Out of the Classroom - into the Lab!

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is one of Europe's largest and most modern research institutions. Here is where the aircraft of the future are being developed and pilots trained, rocket engines tested and images of distant planets analyzed. In addition, over 7,700 DLR staff members are investigating next-generation high-speed trains, environmentally responsible methods of generating energy, and much more ...

 

 Touring Mars with the ASURO robot.
zum Bild Touring Mars with the ASURO robot.

At the DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen, school students are introduced in a suitable manner to selected topics such as "robotics", "weather and climate", "infrared and radar measurement technology" and "rockets and satellites". They then conduct experiments on their own under the competent guidance of advanced natural science and engineering students who are supported by a team of staff scientists.

 

 Rocket launch in Oberpfaffenhofen.
zum Bild Rocket launch in Oberpfaffenhofen.

In the experiments we share our expertise and many technologies with the young researchers: sensors, robots, our satellite data archive, a professional workplace for meteorologists, and much more. Only those who carry out investigations themselves find out how fascinating the world of science and research is!

Insights from research and technical innovations are of outstanding importance for daily life: the environment and the atmosphere are investigated and monitored; new navigation systems are developed. But what is it all about? What does high frequency technology exactly mean, or mechatronics? And what is the day-to-day life of a scientist? None of these questions remains unanswered after a visit to DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen.

DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen offers training for teachers to optimize the knowledge transfer between the world of research and natural science instruction in schools.

Click here to sign up for a visit


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1738/10609_read-23762/

Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist eine der größten und modernsten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas. Hier werden Flugzeuge der Zukunft entwickelt und Piloten trainiert, Raketentriebwerke getestet und Bilder von fernen Planeten ausgewertet. Außerdem forschen die über 7.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR an Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen der nächsten Generation und an umweltfreundlichen Verfahren zur Energiegewinnung - und vieles mehr ...

 

 Mit dem ASURO-Roboter über den Mars.
zum Bild Mit dem ASURO-Roboter über den Mars.

Im DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen werden Schülerinnen und Schüler altersgerecht an ausgewählte Themen wie "Robotik", "Wetter und Klima", "Infrarot- und Radarmesstechnik" und "Raketen und Satelliten" herangeführt. Unter fachkundiger Anleitung von StudentInnen der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, hinter denen ein Team aus WissenschaftlerInnen steht, experimentieren die Schülerinnen und Schüler eigenständig.

 

 Raketenstart in Oberpfaffenhofen
zum Bild Raketenstart in Oberpfaffenhofen

Bei den Experimenten stellen wir den jungen Forschern dabei unser Know-how und viele Technologien zur Verfügung: Sensoren, Roboter, unser Satellitendatenarchiv, einen Profiarbeitsplatz für Meteorologen und vieles andere. Nur wer selber forscht, erlebt wie faszinierend die Welt der Wissenschaft und Forschung ist!

Für das alltägliche Leben sind Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung und technische Innovationen von herausragender Bedeutung: Umwelt und Atmosphäre werden erforscht und überwacht, neue Navigationssysteme entwickelt. Doch worum geht es dabei genau? Was bedeutet Hochfrequenztechnik oder Mechatronik? Und wie sieht der Alltag der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus? Keine dieser Fragen bleibt beim Besuch im DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen unbeantwortet.

Für Lehrkräfte bietet das DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen Fortbildungen an, um den Wissenstransfer zwischen Forschung und dem natur- und technikwissenschaftlichen Unterricht zu optimieren.

Weiter zur Anmeldung für einen Besuch


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1738/10609_read-23762/