Space Sciences



Space sciences aim to address some of the fundamental questions of mankind. Where do we come from? Where are we going? Space research offers unique opportunities to acquire fresh insights into elementary questions in science:

How did the Universe originate, what is its basic structure, and how will it develop over time?

How did the Solar System and more particularly our Earth originate, and how will they evolve in the future?

Does life exist on other celestial bodies in our Solar System or in extra-solar planetary systems?

What is the part played by gravity and cosmic radiation in the origin, evolution, and spread of life?

In what way does gravity influence fundamental physical, physical-chemical, biological, and human-physiological processes and systems?

To answer these questions, the Space Administration pursues three programme lines relating to space science, the intention of which is to:
ities to acquire fresh insights into elementary questions in science:
 

In all these fields, scientists make use of conditions prevailing in space that cannot be reproduced in terrestrial observatories and laboratories, such as the absence of atmospheric restrictions and disturbances, weightlessness, and cosmic radiation. Telescopes positioned in near-Earth orbit, such as the new European space-based observatories, Herschel und Planck, enable us to study the Universe without obstacles or interference.

Satellites and orbital platforms like the International Space Station (ISS) serve as laboratories for studying fundamental laws in physics, biology, and medicine. Probes equipped with intelligent lander systems such as the Rosetta mission are sent to faraway planets, moons, and asteroids in our Solar System to acquire important facts on the spot.

Germany is well set up for all three programme lines in space science. Successful scientists, the development of innovative measuring devices by Germany's industry and a wide range of missions and mission participations within ESA, bilateral co-operations and the National Programme – all this has contributed to our success.


 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8192/14016_read-35631/

Weltraumwissenschaften



Die Weltraumwissenschaften verfolgen das Ziel, fundamentale Fragen der Menschheit zu klären. Wo kommen wir her? Wo gehen wir hin? Die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten der Raumfahrt verhelfen dabei zu neuen Erkenntnissen im Hinblick auf elementare Fragen der Naturwissenschaften:

Wie ist das Universum entstanden, wie ist seine grundlegende Struktur und wie wird es sich weiter entwickeln?

Wie sind das Sonnensystem und insbesondere unsere Erde entstanden und wie entwickeln sie sich weiter?

Existiert Leben auf anderen Himmelskörpern unseres Sonnensystems oder in extrasolaren Planetensystemen?

Welche Rolle spielen die Schwerkraft und die Weltraumstrahlung bei der Entstehung, Entwicklung und Ausbreitung des Lebens?

Welchen Einfluss hat die Schwerkraft auf grundlegende physikalische, physikalisch-chemische, biologische und humanphysiologische Prozesse und Systeme?

 

Um diese Fragen zu beantworten verfolgt das Raumfahrtmanagement im Bereich Weltraumwissenschaften drei Programmlinien:
 

Hierzu nutzen die Wissenschaftler die Bedingungen des Weltraums, die sich in Observatorien und Laboratorien auf der Erde nicht darstellen lassen - wie den Wegfall atmosphärischer Einschränkungen und Störungen, die Schwerelosigkeit oder die Weltraumstrahlung. Im erdnahen Weltraum positionierte Teleskope, wie die neuen europäischen Weltraumobservatorien Herschel und Planck, ermöglichen den freien und ungestörten Blick auf unser Universum.

Satelliten und orbitale Plattformen wie die Internationale Raumstation ISS dienen als Laboratorien im All, um fundamentale Gesetze der Physik, Biologie und Medizin zu erforschen. Sonden mit intelligenten Landesystemen, wie etwa die Mission Rosetta werden zu fernen Planeten, Monden und Asteroiden unseres Sonnensystems gesendet, um vor Ort wichtige Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen.

In allen drei Programmlinien der Weltraumwissenschaften ist Deutschland gut aufgestellt. Erfolgreiche Wissenschaftler, die Entwicklung von innovativen Messgeräten durch die deutsche Industrie und ein breites Spektrum an Missionen und Missionsbeteiligungen, die über die ESA, bilaterale Kooperationen und das Nationale Programm ermöglicht werden, sind die Säulen, die für diese Erfolge stehen.

 


 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8192/14016_read-35631/