Out of the Classroom - into the Lab!

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is one of Europe's largest and most modern research institutions. Here is where the aircraft of the future are being developed and pilots trained, rocket engines tested and images of distant planets analyzed. In addition, ca. 8,000 DLR staff members are investigating next-generation high-speed trains, environmentally responsible methods of generating energy, and much more ...

 

 Collapsed slope on Mars. The difference in altitude between the valley floor and the plateau is over 9,000 meters. The image was recorded with a special camera developed at DLR Berlin and installed on the Mars Express probe.
zum Bild Collapsed slope on Mars. The difference in altitude between the valley floor and the plateau is over 9,000 meters. The image was recorded with a special camera developed at DLR Berlin and installed on the Mars Express probe.

One main area of activity at DLR in Berlin is investigating our solar system and developing the optical instruments necessary to do this. Learning about the formation of planets like Mars and other heavenly bodies and how they change over time help us to better understand the evolution of our own planet Earth.

Another major field of interest in Berlin is transportation research. Solving everyday problems like how to avoid traffic jams helps to assure that people and goods keep moving, also in the future.

At the DLR_School_Lab students are introduced in a manner suitable for their age level to topics which are under active investigation at DLR in Berlin, such as planetary research, optical information systems and transportation research. Under the expert guidance of experienced tutors, students can become researchers by conducting on their own fascinating experiments related to current research topics.

 

 DLR measurement span installed on Ernst-Ruska-Ufer in Berlin-Adlershof for traffic research.
zum Bild DLR measurement span installed on Ernst-Ruska-Ufer in Berlin-Adlershof for traffic research.

These include experiments under microgravity conditions, or using infrared radiation, or creating images with a three-dimensional effect - using exactly the same principle behind the stereo camera developed in Berlin and which has for years been transmitting brilliant 3D images of the surface of Mars. Other experiments reveal how navigation systems function, show how traffic light phases on busy intersections can be safely manipulated, or examine alternative energy sources.

All these experiments are designed to stimulate the interest of young people in natural sciences and technology. We do this by making available our know-how and experiments, some of which are quite complex and not easily possible to carry out in the classroom.

Click here to sign up for a visit


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1730/10724_read-24165/

Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist eine der größten und modernsten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas. Hier werden Flugzeuge der Zukunft entwickelt und Piloten trainiert, Raketentriebwerke getestet und Bilder von fernen Planeten ausgewertet. Außerdem forschen die ca. 8.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR an Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen der nächsten Generation und an umweltfreundlichen Verfahren zur Energiegewinnung - und vieles mehr ...

 Abgerutschter Hang auf dem Mars. Der Höhenunterschied zwischen Tal und Hochebene beträgt über 9000 Meter. Das Bild wurde mit einer im DLR Berlin entwickelten Spezialkamera auf der Sonde Mars Express aufgenommen.
zum Bild Abgerutschter Hang auf dem Mars. Der Höhenunterschied zwischen Tal und Hochebene beträgt über 9000 Meter. Das Bild wurde mit einer im DLR Berlin entwickelten Spezialkamera auf der Sonde Mars Express aufgenommen.

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten am DLR-Standort Berlin ist die Erforschung unseres Sonnensystems einschließlich der Entwicklung der dafür nötigen optischen Sensoren. Die Erkenntnisse über die Entstehung und Veränderung von Planeten wie dem Mars und anderen Himmelskörpern ermöglichen es auch, die Entwicklung der Erde besser zu verstehen.

Ein weiterer großer Tätigkeitsbereich des Standortes ist die Verkehrsforschung. Die Lösung alltäglicher Probleme, beispielsweise die Verhinderung von Staus auf den Straßen trägt dazu bei, dass der Personen- und Warentransport auch zukünftig in Bewegung bleibt.

Im DLR_School_Lab Berlin werden Schülerinnen und Schüler altersgerecht an die hier angesiedelten Arbeitsgebiete Planetenforschung, Optische Informationssysteme und Verkehrsforschung herangeführt. Unter fachkundiger Anleitung von erfahrenen Tutoren können die Kinder und Jugendlichen selbst zu Forschern werden, indem sie eigenständig spannende Versuche mit Bezug zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen durchführen.

 DLR-Messstrecke für die Verkehrsforschung am Ernst-Ruska-Ufer in Berlin-Adlershof.
zum Bild DLR-Messstrecke für die Verkehrsforschung am Ernst-Ruska-Ufer in Berlin-Adlershof.

Dazu gehören Experimente in Schwerelosigkeit, mit Infrarot-Strahlung oder über die Erstellung von dreidimensional wirkenden Bildern - genau nach dem gleichen Prinzip der hier entwickelten Stereo-Kamera, die seit Jahren brilliante 3D-Aufnahmen von der Marsoberfläche übermittelt. Andere Versuche erklären die Funktionsweise von Navigationssystemen, erlauben die gefahrlose Manipulation von Ampelschaltungen an vielbefahrenen Straßenkreuzungen oder beleuchten alternative Energiequellen.

Alle Angebote sind darauf ausgelegt, das Interesse junger Menschen an Naturwissenschaften und Technik zu fördern. Dafür stellen wir unser Know-how und teils aufwändige, in der Schule nur schwer zu realisierende Experimente zur Verfügung.

Weiter zur Anmeldung für einen Besuch


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1730/10724_read-24165/