Information for Teachers



zum Bild

DLR_School_Lab at TU Hamburg-Harburg is a lively out-of-school learning centre that stimulates long-term interest in the STEM fields and aims to create enthusiasm for research (especially also among girls!). We address students at both cognitive and emotional levels. Either the Aeronautics Lab (since 2004) or the Ship Technology Lab (since 2011) can be booked. The experiments presented are described on this web site (link at left).

The advantages of DLR_School_Lab are that we provide experiments that are not normally done in schools, and that the student visitors are guided by qualified university student tutors who adapt themselves flexibly to the required age level. We can also communicate in English in the case of groups from abroad. One highlight is the realistic real-time simulation of a flight in a Cessna, or, in the case of a visit to the Ship Technology Lab, the simulated guidance of a large ship. The campus atmosphere of a major technical university and a lunchtime visit to the cafeteria (student prices) round off this eventful day of out-of-school learning.

Our lab can be visited by school classes from grades 4-13, whether from the Hamburg metropolitan region or further afield. A visit is free of charge. Groups usually take four hours to complete the programme (from 10 am to 2 pm including a lunch break), which has proved to be adequate. But you can also arrange for a shorter or longer visit, as well as an afternoon visit. Visits are also possible during the Hamburg school breaks.

The teaching material is geared to the Hamburg school curriculum and at the same time extends beyond it. Preparatory and follow-up classroom instruction is desirable but not mandatory, Have a look at the descriptions of the experiments on this web site and decide whether before visiting the Aeronautics Lab, for example, you would like to introduce the important concept of buoyancy. During your visit you receive a copy of the experiment description in flyer form for reviewing the material afterward. Sometimes students can also be motivated after their visit to participate in science competitions.

In addition to the School_Lab, for those in 10th grade and above we are pleased to offer an information session on studying at TUHH – It usually begins around 09:15 am.

In addition to regular School_Lab activities there are numerous special events like Girls‘ Day, Knowledge Night, Technomathematics Activity Days, Summer Camp Shipbuilding, Gyro Gearloose Competition, and the Simulator Specials of the Technology Fascination Club. Let us know if you are interested. For the future the lab is also planning project days for school classes to supplement the regular visits by investigating topics in considerably more depth, Another plan is to bring together particularly gifted and motivated students in a club atmosphere.

Many schools in the Hamburg metropolitan region have ties to TUHH through a partnership agreement and in this way benefit from their proximity to a research institution. We are happy to inform you about this program as well.

Motivated and committed students are always welcome to complete a course of practical training with us. Please send the customary application papers to our mailing address in good time.

 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4965/8289_read-39489/

Informationen für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer



zum Bild

Das DLR_School_Lab an der TU Hamburg-Harburg ist ein lebendiger außerschulischer Lernort, der das Interesse an den MINT- Fächer nachhaltig fördern und (gerade auch Mädchen!) für die Forschung begeistern möchte. Wir sprechen die Schüler sowohl kognitiv wie affektiv an. Wahlweise kann das Labor Luftfahrt (seit 2004) oder das Labor Schifffahrt  (seit 2011) gebucht werden. Die gezeigten Experimente finden Sie auf dieser homepage.

Die Vorzüge des Labors liegen vor allem darin, dass wir Experimente vorhalten, die in der Schule nicht vorhanden sind, und dass die Schüler dabei von qualifizierten Studierenden angeleitet werden. Diese stellen sich flexibel auf das Alter der Schüler ein. Mit Gruppen aus dem Ausland können wir auch auf Englisch kommunizieren. Besonderer Höhepunkt ist die realistische Simulation eines Fluges mit einer Cessna in Echtzeit oder bei  Besuchen des Schiffslabors die Simulation der Führung eines großen Schiffes. Die Campus Atmosphäre einer großen technischen Universität sowie ein Besuch in der Mensa (zu Studentenpreisen) runden das ereignisreiche Lernen am anderen Ort ab.

Unser Labor steht allen Klassenstufen von 4-13 offen, egal ob aus der Metropolregion Hamburg oder darüber hinaus. Der Besuch ist für Sie kostenfrei. In der Regel bringen die Gruppen 4 Stunden Zeit mit für unser Programm (von 10 bis 14 Uhr inkl. Mittagspause), was sich nach unserer Erfahrung gut bewährt hat. Sie können aber auch individuelle Absprachen über kürzere oder längere Besuche sowie Besuche am Nachmittag mit uns treffen. Auch in den Hamburger Schulferien sind Besuche möglich.

Unsere Lerninhalte orientieren sich an den Hamburger Bildungsplänen und weisen gleichzeitig über diese hinaus. Eine Vor- und Nachbereitung  in der Schule ist sinnvoll, aber nicht zwingend. Schauen Sie sich die Experimentbeschreibungen auf dieser Seite an und entscheiden Sie selbst, ob Sie vor dem Besuch des Luftfahrtlabors zum Beispiel den zentralen Begriff des Auftriebs thematisieren möchten. Die Experimentbeschreibungen erhalten Sie bei Ihrem Besuch auch in Flyer- Form zur Nachbereitung. Bisweilen können Schüler im Anschluss an den Besuch auch gut zur Teilnahme an Wettbewerben etc. motiviert werden.

Ab Klasse 10 bieten wir Ihren Schülern gern zusätzlich zum School_Lab eine Studieninformation zu den Möglichkeiten an der TUHH – diese beginnt dann in der Regel um 09:15 Uhr.

Neben dem Regelbetrieb finden im School_ Lab zahlreiche Sonderveranstaltungen statt  wie z.B. Girls Day, Nacht des Wissens, Aktionstage Technomathematik, Sommercamp Schiffbau, Daniel Düsentrieb Wettbewerb oder Simulatoren Specials des Faszination Technik Clubs. Bei Interesse fragen Sie uns gerne. Für die Zukunft plant das Labor auch Projekttage für Schulklassen, die über den Regelbesuch hinausgehen und die Materie deutlich vertiefen würden, sowie die Anbindung besonders begabter und motivierter Schüler in einem Clubformat.

In der Metropolregion sind viele Schulen der TUHH in besonderer Weise verbunden durch einen Kooperationsvertrag und profitieren so von der Nähe zur Forschung. Auch hierüber informieren wir Sie gerne.

Motivierte und engagierte Schülerinnen und Schüler sind stets eingeladen, bei uns ein Schülerpraktikum zu absolvieren. Übliche Bewerbungsunterlagen an unsere Postanschrift sind frühzeitig erbeten.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4965/8289_read-39489/