Out of the Classroom - into the Lab!

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is one of Europe's largest and most modern research institutions. Here is where the aircraft of the future are being developed and pilots trained, rocket engines tested and images of distant planets analyzed. In addition, over 7,700 DLR staff members are investigating next-generation high-speed trains, environmentally responsible methods of generating energy, and much more ...

 

 Robotics - just one of many interesting topics offered at DLR_School_Lab
zum Bild Robotics - just one of many interesting topics offered at DLR_School_Lab

Researching nature, educating people, taking up technological challenges and helping to design a response to the changes our society is undergoing are the core responsibilities of TU Dortmund. Over 22,000 people study at TU Dortmund in 16 faculties. The focus is on the natural and engineering sciences as well as teacher training.

"Chaos in the solar system", "Robotics and virtual worlds", "Future vehicles" - these are just a few of the topics addressed at DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund. Here children and young people can themselves become researchers and explorers by carrying out experiments on their own and informally learning under expert guidance. In this way DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund offers students fascinating and diverse possibilities to become involved with attractive research topics.

 

 Students measuring out chemicals to produce microcapsules
zum Bild Students measuring out chemicals to produce microcapsules

DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund began in 2008 as a joint project of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and Dortmund Technical University. It brings together the fascinating topics investigated at DLR as one of Germany's largest research institutions and at TU Dortmund as an innovative and outstanding university. DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund is sponsored by the North Rhine-Westphalia Ministry of Innovation, Science, Research and Technology as part of its "Future through Innovation" (zdi) initiative.

Based on the well tested DLR_School_Lab concept in operation since 2000, the new student lab was established right on the campus of TU Dortmund. Besides a visit to the student lab itself with its numerous experimental facilities developed and assembled specifically for the children and young people, school classes can also, depending on their age and the scheduling possibilities, tour the large DELTA electron accelerator on the campus.

Click here to sign up for a visit

 

 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5022/10598_read-23689/

Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist eine der größten und modernsten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas. Hier werden Flugzeuge der Zukunft entwickelt und Piloten trainiert, Raketentriebwerke getestet und Bilder von fernen Planeten ausgewertet. Außerdem forschen die über 7.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR an Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen der nächsten Generation und an umweltfreundlichen Verfahren zur Energiegewinnung - und vieles mehr ...

 

 Robotik - nur eines von vielen spannenden Themen, die im DLR_School_Lab angeboten werden.
zum Bild Robotik - nur eines von vielen spannenden Themen, die im DLR_School_Lab angeboten werden.

Natur zu erforschen, Menschen zu bilden, technische Herausforderungen anzunehmen und den damit verbundenen Wandel unserer Gesellschaft mitzugestalten - dies sind die Kernaufgaben der TU Dortmund. An den 16 Fakultäten der TU Dortmund studieren über 22.000 Menschen. Schwerpunkte liegen hier in den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften sowie in der Lehrerbildung.

"Chaos im Sonnensystem", "Robotik und virtuelle Welten", "Fahrzeuge der Zukunft" - das sind nur einige der Themen, die das DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund behandelt. Hier werden die Kinder und Jugendlichen selbst zu Forschern und Entdeckern, indem sie verschiedene Experimente eigenhändig durchführen und dabei unter fachkundiger Anleitung spielerisch lernen. So bietet das DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund Schülerinnen und Schülern faszinierende und vielfältige Möglichkeiten, sich mit spannenden Fragen der Forschung zu befassen.

 

 Schülerinnen messen Chemikalien zur Herstellung von Mikrokapseln ab.
zum Bild Schülerinnen messen Chemikalien zur Herstellung von Mikrokapseln ab.

Das DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund entstand im Jahre 2008 als gemeinsames Projekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Technischen Universität Dortmund. Es kombiniert die attraktiven Themen des DLR als eine der größten Forschungseinrichtungen Deutschlands und der TU Dortmund als moderne und leistungsfähige Hochschule. Gefördert wird das DLR_School_Lab TU Dortmund vom Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Technologie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen im Rahmen der Initiative Zukunft durch Innovation (zdi).

Aufbauend auf dem bereits seit dem Jahre 2000 bewährten Konzept der DLR_School_Labs wurde das neue Schülerlabor direkt auf dem Campus der TU Dortmund angesiedelt. Neben dem Besuch des Labors selbst mit seinen zahlreichen Experimentieranlagen, die eigens für Kinder und Jugendliche entwickelt und aufgebaut wurden, besteht für Schulklassen je nach Altersstufe und Terminlage auch die Möglichkeit, den großen Elektronenbeschleuniger Delta zu besichtigen.

Weiter zur Anmeldung für einen Besuch


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5022/10598_read-23689/