hold new potential, and actively fostering and organising networks. Meanwhile the Space Administration has launched a number of new initiatives in this field.

Recruiting and promoting young talent

For a long time, space has been very helpful in countering recruiting shortages particularly for scientific and technical occupations. After all, there is hardly another discipline that has the same potential as astronautics to inspire young people with enthusiasm for science and technology. Consequently, the Space Administration will continue to promote education in schools and research in universities.
 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8189/14005_read-35602/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.bmwi.de/English/Navigation/Service/publications,did=386426.html
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2105/

Raumfahrtplanung



Die deutsche Raumfahrt kann auf ein erfolgreiches Jahrzehnt zurück blicken. Sie hat sich in Europa und weltweit die Position als vielfach führender und zuverlässiger Technologielieferant und willkommener Kooperationspartner erarbeitet. Sie leistet aber auch seit vielen Jahren und auf unterschiedlichen Gebieten wichtige Beiträge zu einem hohen Lebensstandard, zu Fortschritten in der Wissenschaft und zur Sicherheit in Deutschland und Europa. Sie ist Motor für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung eines Landes und ein wichtiger Faktor in der deutschen Standortpolitik.

Aus dem gesetzlichen Auftrag und den politischen Vorgaben der Raumfahrtstrategie der Bundesregierung ergeben sich übergeordnete Ziele für das Raumfahrtmanagement. Diese setzen wir um in Programmen und Missionen der Bereiche:

 

  • Grundlagen der deutschen Raumfahrtplanung

    Im Koalitionsvertrag von 2009 haben sich die Regierungsparteien auf eine Neuausrichtung der Raumfahrtpolitik festgelegt: Deutschland braucht klare Ziele in der Raumfahrt. Dafür wird eine eigenständige Raumfahrtstrategie mit klaren Missions- und Technologiezielen innerhalb eines Jahres weiterentwickelt. Im November 2010 hat die Bundesregierung ihre Raumfahrt-strategie für eine zukunftsfähige deutsche Raumfahrt im Kabinett beschlossen und am 1. Dezember 2010 der Fachöffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

    Grundlage hierfür ist das Raumfahrtaufgabenübertragungsgesetzes (RAÜG). Es betraut das DLR mit den Agenturaufgaben zur Erstellung der deutschen Raumfahrtplanung und der Wahrnehmung deutscher Raumfahrtinteressen im internationalen Rahmen, insbesondere gegenüber der ESA. Auf Basis des RAÜG erteilt das Raumfahrtmanagement im DLR ebenso Aufträge und Zuwendungen für Raumfahrtprojekte im Nationalen Raumfahrtprogramm, von der Beratung von Antragsstellern über Förderentscheidungen bis hin zum Technologietransfer.

     

 

Den gesellschaftlichen Nutzen der Raumfahrt mehren

Das Raumfahrtmanagement bewertet seine Fördervorhaben und Aufträge an deren wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz und wirtschaftlicher Effizienz. Wachsende Bedeutung erlangen darüber hinaus Beiträge zu globalen Herausforderungen, denn wir wollen schneller auf neue Herausforderungen reagieren und Lösungen anbieten. Eine unserer zentralen Aufgabe ist es, hierfür alle Interessensgruppen in den Dialog über die Zukunft der Raumfahrt einzubinden. Dazu gehört es, unsere Tätigkeiten und die der Raumfahrt in Deutschland insgesamt transparent darzustellen. Zu diesem Zweck informiert das Raumfahrtmanagement über seine Arbeit die Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Medien und Öffentlichkeit eigenständig in einem vielfältigen Angebot.

Wissenschaftliche Exzellenz garantieren

Wir leben heute in einer Wissensgesellschaft, in der die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit eines jeden einzelnen die Zukunftsfähigkeit unseres Landes beeinflusst. Wissen ist zur strategischen Ressource des 21. Jahrhunderts geworden. Der Wettbewerb um die besten Köpfe ist im vollen Gange. Nur auf Basis exzellenter nationaler Kompetenzen wird sich Deutschland als bedeutende Wirtschaftsnation mit hohem Lebensstandard, intakter sozialer Fürsorge und effektiver innerer wie externer Sicherheit in europäischer Kooperation und im internationalen Wettbewerb behaupten können. Hochqualifizierte, anspruchsvolle wissenschaftliche Forschung und gezielte Nachwuchsförderung sind hierfür unverzichtbare Nährböden.

Raumfahrt ermöglicht neue Erkenntnisse über die Beschaffenheit und Entwicklung unseres Sonnensystems und des Universums. Sie schafft neue Möglichkeiten zur experimentellen Überprüfung von grundlegenden physikalischen Fragen, etwa zur Relativitätstheorie und liefert neues Wissen über den Einfluss der Gravitation auf biologische, medizinische und physikalische Vorgänge. Die Forschung unter Weltraumbedingungen widmet sich der Medizin des Menschen sowie Fragen der Biologie, Physik und Materialkunde.

Raumfahrt richtet den Blick aber auch auf unseren Heimatplaneten Erde: Die Erforschung unseres Klimasystems, unserer Atmosphäre, der tropischen Regenwälder, Ozeane oder Pole ist unverzichtbar für das Verständnis, den Schutz und damit den Fortbestand unseres Ökosystems. Exzellente Forschung kann und soll aber auch bei Launchern, Satelliten und anderer Raumfahrtinfrastruktur stattfinden. Die Förderung exzellenter Vorhaben in der Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Forschung, die auch andere Wissensgebiete befruchten können, ist daher ein besonderes Anliegen des Raumfahrtmanagements.

Kommerzialisierung und Innovationen fördern

Ein wichtiger Erfolgsmaßstab, den die Raumfahrtstrategie der Bundesregierung vorgibt, ist die stärkere kommerzielle Nutzung von Raumfahrttechnologien. Das zielt auf ganz unterschiedliche Aktionsfelder, die auszubauen sind: zum einen die stärkere kommerzielle Nutzung von Satellitendaten, zum anderen die Anwendungen von Raumfahrttechnologien in anderen Branchen. Dabei werden sehr unterschiedliche Zielgruppen angesprochen:

  • große Systemfirmen
  • kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) in der Raumfahrt und in Anwenderbranchen
  • Existenzgründer in der Raumfahrt und in Anwenderbranchen

In allen drei Bereichen wird das Raumfahrtmanagement seine Aktivitäten ausbauen. Raumfahrt ist neben ihrer Funktion als Instrument für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik immer schon eine reiche Quelle für Innovationen und auch für Spin-offs gewesen. Denn die extremen Bedingungen des Weltalls fordern die Kreativität von Ingenieuren und Wissenschaftlern aufs Äußerste heraus.

Technologieentwicklungen und Innovationen zu fördern und den Transfer in marktreife Produkte oder Dienste vorzubereiten, ist eine wachsende Aufgabe in der deutschen Raumfahrtplanung. Dafür sollen aus Raumfahrtvorhaben konkrete Anwendungspotenziale für möglichst viele Industriesektoren und Nutzer gezielt abgeleitet werden.

Effizienz in der Raumfahrt weiter steigern

Raumfahrt wird Zukunft viel stärker an ihrer Kompetenz gemessen werden, mit den staatlichen Budgets verlässlich und verantwortlich zu wirtschaften. Ziel des Raumfahrtmanagements ist es, Raumfahrt nach dem besten Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis auszurichten und die technologische wie finanzielle Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Raumfahrtindustrie zu gewährleisten.

Dies umfasst die Kostenkalkulation von Raumfahrtmissionen über die Planung mit validen Missions-Vorstudien für eine zuverlässige und rechtzeitige Abschätzung von technischen und finanziellen Risiken, ein stringentes Cost Engineering, die langfristige Qualitätssicherung der Soft- und Hardware sowie Datennutzung und -auswertung bis zum Ende der Mission. Bei Satelliten schließt dieses im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Raumfahrt das gezielte sichere Entsorgen ein, im Einklang mit internationalen Regelungen (Code of Conduct). Für anspruchsvolle Raumfahrtprojekte werden wir hierfür intelligente ingenieurtechnische Lösungen suchen sowie moderne Betriebsszenarien entwickeln und etablieren.

Kooperationen stärken und neue Partner gewinnen

Für die langfristige Sicherung des Wirtschaftsstandortes Deutschland und des europäischen Wirtschaftsraums ist die nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor. Das Raumfahrtmanagement leistet seinen Beitrag hierfür in der engen Vernetzung von Hochtechnologie-Kompetenzen in Deutschland und Kooperationen mit Partnerländern, insbesondere den ESA-Mitgliedsstaaten.

Eine stetige Herausforderung besteht hierbei in der Einbeziehung neuer Partner aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, für welche die Raumfahrt bislang noch nicht genutzte Potenziale bietet und die aktive, zielorientierte Gestaltung solcher Netzwerke. Hier wird das Raumfahrtmanagement neue Initiativen ergreifen.

Nachwuchs gewinnen und fördern

Die Raumfahrt leistet seit langem einen wichtigen Beitrag, um dem Fachkräftemangel insbesondere in naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Berufen besser zu begegnen. Denn Raumfahrt ist wie kaum eine andere Disziplin geeignet, junge Menschen für Naturwissenschaft und Technik zu begeistern. Das Raumfahrtmanagement unterstützt daher auch in Zukunft gezielt die Forschung an Universitäten und die Bildungsarbeit an Schulen.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8189/14005_read-35602/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2105/