Haptic Rendering: Collision Detection and Response



Nowadays, virtual reality technologies are able to generate realistic images of virtual scenes. The next step towards increasing the level of reality is the intuitive manipulation of objects in a virtual scene, while feeding back haptic collision information to the human user.

The telepresence and virtual reality group of the German Aerospace Center develops haptic rendering algorithms that enable such realtime virtual reality manipulation scenarios. The user can manipulate complex virtual objects via our bimanual haptic interface HUG; whenever objects collide against each other, the user perceives the corresponding collision forces. A use case is given in the following car part assembly video.

In contrast to visual rendering, which only requires update rates of at least 30Hz for smooth visual feedback, haptic signals must be updated at a challenging rate of 1000Hz to obtain stable and realistic haptic feedback. We use an algorithm based on two data structures: voxelized distance fields (voxmaps) and point-sphere hierarchies (pointshells). Our work is inspired by the haptic rendering approach introduced by the Voxmap-PointShell (VPS) Algorithm, which allows for realtime collision feedback even with objects consisting of several millions of triangles.

Haptic Rendering: Collision Detection and Response
 

By using virtual reality scenarios with such haptic rendering technologies it is possible, for instance,

  • to check in early stages of a product design whether different parts can be assembled optimally,
  • to integrate the knowledge of manufacturers that build the final product into the product engineering steps,
  • and to train mechanics in order to prepare them for future complex assembly tasks with fragile objects.

 

Related Interesting Links

 

Student Project Offers

  • Satellite On-Orbit Servicing in Virtual Reality with Haptic Feedback
  • Improvements of Data Structures for Collision Detection and Force Computation
  • Haptic Rendering for Virtual Reality: Evaluation and Improvements

 

Selected Publications

 


Contact
Mikel Sagardia
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics
, Autonomy and Teleoperation
Tel: +49 8153 28-1039

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Mikel.Sagardia@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8759/15125_read-37437/

Haptisches Rendern: Kollisionserkennung und Kraftberechnung



Realitätsnahe Bilder können heutzutage in interaktiven virtuellen Simulationen erzeugt werden. Der nächste Schritt hin zu einer noch realistischeren Erfahrung virtueller Umgebungen erfordert eine intuitive Objektmanipulationen; dazu spielt die Kollisionsrückkopplung eine entscheidende Rolle.

Die Gruppe für Telepräsenz und Virtuelle Realität des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt forscht an haptische Algorithmen, die solche virtuelle Szenarien mit Kollisionsrückkopplung ermöglichen. Der Benutzer kann komplexe virtuelle Objekte in Echtzeit dank unseres haptischen Eingabegerätes HUG manipulieren; Immer wenn virtuelle Objekte miteinander kollidieren, spürt der Benutzer die entsprechenden Kollisionskräfte. Folgendes Video zeigt eine solche haptische Rückkopplung am Beispiel einer Einbaumontagesimulation:

Im Vergleich zum graphischen Rendern, das für eine stabile und flüssige Darstellung einen 30 Hz-Takt benötigt, müssen haptische Signale in einer herausfordernden Frequenz von 1000 Hz erzeugt werden, um eine realistische und stabile Rückkopplung zu schaffen. Dafür wird ein Algorithmus entwickelt, der zwei Datenstrukturen verwendet: voxelisierte Abstandsfelder (Voxmaps) und Punkt-Kugel Hierarchien (Pointshells). Unsere Forschung basiert auf dem Voxmap-Poinsthell (VPS) Algorithmus, der echtzeitige Kollisionsrückkopplung auch mit Millionen von Dreiecken ermöglicht.

Haptic Rendering: Collision Detection and Response
 

Mit Hilfe virtueller Umgebungen mit haptischer Rückkopplung ist es beispielsweise möglich

  • in frühen Phasen der Produktentwicklung herauszufinden, ob Teile optimal einbaubar sind,
  • das Wissen von erfahrenen Mechanikern in den Konstruktionsprozess einzubringen,
  • und Mechaniker für zukünftige Einbauaufgaben zu trainieren.

 

Verwandte Interessante Links

 

Studentenstellen

  • On-Orbit Servicing in virtuellen Umgebungen mit haptischem Feedback
  • Datenstrukturen zur Kollisionserkennung und Kraftberechnung
  • Haptisches Rendern in virtuellen Umgebungen: Evaluierung und Verbesserungen

 

Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

 


Kontakt
Mikel Sagardia
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik
, Autonomie und Fernprogrammierung
Tel: +49 8153 28-1039

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Mikel.Sagardia@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8759/15125_read-37437/