Flow physics



Seeing the invisible

 Aircraft model in a wind tunnel
zum Bild Aircraft model in a wind tunnel
Why can an airplane fly? How does the air behave that flows around automobiles, trains, buildings or aircraft, and what influence does it have? To be able to answer such questions, scientists first of all had to develop various methods for making flows in water or in air visible.

At the beginning of the 20th century, Ludwig Prandtl carried out experiments with a small channel of water in an attempt to make flow visible. At DLR_School_Lab Göttingen we'll experiment using what's now called a Prandtl water channel. With the help of this simple device the behaviour of water as it flows over and around various profiles can be investigated and we can record images of the flow with a digital camera.

Flow images

A380
Many bodies subjected to the flow of air or water, like chimneys, flagpoles, swimmers, aircraft, trains or motor vehicles, are investigated in flow research. In all experiments investigating flow processes, scientists first try to obtain an overview of the flow behaviour before making any detailed measurements. How does the flow behave? Where do eddies form which could compromise flight safety, for example? Since most flow processes are invisible, we have to devise a way to see them. How can we make processes visible that cannot be directly observed? Like flowing air, for example? At the Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology scientists have developed innovative, contact-free measurement methods for the purpose. In a visit to a wind tunnel you can look over the shoulders of scientists at work.

The Prandtl circulating water channel

At the Prandtl channel students can make eddies visible

On profiles of aircraft wings and other models you can investigate the behaviour of water flow in a Prandtl channel. By putting aluminium flakes on the water surface you can make the flow images (eddies) visible. You'll find out what effect the shape of the model has on flow behaviour. With a digital camera you can record the flow images and discuss them in a team.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1843/2631_read-4050/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
A frisbee in a Prandtl channel (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/videos/go/prandtl_frisb.mpg)
The Prandtl channel (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/videos/go/prandtl-kanal.mpg)
Experiment description Flow physics (German only) (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/go/prandtl.pdf)

Strömungsphysik



Das Unsichtbare sichtbar machen

 Flugzeugmodell im Windkanal
zum Bild Flugzeugmodell im Windkanal

Warum kann ein Flugzeug fliegen? Wie verhält sich die Luft, die PKWs, Züge, gebäude oder Flugzeuge umströmt und welchen Einfluss hat sie? Um diese Fragen beantworten zu können, haben Wissenschaftler zunächst verschiedene Methoden entwickelt, die Strömung im Wasser oder in der Luft sichtbar zu machen.

Bereits zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts hat Ludwig Prandtl an einem kleinen Wasserkanal Experimente zur Strömungssichtbarmachung durchgeführt. Im DLR_School_Lab Göttingen experimentieren wir an einem solchen Prandtl-Kanal. Mit Hilfe dieses einfachen Wasserkanals kann das Strömungsverhalten von Wasser an verschiedenen Profilen untersucht werden. Mit einer Digitalkamera werden Strömungsbilder aufgenommen.

Strömungsbilder

A380

Viele Körper, die von Luft oder Wasser umströmt werden, wie z.B. Schornsteine, Fahnenstangen, Schwimmer, Flugzeuge, Züge oder PKWs, werden in der Strömungsforschung untersucht. Bei allen Experimenten zu Strömungsvorgängen verschaffen sich Wissenschaftler zu Beginn einen Überblick über das Strömungsverhalten, bevor sie detaillierter messen. Wie verhält sich die Strömung? Wo entstehen Wirbel, die z.B. die Flugsicherheit beinflussen? Da die meisten Strömungsvorgänge unsichtbar verlaufen, müssen sie sichtbar gemacht werden. Wie kann man Vorgänge sichtbar machen, die sich der direkten Beobachtung entziehen? Strömende Luft zum Beispiel? Im Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik haben Wissenschaftler neue berührungslose Messmethoden dazu entwickelt. Bei einem Windkanalbesuch könnt Ihr den Wissenschaftlern vor Ort über die Schulter schauen.

Der Prandtl'sche Wasserumlaufkanal

Am Prandt-Kanal machen Schüler Wirbel sichtbar

An Flugzeugflügelprofilen und anderen Modellkörpern könnt Ihr im Prandtl-Kanal das Verhalten von Wasserströmungen untersuchen. Durch Aufbringen von Aluminiumflocken auf die Wasseroberfläche werden die Strömungsbilder, d.h. die Wirbel, sichtbar. Ihr werdet feststellen, welche Bedeutung die Form des Modells für das Strömungsverhalten hat. Mit einer Digitalkamera könnt Ihr die Strömungsbilder aufnehmen und im Team besprechen.

 

 

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1843/2631_read-4050/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/as
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Ein Frisbee im Prandtl-Kanal (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/videos/go/prandtl_frisb.mpg)
Der Prandtl-Kanal (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/videos/go/prandtl-kanal.mpg)
Experiment­beschreibung Strömungsphysik (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/go/prandtl.pdf)