Flight Team Simulator



Team training for emergencies

Investigating the earth, its environment and climate from an aircraft while in flight places extremely high demands on a cockpiut crew. Within just a few minutes they have to routinely carry out flight patterns while flying through a succession of distinct air layers, and be capable of total concentration in storms or when flying at very low altitudes. Test dangerous borderline situations safely in a flight simulator and learn about the multitude of tasks associated with flight preparation, guidance and navigation.

Dassault Falcon 20, twin engine jet with pressurized cabin
Operating research aircraft

Aircraft have important applications in science and research. This includes the two DLR research aircraft ATTAS and Falcon, which are being employed to find out more about a much feared aerodynamic problem - the dangerous eddies which form behind moving aircraft. As part of a European project these planes are demonstrating how these so-called wake vortices, which are highly dangerous for following aircraft, can be investigated from the air. With its ten planes DLR maintains the largest fleet of research aircraft in Europe.

Soon passenger aircraft will be taking over some of the research tasks. DLR is developing in international cooperation a very efficient suite of instruments for the purpose. During scheduled flights the concentration of various trace gases like ozone, water vapour, carbon monoxide and nitrogen oxides is to be measured.

Is flying difficult?

In the DLR_School_Lab simulator with "X-Plane" software you'll feel as if you were in a cockpit. It's used to train pilots. Plan a measurement campaign and carry it out in a simulation. A data log will register important characteristics of the atmosphere like air pressure and temperature. Discuss and evaluate the results together. Why is a copilot essential for controlling a plane? Why do you need an ILS (instrument landing system) for safe landing? How do pilots orient themselves via radio transmission?

You'll take off into the physics of flight. And find out in the process why it's easy for birds and aircraft to fly.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4397/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/fb/en/desktopdefault.aspx
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment description Flight Team Simulator (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/Flight_Team_Simulator_korrigiert_04.11.pdf)

Flugteam-Simulator



Teamtraining für den Ernstfall

Erde, Umwelt und Klima im Flug erkunden - das stellt enorme Ansprüche an die Cockpit-Crew. Wie im Schlaf muss sie Flugmuster in exakt übereinander liegenden Luftetagen in ein paar Minuten fliegen können und höchste Konzentration aufbringen, bei Gewitter oder in extrem niedriger Flughöhe. Erprobt risikolos gefährliche Grenzsituationen im Flugsimulator und lernt die vielseitigen Aufgaben der Flugvorbereitung, Steuerung und Navigation kennen.

Forschungsflugzeuge im Einsatz

Dassault Falcon 20, zweistrahliger Jet mit Druckkabine

Flugzeuge leisten wichtige Einsätze für Wissenschaft und Forschung. Auch die beiden DLR Forschungsflugzeuge ATTAS und Falcon sind einem gefürchteten aerodynamischen Problem auf der Spur - den Luftwirbeln hinter Flugzeugen. Im Rahmen eines europäischen Projektes demonstrierten sie, wie sich die für nachfolgende Maschinen lebensgefährlichen Wirbel von der Luft aus näher erforschen lassen. Mit zehn Fliegern unterhält das DLR die größte Flotte von Forschungsflugzeugen in Europa.

Bald sollen auch Linienflugzeuge Forschungsaufgaben übernehmen. Das DLR entwickelt hierfür in internationaler Kooperation ein hoch effizientes Paket aus Instrumenten. Während des Passagierfluges soll es die Konzentration verschiedener Spurenstoffe wie Ozon, Wasserdampf, Kohlenmonoxid und Stickoxide messen.

Wie schwer ist fliegen?

Im DLR_School_Lab Simulator mit der "X-Plane"-Software fühlt Ihr Euch wie im Flieger. Sie wird in der Pilotenausbildung eingesetzt. Plant in einer Simulation einen Messflug und führt ihn durch. Dabei registriert ein Datenlogger wichtige Eigenschaften der Atmosphäre wie Luftdruck und Temperatur. Gemeinsam diskutieren und werten wir die Ergebnisse aus. Warum ist der Copilot zur Stereurung eines Flugzeuges unentbehrlich? Warum auch das ILS ("Instrument Landing System") zur sicheren Landung? Wie orientieren sich die Piloten über Funk?

Ihr werdet durchstarten in die Physik des Fliegens. Dabei wird Euch klar, wieso es für Vögel und Flugzeuge ein Leichtes ist zu fliegen.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4397/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/fb/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment­beschreibung Flug­team-Simulator (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/SL-OP-Experimentbeschreibung_Flugteam-Simulator_FINAL.pdf)