Space Technologies and Infrastructures



The independent exploitation of space and unrestricted access to the necessary high-technology products are essential for a country to assert its own political and economic interests. Both for Germany and for Europe it is crucial to have unobstructed access to critical space technologies and components.

By developing dedicated technologies in this field, the Space Administration prepares the ground for autonomous political action, while at the same time enabling German enterprises and research institutes to co-operate and compete at a high level. Furthermore, in association with the European space organisation ESA, it is helping to prepare Germany’s and Europe’s space technology to meet the requirements of the next decade.

Space presents an extreme challenge to engineers and scientists. For a mission to succeed, devices and instruments must work perfectly, often at great distances and under conditions that could not be more extreme: heat, cold, radiation, and vacuum. Technologies designed for space must be capable of guaranteeing the autonomous or semi-autonomous operation of space infrastructures. These requirements tax the creativity of engineers and scientists to the utmost. This holds true for launcher systems, satellites, and space probes as well as for the International Space Station and future exploratory missions.

Moreover, a spacefaring nation like Germany needs modern ground infrastructure  to prepare space missions in the best possible way, and to provide accurate control and dependable protection. To meet these needs, Germany operates test facilities for rocket engines and satellites, satellite receiving stations, and the German Space Operations Centre. The European Space Control Centre, the Columbus Control Centre, and the European Astronaut Centre are domiciled in Germany.

The soaring numbers of spacecraft orbiting the Earth has become a serious challenge to their own operation. For this reason, Germany has set up an inter-departmental national Space Situational Awareness Centre to monitor space, and has committed itself to sustainable spaceflight and to avoiding space debris.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8193/14017_read-35632/

Raumfahrttechnologien und -infrastrukturen



Die souveräne Nutzung von Raumfahrt und der ungehinderte Zugriff auf entsprechende Hochtechnologieprodukte sind essenziell für die Durchsetzung eigener politischer und wirtschaftlicher Interessen. Für Deutschland und Europa ist es daher entscheidend, über einen ungehinderten Zugang zu kritischen Raumfahrttechnologien und Bauteilen zu verfügen.

Mit gezielten Technologieentwicklungen auf diesem Gebiet schafft das Raumfahrtmanagement die Basis für unabhängiges politisches Handeln und stärkt zugleich die Kooperations- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit deutscher Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Zudem richtet es die deutsche und im Verbund mit der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA die europäische technologische Grundlage der Raumfahrt auf das nächste Jahrzehnt aus.
 
Der Weltraum ist eine extreme Herausforderung für Ingenieure und Wissenschaftler. Geräte und Instrumente müssen für das Gelingen einer Mission in oft weiter Ferne perfekt funktionieren und das unter Bedingungen, die extremer nicht sein könnten: Hitze, Kälte, Strahlung und Vakuum. Technologien für den Weltraum müssen den autonomen oder halbautonomen Betrieb von Raumfahrt-Infrastrukturen gewährleisten können. Diese Anforderungen verlangen Ingenieuren und Wissenschaftlern das Äußerste an Kreativität ab. Dies gilt sowohl für die Trägersysteme, Satelliten und Raumsonden als auch für die Internationale Raumstation und künftiger Explorationsmissionen.

Eine Raumfahrtnation wie Deutschland benötigt zudem moderne Bodeninfrastrukturen. Ihre Aufgabe ist es, Raumfahrtmissionen bestmöglich vorzubereiten, präzise zu steuern und verlässlich zu schützen. Hierfür werden in Deutschland Testanlagen für Raketenantriebe und Satelliten, Satellitenempfangsstationen und das Deutsche Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum betrieben. Zudem sind das Europäische Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum, das Columbus-Kontrollzentrum sowie das Europäische Astronauten Zentrum in Deutschland beheimatet.

Die immer stärker wachsende Zahl an Raumflugkörpern im Erdorbit ist inzwischen zu einer ernsthaften Herausforderung für deren Betrieb geworden. Aus diesem Grund hat Deutschland ein nationales Zentrum zur Beobachtung der Weltraumlage ressortübergreifend eingerichtet und engagiert sich für eine nachhaltige Raumfahrt und die Vermeidung von Weltraummüll.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8193/14017_read-35632/