Space Applications



Climate change, resource management, international security, and the other great challenges of our era call for global thinking and action. Space applications like Earth observation, satellite communication, and satellite navigation play a crucial part in addressing these tasks of the future:

  • To improve our ability to predict global developments, we need more and better information about certain processes on Earth. Earth observation satellites provide a technology that can be employed with precision on an ongoing basis and generally works without disruption.
  • Modern information and communication technologies have brought on change not only economically but also in a technical dimension, in that they have facilitated the acquisition and distribution of information. Operating independently of terrestrial networks, satellite communication is capable of delivering information to the remotest locations. Its advantage lies in its ability to provide nearly complete global coverage by geostationary satellites.
  • Navigation and positioning applications in the areas of transport, logistics, and leisure provide numerous sectors of the economy with precise positioning data. For the future, civil aviation and notably the European air traffic control authorities are pinning their hopes on satellite navigation in general and on Galileo, the European satellite navigation system, in particular. Intermodal road and rail traffic management systems based on Galileo have entered their planning phase.

The use of Earth observation as well as satellite communication and navigation services has come to be taken for granted. They have turned out to be a source for economic prosperity and national security as well as providing everyday convenience for citizens. Integrating space applications into entirely novel services constitutes an attractive field of business for the private sector and particularly for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

The OECD report entitled 'The Space Economy at a Glance 2011' highlights the role of space applications as a prime mover for further economic development. The Space Administration supports the expansion of existing capabilities in Germany and aims to create added value by advancing the integrated application of these technologies.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8191/14015_read-35630/

Raumfahrtanwendungen



Die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit wie Klimawandel, Ressourcenmanagement und internationale Sicherheit fordern globales Denken und Handeln. Die Raumfahrtanwendungen Erdbeobachtung, Satellitenkommunikation und -navigation spielen bei der Bewältigung dieser Zukunftsaufgaben eine entscheidende Rolle:

  • Um globale Entwicklungen besser vorhersagen zu können, benötigen wir mehr und bessere Informationen über Prozesse auf der Erde. Erdbeobachtungssatelliten sind hierfür ein präzises, kontinuierlich und weitgehend störungsfrei einsetzbares Instrument.
  • Die modernen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien haben neben einem technischen auch einen wirtschaftlichen Wandel ausgelöst. Die Ressource Informationsgewinnung und -verteilung spielt dabei eine maßgebliche Rolle. Die Satellitenkommunikation kann unabhängig von terrestrischen Netzen Informationen an die entlegensten Orte bringen. Ihr Vorteil besteht in der nahezu globalen Abdeckung durch geostationäre Satelliten.
  • Navigations- und Positionierungsanwendungen im Verkehr, der Logistik und bei Freizeitaktivitäten stellen präzise Ortsangaben für viele Wirtschaftszweige zur Verfügung. Die Luftfahrt und insbesondere die europäischen Flugsicherungsbehörden setzen für die Zukunft auf Satellitennavigation und auf das europäische Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo. Verkehrsträgerübergreifende Managementsysteme für Straße und Schiene sind auf Basis des Galileosystems in Planung.

Die Dienstleistungen von Erdbeobachtung, Satellitenkommunikation und -navigation werden heute selbstverständlich genutzt. Sie schaffen eine wichtige Grundlage für wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand, gesamtstaatliche Sicherheit und den alltägliche Nutzen für die Bürger. Die Integration der Raumfahrtanwendungen zu ganz neuen, innovativen Diensten bietet für die Privatwirtschaft - insbesondere auch für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen (KMU) - ein wirtschaftlich interessantes Geschäftsfeld.

Die Rolle der Raumfahrtanwendungen als Motor für die weitere wirtschaftliche Entwicklung hebt der OECD-Report "The Space Economy at a Glance 2011" deutlich hervor. Das Raumfahrtmanagement unterstützt den Ausbau der Kompetenzen in Deutschland und zielt auf den besonderen Mehrwert durch die intergierte Anwendung dieser Technologien.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8191/14015_read-35630/