Out of the Classroom - into the Lab!

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is one of Europe's largest and most modern research institutions. Here is where the aircraft of the future are being developed and pilots trained, rocket engines tested and images of distant planets analyzed. In addition, ca. 8,000 DLR staff members are investigating next-generation high-speed trains, environmentally responsible methods of generating energy, and much more ...

 

 How does a helicopter fly a curve?
zum Bild How does a helicopter fly a curve?

The scientists and engineers at DLR in Göttingen are particularly concerned with the subject of "flight", and that's what the DLR_School_Lab Göttingen experiments are about as well. Students are introduced to topics like the "physics of flight" or "flow physics" by experienced tutors before they carry out their own interesting experiments. And we make available for their use the necessary know-how and technical equipment, like helicopter models, high-speed cameras, wind tunnels and water channels. While experimenting, the students learn about current research topics and get acquainted first hand with the day-to-day work of a researcher.

Among other activities, DLR engineers are developing technologies for the aircraft of the future, which are supposed to be low in pollutants, quiet and safe. There are numerous experiment facilities and test stands available, as well as some wind tunnels which are unique worldwide.

 

 Students visiting DLR_School_Lab Göttingen can even use our wind tunnels
zum Bild Students visiting DLR_School_Lab Göttingen can even use our wind tunnels

Besides visiting DLR_School_Lab, students living nearby have the opportunity to participate in a group which meets regularly to construct model aircraft. Under the leadership of experts, participants can build and then fly their own models.

DLR_School_Lab Göttingen offers advanced courses for teachers, so ideas can be shared about how to give stimulating lessons, and so that the knowledge transfer from the world of research to the classroom can be optimized.

Click here to sign up for a visit


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1731/11104_read-25323/

Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist eine der größten und modernsten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas. Hier werden Flugzeuge der Zukunft entwickelt und Piloten trainiert, Raketentriebwerke getestet und Bilder von fernen Planeten ausgewertet. Außerdem forschen die ca. 8.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR an Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen der nächsten Generation und an umweltfreundlichen Verfahren zur Energiegewinnung - und vieles mehr ...

 Wie fliegt ein Hubschrauber eine Kurve?
zum Bild Wie fliegt ein Hubschrauber eine Kurve?

Am DLR-Standort Göttingen befassen sich die Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure insbesondere mit dem Thema "Fliegen", um das es daher auch bei den Experimenten im DLR_School_Lab Göttingen geht. Die Kinder und Jugendlichen werden von erfahrenen Tutoren beispielsweise an die "Physik des Fliegens" oder "Strömungsphysik" herangeführt, ehe sie eigenständig spannende Experimente durchführen. Dabei stellen wir den Nachwuchsforschern das nötige Know-how sowie die technische Ausrüstung wie Hubschraubermodelle, Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras und Wind- und Wasserkanäle zur Verfügung. Während des Experimentierens gewinnen die Schülerinnen und Schüler Kenntnisse über die aktuellen Fragen der Forschung und lernen den Berufsalltag eines Forschers aus nächster Nähe kennen.

In Göttingen entwickeln die Ingenieuere des DLR unter anderem Technologien für das Flugzeug der Zukunft: schadstoffarm, leise und sicher soll es sein. Dazu gibt es hier viele Versuchsanlagen und Prüfstände - und auch einige weltweit einzigartige Windkanäle.

 Sogar Windkanäle können die Jugendlichen im DLR_School_Lab Göttingen nutzen.
zum Bild Sogar Windkanäle können die Jugendlichen im DLR_School_Lab Göttingen nutzen.

Neben einem Besuch im DLR_School_Lab haben Schülerinnen und Schüler aus der Umgebung die Möglichkeit, an der Flugmodellbau-AG teilzunehmen: Die Teilnehmer bauen unter fachkundiger Anleitung eigene Modelle und lassen sie fliegen.

Für Lehrkräfte bietet das DLR_School_Lab Göttingen Fortbildungen an, um den Lehrkräften Anregungen für einen spannenden Unterricht zu geben und den Wissenstransfer zwischen Forschung und Schule zu optimieren.

Weiter zur Anmeldung für einen Besuch


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1731/11104_read-25323/