Weather and Climate



What ingredients are needed for a modern weather forecast?

Our lives are greatly influenced by weather and the climate. We want to know whether it's going to rain today, be stormy tomorrow, or if the sun will be shining on the weekend. We wonder whether or not the atmosphere is really getting warmer permanently.

How can we predict the weather and the climate?

Looking ahead is possible with three 'ingredients'. We take physical laws, global measurements of pressure, temperature, wind and humidity, plus a really fast computer. Then we mix all the ingredients at a professional workplace for meteorologists. The result? A weather prognosis for a whole week, not only for Bavaria and Germany, but for the entire globe!

The atmosphere is always changing - precise measurements call for modern technology

We call the momentary situation weather, whereas the longer-term behavior goes by the name of climate. And because we don't like to be surprised by the weather, we investigate it very precisely and collect basic data needed to forecast it. Important information on the atmosphere is brought together from a worldwide network of the latest measurement technology, on the ground, in the air around us, and up in space. And it's not only weather stations, weather balloons, satellites, aircraft, and radar networks which are busy at work around the clock.

What's the difference between a present-day meteorologist and grandma's intuition?

At DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen we discuss what role distances like the earth's circumference, the location of weather satellites, or the altitude of the layer of air responsible for the weather play in weather forecasts. At an actual workplace for meteorologists you can monitor the current weather yourselves and call up the latest forecasts for the coming week for lots of places around the world. In order to do this, you'll concentrate on high winds, cloud types, the nature of the precipitation (whether it's a drizzle, snow, a shower or a thunderstorm), and the temperature conditions over the whole Northern Hemisphere. That even beats grandma!

Further information: Polarimetric Doppler Radar (POLDIRAD)


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4400/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.daserste.de/moma/livebeitrag_dyn~uid,0gl8xzfrh1cz4mem~cm.asp
http://www.geo.de/GEO/natur/oekologie/841.html
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment description Weather and Climate (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/Weather_and_Climate_korrigiert_04.11.pdf)

Wetter und Klima



Welche Zutaten braucht eine moderne Wettervorhersage?

Unser Leben wird stark beeinflusst durch Wetter und Klima. Wir wollen wissen, ob es heute regnet, morgen stürmt und ob übermorgen die Sonne scheint. Wir fragen uns, ob sich die Atmosphäre wirklich dauerhaft erwärmt.

Wie können wir Wetter und Klima vorhersagen?

Den Blick voraus ermöglichen drei "Zutaten" - wir nehmen physikalische Gesetze, weltweite Messungen von Druck, Temperatur, Wind, Feuchte und sehr schnelle Rechner. Am Profi-Arbeitsplatz für Meteorologen mischen wir unsere Zutaten. Das Ergebnis: Die Vorherberechnung des Wetters einer ganzen Woche nicht nur in Bayern und Deutschland, sondern rund um den Globus!

Die Atmosphäre ändert sich laufend - genaue Messungen erfordern moderene Technik

Ihren aktuellen Zustand nennen wir Wetter, ihr langfristiges Verhalten nennen wir Klima. Und weil wir uns nicht so gerne vom Wetter überraschen lassen, erforschen wir es sehr genau. Wir sammeln notwendige Eckdaten zur Berechnung von Wettervorhersagen. Über ein weltweites Netz modernster Messtechnik werden vom Boden, aus der Luft und vom Weltraum aus wichtige Informationen zur Atmosphäre erhoben. Dabei sind nicht nur Wetterhütten, Wetterballons, Satelliten, Flugzeuge und Radarnetze rund um die Uhr im Dienst.

Was unterscheidet den modernen Wetterforscher vom Wetterfrosch?

Im DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen diskutieren wir, welche Rolle Entfernungen wie Erdumfang, Position von Wettersatelliten und Höhe der wetteraktiven Schicht bei der Wettervorhersage spielen. Am Original-Arbeitsplatz für Meteorologen könnt Ihr dann selbst das aktuelle Wetter überwachen und frische Wochenvorhersagen für viele Orte auf der Erde abrufen. Ihr konzentriert Euch dabei beispielsweise auf Winde in der Höhe, Wolkentypen, die Art des Niederschlags (ob Nieselregen, Schnee, Regenschauer oder Gewitter) oder die Temperaturverhältnisse auf der gesamten Nordhalbkugel. Ein Wetterfrosch kann derlei bestenfalls erahnen!

Weitere Informationen: Polarisations Doppler Radar (POLDIRAD)


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4400/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.daserste.de/moma/livebeitrag_dyn~uid,0gl8xzfrh1cz4mem~cm.asp
http://www.geo.de/GEO/natur/oekologie/841.html
http://www.dlr.de/pa
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment­beschreibung Wetter und Klima (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/Experimentbeschreibung_Wetter-und-Klima_Stand-10-12-2010.pdf)