Radar Measurement Technology



Using microwaves

If you want to measure the distance between the earth and the moon accurately to 15 cm, you won't get far with a tape measure. And the velocity of a speeding automobile is hard to determine with a stopwatch. Where simple tools fail, radar measurement technology can provide a solution. At DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen a radar system which measures distance and velocity is ready and waiting for you. Find out how it works and discover the strengths and weaknesses of this technology.

By the time your experiment is over, you'll know how to detect objects with the help of microwaves, how to locate something, how to determine your velocity and in which direction you're moving, and even how to monitor air traffic.

You can count on radar regardless of the weather

Compared with optical and acoustic measurement, radar has considerable advantages. These are a consequence of how radar works. Radar actively sends out microwaves. The objects hit by these waves reflect them back, and at the places where these "echos" are captured they are systematically evaluated. The special characteristics of microwaves make it possible to use radar systems in all kinds of weather, day and night.

Forget deception tactics if it's radar that's measuring the distance and velocity

At DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen it's fun to experiment. Discover how intelligent radar technology adjusts its approach to suit a particular task. How does it measure distances, and how can it find out velocities? In the first case a comparison between the emitted and reflected frequency plays a big role. In the second case, it's the Doppler effect that is decisive. In both cases, electromagnetic waves reach their target at the speed of light - But we're not revealing more just yet.

Further information: Airborne radar system


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4403/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/hr/en/desktopdefault.aspx
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment description Radar Measurement Technology (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/Radar_Measurement_Technology_korrigiert_04.11.pdf)

Radarmesstechnik



Mikrowellen im Einsatz

Möchtet Ihr die Entfernung der Erde zum Mond auf 15 Zentimeter genau messen, kommt Ihr mit dem Maßband nicht weit. Und die Geschwindigkeit des rasenden Autos könnt Ihr auch nur schwerlich mit der Stoppuhr feststellen. Wo einfache Hilfsmittel versagen, hilft die Radarmesstechnik erfolgreich weiter. Im DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen steht ein Radarsystem zur Entfernungs- und Geschwindigkeitsmessung für Euch bereit. Probiert, wie es funktioniert und findet die Stärken und Schwächen dieser Technik heraus.

Am Ende Eurer Experimente werdet Ihr wissen, wie man mit Hilfe von Mikrowellen Objekte aufspüren, orten, ihre Geschwindigkeit und ihre Bewegungsrichtung ermitteln und sogar den gesamten Flugverkehr überwachen kann.

Auf Radar ist Verlass bei Wind und Wetter

Radar bietet gegenüber optischen und akustischen Messverfahren erhebliche Vorteile. Diese leiten sich aus seiner Arbeitsweise ab: Aktiv strahlt es Mikrowellen aus. Die Gegenstände in seinem Strahlungsfeld werfen die auf sie fallenden Strahlen zurück. Am Ort des Empfangs werden diese Strahlen, man nennt sie auch das "Echo", systematisch ausgewertet. Die besonderen Eigenschaften der Mikrowellen machen das Radarsystem allwettertauglich bei Tag und Nacht.

Täuschungsversuch zwecklos: Radar misst Entfernung und Geschwindigkeit

Im DLR_School_Lab Oberpfaffenhofen macht Experimentieren Spaß: Entdeckt wie intelligent Radarmesstechnik ihre Arbeitsweise der jeweiligen Aufgabe anpasst. Wie misst sie Entfernungen und wie kommt sie der Geschwindigkeit auf die Spur? Im ersten Fall spielt der Abgleich zwischen ausgestrahlter und reflektierter Frequenz eine große Rolle. Im zweiten Fall kommt dem so genannten Dopplereffekt eine entscheidende Funktion zu. In beiden Fällen erreichen elektromagnetische Wellen mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit ein Ziel. Aber mehr verraten wir nicht!

Weitere Informationen: Flugzeug getragenes Radarsystem


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4403/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/hr
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment­beschreibung Radar­mess­technik (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/SL-OP-Experimentbeschreibung_Radarmesstechnik_FINAL.pdf)