Mission to Mars



 Mars
zum Bild Mars

Mars, the next planet you encounter when journeying away from the Sun, has fascinated people since ancient times due to its red colour. This led to the planet being assigned to the Roman God of War. After having sent man to the Moon, the next possible destination for us within our solar system would be Mars, as conditions on Venus, the planet usually closest to us, are too life-threatening.

Before we send humans to Mars, we have to know exactly what conditions they are likely to encounter there. Numerous probes have orbited Mars in the last 50 years and have sent precise pictures of the planet’s surface to Earth. Today, it is possible to make Mars globes that are just as accurate as those we have of Earth.

 The Gale crater: Curiosity’s landing site and research area
zum Bild The Gale crater: Curiosity’s landing site and research area

But not everything on Mars can be explored from a great height. Robots – or Mars rovers – have landed on the surface of Mars. The most recent rover to have landed on Mars is also the largest so far: Curiosity landed in August 2012. How can we steer these robots? How can we make sure they carry out their research where we want them to? And how can we prevent them from falling into a hole or getting trapped between two rocks?

 Mars rover Curiosity is a mobile laboratory. One of its tasks is searching for traces of life.
zum Bild Mars rover Curiosity is a mobile laboratory. One of its tasks is searching for traces of life.

Our experiment will show you that steering a Mars rover in an unknown environment is not so easy, particularly when you have only the robot’s “eyes” to see with. Things become even more difficult if we send our signals with a few seconds delay. How hard would it be to work around 3 to 20 minutes delay? There is no around it: Mars rovers need to be equipped with enough “intelligent” commands for them to be able to make decisions by themselves.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1918/2803_read-35681/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment description
Mission to Mars (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/kp/Experimentbeschreibung_mission_to_mars_EN_140123.pdf)

Mission to Mars



 Der Planet Mars
zum Bild Der Planet Mars
Mars, der äußere Nachbar der Erde ist schon in der Antike den Menschen wegen seiner rötlichen Färbung aufgefallen. Sie ordneten diesen Himmelskörper dem Kriegsgott zu. Nachdem die Menschen den Mond erreicht haben, wäre der Mars das nächstmögliche Ziel in unserem Sonnensystem, denn die Bedingungen auf der meistens näheren Venus sind zu lebensfeindlich.

Bevor man Menschen auf die Reise zum Mars schickt, muss man die Bedingungen, die sie dort erwarten, genau erkunden. Zahlreiche Sonden haben in den letzten 50 Jahren den Mars umkreist und genaue Bilder der Oberfläche zur Erde gefunkt. Man kann heute Marsgloben herstellen, die ebenso genau sind wie Erdgloben.

 Der Gale-Krater: Landeplatz und Untersuchungsgebiet von 'Curiosity'
zum Bild Der Gale-Krater: Landeplatz und Untersuchungsgebiet von "Curiosity"
Aber nicht alles kann man aus großer Höhe untersuchen. Roboter, sogenannte Mars-Rover, wurden auf der Oberfläche abgesetzt. Zuletzt der bisher größte Rover "Curiosity" im August 2012. Wie steuert man solche Roboter? Wie bringt man sie dazu, die vorgesehenen Messungen an den richtigen Stellen durchzuführen? Und wie verhindert man, dass sie sich zwischen Felsen verkeilen oder in ein Loch fallen?

 Der Mars-Rover 'Curiosity' ist ein fahrendes Laboratorium. Er soll unter anderem nach Spuren von Leben suchen.
zum Bild Der Mars-Rover "Curiosity" ist ein fahrendes Laboratorium. Er soll unter anderem nach Spuren von Leben suchen.
Im Experiment werdet Ihr sehen, dass es gar nicht so einfach ist, einen Mars-Rover zu steuern und sich in unbekannter Umgebung zurechtzufinden, wenn man nur mit den "Augen" des Roboters sieht. Noch schwieriger wird es, wenn wir die Steuersignale mit nur wenigen Sekunden Verzögerung aussenden. Wie wäre das bei 3 bis 20 Minuten Verzögerung? Es hilft nichts: Wir müssen einem Mars-Roboter so viele "intelligente" Anweisungen mitgeben, dass er selbst entscheiden kann.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1918/2803_read-35681/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment­beschreibung Mission to Mars (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/kp/mission_to_mars_120821.pdf)