Navigation: the EU programmes



Galileo is a programme directed by the European Commission in collaboration with ESA. It aims at developing a civilian global satellite navigation system and making it available to a wide range of users. Galileo will comprise 27 satellites plus three in reserve. The first Galileo test satellites began transmitting signals to Earth as early as 2006. Germany plays a significant part in building and operating Galileo. 

One of two Galileo control centres is domiciled in Germany, and the first 18 operational satellites will be built by German manufacturers. The remaining twelve satellites are to come from Germany as well. The Space Administration supports German companies through national technology preparation platforms. At the same time, we have to be ready for the next generation of Galileo satellites. This requires us to underpin the system capability of our industry, improve key technologies further, and develop new receiver concepts with integrity functions.

EGNOS (European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service) is now fully operational. EGNOS is a European add-on to boost the quality of GPS. EGNOS increases the positioning precision of GPS on European territory to between one and three metres. In the future, EGNOS will be similarly used to enhance the accuracy of Galileo.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8282/14186_read-35881/

Navigation: EU-Programme



Galileo ist ein von der Europäischen Kommission in Zusammenarbeit mit der ESA geführtes Programm mit dem Ziel, ein ziviles globales Satellitennavigationssystem zu entwickeln und für eine breite Nutzung bereitzustellen. Galileo wird aus 27 Satelliten plus drei Reservesatelliten bestehen. Bereits seit dem Jahr 2006 senden erste Galileo-Testsatelliten Signale zur Erde. Deutschland übernimmt  eine angemessene Rolle beim Aufbau und Betrieb von Galileo.

Unter anderem ist eines der beiden Galileo-Kontrollzentren in Deutschland angesiedelt und die ersten 18 operationellen Satelliten werden von der deutschen Industrie gebaut. Die restlichen zwölf Satelliten sollen ebenfalls aus Deutschland kommen. Durch nationale Technologievorbereitungsprogramme flankiert das Raumfahrtmanagement deutsche Unternehmen. Gleichzeitig müssen wir die Technologie für die nächste Generation von Galileo-Satelliten vorbereiten, indem wir die Systemfähigkeit unserer Industrie erhalten, Schlüsseltechnologien weiter verbessern und neue Empfängerkonzepte mit Integritätsfunktionen entwickeln.

Bereits heute schon ist EGNOS (European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service) operationell. EGONOS ist ein europäisches Erweiterungssystem zu GPS. EGNOS erhöht - begrenzt auf die Fläche Europas - die Positionsgenauigkeit von GPS auf ein bis drei Meter. In Zukunft soll EGNOS auch die Leistungsfähigkeit von Galileo erweitern.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8282/14186_read-35881/