DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Text version|Newsletter|Impressum|Site map|Contact us   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archive
News archive until 2007

Moon in the night

20 April 2007

 Saturn moons Enceladus and Tethys in the night
zum Bild Saturn moons Enceladus and Tethys in the night

Enceladus (505 kilometres across) and Tethys (1,071 kilometres across) appear close together in the sky in this image, but in reality, Tethys was more than 260,000 kilometres farther from the Cassini spacecraft - greater than half the distance from Earth to the Moon. Enceladus is easy to identify by the brilliant plume of ice erupting from its south pole.

Although this perspective views the night sides of both moons, the Sun is not the only source of illumination in the Saturn system. Tethys is at a fuller phase with respect to Saturn, and thus its "night side" is more fully lit than that of Enceladus.

The view was acquired from a Sun-Enceladus-spacecraft, or phase, angle of 163 degrees, a viewing geometry in which the microscopic ice particles in its plume brighten substantially.

The image was taken in visible light with the Cassini spacecraft narrow-angle camera on 6 June 2006 at a distance of approximately 3.9 million kilometres from Enceladus and 4.2 million kilometres from Tethys. Image scale is 23 kilometres per pixel on Enceladus and 25 kilometres on Tethys.


Created: 20/04/2007 11:20:00
Related Articles
Copyright © 2014 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.

DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Textversion|Newsletter|Impressum|Site map|Kontakt   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archiv
News-Archiv bis 2007

Saturnmonde bei Nacht

20. April 2007

 Saturnmonde Enceladus und Tethys bei Nacht
zum Bild Saturnmonde Enceladus und Tethys bei Nacht

Die beiden Saturnmonde Enceladus (505 Kilometer Durchmesser) und Tethys (1.071 Kilometer Durchmesser) scheinen auf diesem Bild dicht beieinander zu stehen. Tatsächlich war Tethys zum Zeitpunkt der Aufnahme mehr als 260.000 Kilometer weiter von der Cassini-Sonde entfernt als Enceladus. Das entspricht mehr als der Hälfte der Entfernung von der Erde zum Mond. Enceladus ist auf diesem Bild durch die strahlende Fontäne aus aufsteigenden Eiskristallen an seinem Südpol einfach zu identifizieren.

Obwohl das Bild die beiden Monde von ihrer Nachtseite zeigt, ist die Sonne nicht die einzige Lichtquelle im Saturnsystem. Tethys ist in einer volleren Phase im Vergleich zu Saturn, daher ist seine Nachtseite stärker beleuchtet als die von Enceladus.

Diese Ansicht wurde unter einem Winkel von 163 Grad zwischen Sonne, Enceladus und Cassini-Sonde gemacht. Bei dieser geometrischen Anordnung erscheinen die mikroskopischen Eispartikel besonders hell.

Das Bild wurde am 6. Juni 2006 im sichtbaren Lichtspektrum mit der Telekamera an Bord der Cassini-Raumsonde aufgenommen. Die Entfernung zu Enceladus betrug etwa 3,9 Millionen Kilometer, die Entfernung zu Tethys etwa 4,2 Millionen Kilomter. Die Skalierung liegt bei 23 Kilometer pro Pixel (Bildpunkt) auf Enceladus und 25 Kilometer pro Pixel auf Tethys.


Erstellt am: 20.04.2007 11:20:00 Uhr
Artikel zum Thema
Copyright © 2014 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.