Semi-Global Matching



 

Kirche Seefeld
3D reconstruction with SGM

Semi-Global Matching (SGM) is a dense stereo matching method that can be used for accurate 3D reconstruction from a pair of calibrated images. SGM tries to find correspondences for every pixel. This is supported by a global cost function, which is optimized in 8 path directions across the image. The method has a regular algorithmic structure and uses simple operations. In the core loop, integer values are compared and added. This enables parallel implementations on graphics cards and FPGAs for real-time applications. Although SGM is not any more the winning method in international benchmarks that only evaluate quality (see Middlebury benchmark and KITTI), it turns out that SGM offers a very good mixture of speed, quality and robustness, which is the reason for its success in practice.

SGM is used in photogrammetry. The development of many commercial photogrammetric software packages has been strongly influenced by its appearance. This fact has been honored by the Carl-Pulfrich Award 2011.

SGM is also used for driver assistance systems. The 6D vision system by Daimler researchers uses a real-time implementation of SGM. Since summer 2013, the 6D vision system is a foundation of several commercially available driver assistance systems in production cars.

At the RMC, SGM is used for environment modeling from satellite, aerial and multicopter images as well as the workspace analysis of robots like ROMO. A real-time FPGA implementation is used for autonomous navigation of flying, walking and crawling robots as well as for planetary rovers.

Selected References

  • Heiko Hirschmüller (2008), Stereo Processing by Semi-Global Matching and Mutual Information, in IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Volume 30(2), February 2008, pp. 328-341.
  • Heiko Hirschmüller and Daniel Scharstein (2009), Evaluation of Stereo Matching Costs on Images with Radiometric Differences, in IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Volume 31(9), September 2009, pp. 1582-1599.
  • Annett Stelzer, Heiko Hirschmüller and Martin Görner (2012), Stereo-Vision-Based Navigation of a Six-Legged Walking Robot in Unknown Rough Terrain, in the International Journal of Robotics Research, Special Issue on Robot Vision, Volume 31, Issue 4, pp. 381-402.
  • Korbinian Schmid, Teodor Tomic, Felix Ruess, Heiko Hirschmüller and Michael Suppa (2013), Stereo Vision based indoor/outdoor Navigation for Flying Robots, IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS), November 2013, Tokyo Japan, Robocup Best Paper Award!

Computer Vision Toolkit (cvkit)

The cvkit software package is offered for supporting an easy exchange and analysis of computer vision data including images in floating point format and 3D data like point clouds or triangle meshes. The toolkit targets researchers as well as interested groups and individuals. It is also especially useful for working with the Middlebury stereo and multi-view data.

sv is a simple / scientific image viewer that can display monochrome and color images with 8 and 16 bit integer as well as 32 bit float values as data types per color channel. Functions include showing monochrome images with color encoding, defining radiometric ranges, zooming and automatically reloading images (Linux only). For image comparison, settings like zoom, radiometric range, etc, can be kept while switching between images. Depth images (full or parts) with associated camera parameter files can be visualized on-the-fly in 3D. sv natively supports the pgm, ppm and pfm image formats as well as tiff with 8 and 16 bit integer and 32 bit float values. Tiff, jpg, png, gif and many other raster data formats are supported through optional libraries like GDAL.

plyv is a simple but pretty fast viewer for colored point clouds and meshes with per vertex coloring, shading and texture images. It also supports on-the-fly conversion and visualization of depth images and cameras. plyv is based on OpenGL and can cope with big data sets that consist of many million vertices and triangles. Mainly the ply format is supported, which has been invented at Stanford University as an extendable format for storing vertices and polygons together with additional information. It is especially useful for scanned real-world data.

NOTE: The toolkit does not contain SGM or any other stereo method and we do not offer SGM as source code or binary.

Download cvkit

Linux / Source: cvkit-1.5.0-src.tgz

Windows: cvkit-1.5.0-win32.zip

 


Contact
Dr. Heiko Hirschmüller
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics
, Perception and Cognition
Tel: +49 8153 28-3316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Heiko.Hirschmueller@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-9389/16104_read-39811/

Semi-Global Matching



 

Kirche Seefeld
3D Rekonstruktion mit SGM

Semi-Global Matching (SGM) ist ein dichtes Stereomatching Verfahren, welches zur genauen 3D Rekonstruktion aus Bildpaaren genutzt werden kann. SGM versucht dabei für jeden Pixel eine Korrespondenz im anderen Bild zu finden. Dies wird durch eine globale Kostenfunktion unterstützt, welche entlang von 8 Pfadrichtungen über das Bild optimiert wird. Die Methode hat eine reguläre algorithmische Struktur und nutzt einfache Operationen. In der Kernschleife sind dies lediglich Additionen und Vergleiche ganzer Zahlen. Dadurch werden parallele Implementierungen auf der Grafikkarte oder einem FPGA möglich, welche sich für Echtzeitanwendungen eignen. Obwohl SGM in internationalen Vergleichen, in denen nur die Qualität bewertet wird, nicht mehr zu den führenden Methoden gehört (siehe Middlebury Benchmark und KITTI), ist die gute Mischung aus Geschwindigkeit, Parallelisierbarkeit, Qualität und Robustheit der Grund für den Erfolg von SGM in der Praxis.

SGM wird unter anderem in der Photogrammetrie eingesetzt. Die Entwicklung vieler kommerzieller photogrammetrische Softwarepakete wurde massiv durch das Erscheinen von SGM beeinflusst. Diese Tatsache wurde durch die Verleihung des Carl Pulfrich Preises 2011 gewürdigt.

SGM wird auch für Fahrerassistenzsysteme genutzt. Das 6D Vision System, welches von Daimler Forschern entwickelt wurde, nutzt eine Echtzeitimplementierung von SGM. Seit Sommer 2013 wird das 6D Vision System als Grundlage diverser kommerziell verfügbarer Fahrerassistenzsysteme in Serienfahrzeugen eingesetzt.

Am RMC wird SGM zur Umgebungsmodellierung aus Satelliten-, Luft- und Multikopterbildern, sowie zur Analyses des Arbeitsbereichs von Robotern wie z.B. ROMO eingesetzt. Eine Echtzeitimplementierung auf einem FPGA wird zur autonomen Navigation von fliegenden, laufenden und krabbelnden Robotern, sowie für planetare Rover genutzt.

Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

  • Heiko Hirschmüller (2008), Stereo Processing by Semi-Global Matching and Mutual Information, in IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Volume 30(2), February 2008, pp. 328-341.
  • Heiko Hirschmüller und Daniel Scharstein (2009), Evaluation of Stereo Matching Costs on Images with Radiometric Differences, in IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence, Volume 31(9), September 2009, pp. 1582-1599.
  • Annett Stelzer, Heiko Hirschmüller und Martin Görner (2012), Stereo-Vision-Based Navigation of a Six-Legged Walking Robot in Unknown Rough Terrain, in the International Journal of Robotics Research, Special Issue on Robot Vision, Volume 31, Issue 4, pp. 381-402.
  • Korbinian Schmid, Teodor Tomic, Felix Ruess, Heiko Hirschmüller und Michael Suppa (2013), Stereo Vision based indoor/outdoor Navigation for Flying Robots, IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS), November 2013, Tokyo Japan, Robocup Best Paper Award!

Computer Vision Toolkit (cvkit)

Das cvkit Softwarepaket wird angeboten um den Austausch und die Analyse von Computer Vision Daten zu vereinfachen. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Bilder mit Fließkommawerten als Daten, sowie 3D Punktwolken und Oberflächenmodelle. Das Toolkit richtet sich an Forscher, aber auch an interessierte Personen und Gruppen. Es ist auch insbesondere nützlich beim Umgang mit den Stereo und Multi-View Daten des Middlebury College.

sv ist ein einfaches, wissenschaftliches Bildanzeigeprogram, welches Monochrome und Farbbilder mit 8 und 16 Bit Ganzzahlen, sowie 32 Bit Fließkommawerten als Datentypen pro Farbkanal anzeigen kann. Der Funktionsumfang beinhaltet die Anzeige von farbkodierten Monochrombildern, die Definition von radiometrischen Bereichen, Skalieren und automatisches Nachladen von Bildern (letzteres nur unter Linux). Zum Vergleich von Bildern können Einstellungen wie Zoom, radiometrische Bereiche, etc, beim Wechsel zwischen Bildern beibehalten werden. Tiefenbilder (oder Teile davon) mit zusätzlichen Kameraparameterdateien können direkt in 3D dargestellt werden. sv unterstützt das pgm, ppm und pfm Bildformat, sowie tiff mit 8 und 16 Bit Ganzzahlwerten und 32 Bit Fließkommawerten. Tiff, jpg, png, gif und viele andere Rasterdatenformate werden durch optionale Bibliotheken, wie z.B. GDAL unterstützt.

plyv ist ein einfacher aber ziemlich schneller Viewer für farbige Punktwolken und Dreicksnetze die mit punktweisen Farben, schattiert oder mit Texturbildern angezeigt werden können. Es unterstützt auch eine direkte Anzeige von Tiefenbildern mit Kameraparameterdateien. plyv basiert auf OpenGL und kann relativ große Modelle mit vielen Millionen Punkten und Dreiecken anzeigen. Im Wesentlichen wird das ply Format unterstützt, welches von der Universität Stanford als erweiterbares Format zur Speicherung von Punkten und Dreiecken entwickelt wurde. Es ist insbesondere für reale, gescannte Daten nützlich.

HINWEIS: Das Toolkit enthält keinen Code von SGM oder einer anderen Stereomethode. SGM wird weder im Sourcecode noch binär angeboten.

Download cvkit

Linux / Source: cvkit-1.5.1-src.tgz

Windows: cvkit-1.5.1-win32.zip

 


Kontakt
Dr. Heiko Hirschmüller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik
, Perzeption und Kognition
Tel: +49 8153 28-3316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1134

E-Mail: Heiko.Hirschmueller@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rmc/rm/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-9389/16104_read-39811/