VibroTac



VibroTac is a device that generates vibrotactile feedback to transmit information to a human. It makes use of the haptic channel instead of the visual or auditory channel, thus it is predestined for blind or deaf persons and for the use in loud environments as well as in situations where visual and auditory channels are overcharged.

Six vibration segments, distributed around the arm in equal distances, generate tactile stimuli that are separately and continuously adjustable in frequency and shape. Hence, various kinds of information such as direction, distance or collision feedback can be displayed to the user in an unobtrusive way. Due to the patented ergonomic concept, the device can be worn on a wide range of arm diameters while battery power and wireless control contribute to unrestricted movement capability and user convenience.

VibroTac can

  • feed back collisions and information from Virtual Reality Simulations or Telerobotic Systems to the human
  • give directional hints for navigation tasks
  • guide arm movements
  • direct attention e.g. for Air Traffic Control Environments
  • support blind persons as a technical aid.

Ongoing research focuses on the application dependent optimization of stimuli pattern as well as on different Human Factors aspects. VibroTac has been developed at the DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics and is now manufactured under license by SENSODRIVE.

 

VibroTac
VibroTac is suitable for various applications.

 

Awards

  • DLR Innovation Award 2012
  • Finalist in the WT (Wearable Technology) Innovation World Cup 2012
  • Winner of the M2M Challenge (category Healthcare) 2012/2013
  • Third place at the "senetics Innovation-Award" 2014 (innovative product idea in Healthcare)

Vibro Tac Awards

 

Selected Publications

 


Contact
Simon Schätzle
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics
, Mechatronic Components and Systems
Tel: +49 8153 28-3284

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Simon.Schaetzle@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8753/15115_read-39366/

VibroTac



Das VibroTac ist ein neuartiges Gerät in Form eines Armbands, das mittels Vibration (vibrotaktile Stimulation) unterschiedlichste Informationen an den Menschen übermitteln kann. Mehrere elastisch miteinander verbundene Aktoren, die in Frequenz, Amplitude und Signalverlauf separat ansteuerbar sind, erzeugen Vibrationsmuster, die vom Benutzer eindeutig interpretiert werden können.

Durch die Nutzung des haptischen Sinneskanals kann das Gerät sehr gut in Situationen mit visueller oder auditiver Überlastung eingesetzt werden oder von Personen mit eingeschränkter Sinnesfunktionalität (z.B. Blindheit, Taubheit) unauffällig genutzt werden. Das patentierte Konzept ermöglicht eine ergonomische Nutzung an unterschiedlichen Armdurchmessern und erlaubt durch die drahtlose Kommunikationsschnittstelle und den Akkubetrieb einen uneingeschränkten Bewegungsfreiraum.
 

Das VibroTac ermöglicht

  • dem Nutzer Kollisionen und Informationen aus virtuellen Realitäten oder Telerobotik darzustellen
  • Richtungshinweise im Zusammenhang mit Navigation auszugeben
  • Anweisungen zur Armbewegung (Richtung, Distanz, Entfernung) darzustellen
  • Aufmerksamkeit zu lenken (z. B. Fluglotsenarbeitsplatz)
  • Blinde und Taube zu unterstützen

Aktueller Forschungsgegenstand sind Fragestellungen zur anwendungsoptimierten Generierung von Stimulationsmustern unter Berücksichtigung der menschlichen Wahrnehmung und der Gebrauchstauglichkeit. Das VibroTac wurde am DLR Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik entwickelt und wird nun unter Lizenz durch die Firma SENSODRIVE vermarktet.

 

VibroTac
Das VibroTac eignet sich für zahlreiche verschiedenartige Anwendungsfälle.

 

Preise

  • DLR Innovationspreis 2012
  • Finalist beim WT (Wearable Technology) Innovationswettbewerbs 2012
  • Gewinner der M2M Challenge (Kategorie Healthcare) 2012/2013
  • Dritter Platz beim "senetics Innovation-Award" 2014 (innovative Produkt Idee in Bereich Healthcare)

Vibro Tac Awards

 

Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

 


Kontakt
Simon Schätzle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik
, Mechatronische Komponenten und Systeme
Tel: +49 8153 28-3284

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Simon.Schaetzle@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8753/15115_read-39366/