Out of the Classroom - into the Lab!

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is one of Europe's largest and most modern research institutions. Here is where the aircraft of the future are being developed and pilots trained, rocket engines tested and images of distant planets analyzed. In addition, over 7,700 DLR staff members are investigating next-generation high-speed trains, environmentally responsible methods of generating energy, and much more ...

 

 

 Keeping an eye on the oceans: The AlSat satellite with its helical antenna is used to monitor shipping.
zum Bild Keeping an eye on the oceans: The AlSat satellite with its helical antenna is used to monitor shipping.

At DLR_School_Lab Bremen the focus is on aerospace: How can people and technology be put into space and what space conditions have to be taken into account there? How can Earth be monitored from space and how can distant planets, moons and asteroids be investigated? 

 

 The LAMA test facility with its landing and rover equipment. Descents and rover expeditions are simulated here under various gravitational conditions.
zum Bild The LAMA test facility with its landing and rover equipment. Descents and rover expeditions are simulated here under various gravitational conditions.

At the Bremen Institute of Aerospace Systems, following a comprehensive and systematic approach is crucial. Using this integrated approach, young people can even conduct a complete Mars mission at DLR_School_Lab in a team effort, from initial rocket launch and descent onto the Red Planet to robot control and specimen analysis. They discover in the process how mission success depends on the smooth interaction of all systems.

The hands-on experiments on offer come from three areas:

  • Extremes and Dangers in Space
  • Satellite Technology and Remote Sensing
  • Mission to Mars.

The students investigate in these experiments such phenomena as vacuum conditions, microgravity, and space weather. They deal with infrared, radar and attitude regulation and carry out experiments on propulsion technology, landing navigation, robotics and sensor systems. These experiments can also be conducted separately.

 

 What is the sun doing at the moment and how does that affect space weather? You can investigate these questions with the solar telescopes at DLR_School_Lab Bremen.
zum Bild What is the sun doing at the moment and how does that affect space weather? You can investigate these questions with the solar telescopes at DLR_School_Lab Bremen.

These intriguing hands-on experiments acquaint students with ongoing research projects at the German Aerospace Center and lead to fascinating insights into the world of natural science and technology.

Click here to sign up for a visit


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7605/12866_read-32405/

Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist eine der größten und modernsten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas. Hier werden Flugzeuge der Zukunft entwickelt und Piloten trainiert, Raketentriebwerke getestet und Bilder von fernen Planeten ausgewertet. Außerdem forschen die über 7.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR an Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen der nächsten Generation und an umweltfreundlichen Verfahren zur Energiegewinnung - und vieles mehr ...

 

 

 Die Ozeane im Blick: Der AlSat mit Helix-Antenne zur &Uumlberwachung des Schiffsverkehrs.
zum Bild Die Ozeane im Blick: Der AlSat mit Helix-Antenne zur Überwachung des Schiffsverkehrs.

Im DLR_School_Lab Bremen liegt der Schwerpunkt auf dem Thema Raumfahrt: Wie kommen Mensch und Technik ins Weltall und welchen Bedingungen muss man dort gerecht werden? Wie wird die Erde aus dem All beobachtet und wie werden fremde Planeten, Monde und Asteroiden erforscht?

 

 Die Testanlage LAMA mit Lande- und Rovergestell. Hier werden Landungen und Roverfahrten unter verschiedenen Schwerkraftbedingungen simuliert.
zum Bild Die Testanlage LAMA mit Lande- und Rovergestell. Hier werden Landungen und Roverfahrten unter verschiedenen Schwerkraftbedingungen simuliert.

Am Bremer DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme spielt dabei vor allem die umfassende systematische Herangehensweise eine Rolle. Diesem ganzheitlichen Ansatz entsprechend können die Jugendlichen im DLR_School_Lab sogar eine komplette Mars-Mission im Team durchführen - vom Raketenstart über die Landung auf dem Roten Planeten und die Robotersteuerung bis zur Probenanalyse. Dabei erleben sie auch, wie entscheidend das richtige Zusammenspiel für den Erfolg der Mission ist.

Insgesamt lassen sich die hier angebotenen Mitmach-Versuche in drei Themenbereichen zusammenfassen:

  • Extreme und Gefahren im Weltraum,
  • Satellitentechnik und Fernerkundung,
  • Mars-Mission.

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler erforschen dabei Phänomene wie Vakuum, Schwerelosigkeit und Weltraum-Wetter. Sie beschäftigen sich mit Infrarot, Radar und Lageregelung und führen Experimente zu den Themen Antriebstechnik, Lande-Navigation, Robotik und Sensorik durch. Diese Versuche können auch unabhängig voneinander durchgeführt werden.

 

 Was ist gerade auf der Sonne los und wie beeinflusst uns das Weltraumwetter? Mit den Sonnenteleskopen des DLR_School_Lab Bremen k&oumlnnt Ihr diesen Fragen nachgehen.
zum Bild Was ist gerade auf der Sonne los und wie beeinflusst uns das Weltraumwetter? Mit den Sonnenteleskopen des DLR_School_Lab Bremen könnt Ihr diesen Fragen nachgehen.

Anhand dieser spannenden Mitmach-Experimente können Schülerinnen und Schüler die aktuellen Forschungsprojekte des DLR kennenlernen und erhalten faszinierende Einblicke in die Welt von Naturwissenschaft und Technik.

Weiter zur Anmeldung für einen Besuch


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/schoollab/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7605/12866_read-32405/