Robotics



ASURO Another Unique and Small Robot from Oberpfaffenhofen

"Robot" is from a Czech word meaning "worker". And robots are made to work, carrying out tasks that people don't want to do, or cannot do, themselves. There's lots to do for these laborers made of steel and sheetmetal.

As industrial robots they populate industrial assembly lines, painting cars, operating welding equipment and transporting heavy components. Worldwide they help us to crack human genetic codes and search for effective medications. In the operating room they are remotely controlled by doctors to carry out complicated operations or assist surgeons as tireless, intelligent cameramen. They shear sheep for farmers. In the house they dust furniture and outside they mow the lawn. Robots even defuse bombs and are helpful in space: the robots "Spirit" and its twin "Opportunity" were put to work travelling around on Mars in order to have a close look at it for us.

Get acquainted with one of the mobile robots! You'll learn some of the basics of mechanics, electronics and information technology. Try it yourself. Put together the little wheeled "ASURO" and give him a job to do. If afterward he can independently investigate his surroundings, then you've programmed him correctly!

How are we improving the abilities of robots?

Formerly, the emphasis in robotics was on optimizing their use in industrial manufacturing. Today, we're more interested in using robots in science and research. At the German Aerospace Center an important research emphasis is on improving robots for applications in medicine technology. We're also working on developing a new generation of multisensor lightweight robots for use both on earth and in space activities.

How can I breathe life into the little robot "ASURO"?

Try it with teamwork. How? Using tools, a soldering iron and original industrial components. Will he move? What can you teach him? Give it a try. Program him so that he can independently carry out some task you give him. And wonder in the process whether he'll end up doing what you want him to do, or develop his own independent personality!

Further information: Dreams come true at this institute


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4404/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-832/1332_read-2549/1332_page-3/
http://www.dlr.de/rm/en/desktopdefault.aspx
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Experiment description Robotics (http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/Portaldata/24/Resources/dokumente/op/Robotics_korrigiert_04.11.pdf)

Robotik



Roboter - Hilfsarbeiter aus Stahl und Blech

"Roboter" ist ein tschechisches Wort und bedeutet übersetzt "Arbeiter". Und für die Arbeit ist er geschaffen. Er soll Aufgaben erledigen, die Menschen nicht ausführen wollen oder können. Es gibt viel Arbeit für die Hilfsarbeiter aus Stahl und Blech.

Als Industrieroboter säumen sie Produktionsstraßen: lackieren Autos, bedienen Schweißgeräte und handhaben schwere Teile. Sie helfen uns weltweit beim Entschlüsseln der menschlichen Gene und auf der Suche nach hochwirksamen Medikamenten. Als Operationsroboter werden sie von Ärzten bei komplizierten Eingriffen ferngesteuert oder dienen den Chirurgen als ausdauernder intelligenter Kameramann. Den Bauern scheren sie die Schafe. Im Haushalt wischen mobile Roboter Staub und mähen im Garten den Rasen. Roboter entschärfen sogar Bomben und machen sich im Weltall nützlich: So waren die Roboter-Sonde "Spirit" und ihr Zwillings-Roboter "Opportunity" auf dem Mars unterwegs, um ihn für uns Menschen aus der Nähe zu erforschen.

Macht Bekanntschaft mit einem der mobilen Roboter! Ihr lernt Grundlagen der Mechanik, Elektronik und Informatik kennen. Versucht es selbst, baut den kleinen "ASURO" auf Rädern zusammen und erteilt ihm Eure Aufträge. Wenn er am Ende seine Umgebung eigenständig erkundet, dann habt Ihr ihn richtig programmiert!

Was tun wir für das Können der Roboter?

Früher lag der Schwerpunkt der Robotik in der Optimierung des Robotereinsatzes für die industrielle Fertigung. Heute befassen wir uns stärker mit dem Nutzen der Roboter für Wissenschaft und Forschung. Im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt liegt ein bedeutender Schwerpunkt der Forschung in der Verbesserung der Robotik für die Medizintechnik. Weiterhin arbeiten wir an der Entwicklung einer neuen Generation multisensorieller "Leichtgewicht"-Roboter für den Einsatz auf der Erde und in der Raumfahrt.

Wie hauche ich dem kleinen Roboter "ASURO" Leben ein?

Versucht ihn in Teamarbeit aufzubauen. Wie und womit? Mit Werkzeug, Lötkolben und echten Industrieteilen. Wird er sich bewegen? Was lässt er sich beibringen? Probiert es aus: Programmiert ihn so, dass er eine ihm gestellte Aufgabe selbstständig erfüllt. Ihr könnt gespannt sein, ob er am Ende das macht, was er soll, oder sein ganz persönliches Eigenleben entwickelt!

Weitere Informationen: Ein Institut, in dem Träume wahr werden


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1991/2841_read-4404/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-832/1332_read-2549/1332_page-3/
http://www.dlr.de/rm/