DLR - Institute of Solar Research - Concentrating Solar Systems for the Generation of Heat, Electricity and Fuel


• Accesskeys: Alt+0 = Homepage , Alt+8 = Jump to navigation/search

About us

Back
Print

Concentrating Solar Systems for the Generation of Heat, Electricity and Fuel
(11. September 2013)


The Institute of Solar Research, headquartered in Cologne, was established by the German Aerospace Centre in 2011 to consolidate the various solar research activities of the Stuttgart-based Institute of Technical Thermodynamics in a single institution.

It is headed by two co-directors Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Pitz-Paal and Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Hoffschmidt.

The Institute’s 140 workplaces are spread across the DLR Headquarters in Cologne, DLR facilities in Stuttgart and Jülich as well as Europe’s largest test facility for concentrating solar technology run by DLR’s Spanish research partners CIEMAT, the Plataforma Solar de Almería.
Research and development in the field of concentrating solar systems are the core topics of the institute. State-of-the-art laboratories as well as industrial-scale testing facilities are available, providing scientists with an excellent, productive working environment.

 

Its research activities focus on technical feasibility issues, and on increasing the overall efficiency and lowering the cost of concentrating solar systems.

The Institute of Solar Research seeks to build bridges between basic research, large-scale projects and industrial applications. The more academic side of its work is mainly funded with grants from the programme-oriented funding scheme of the Helmholtz Association. On the application-oriented side, scientists and industry jointly develop solutions in a range of collaborative research projects.The Institute’s clients include public authorities, national and international scientific institutions as well as partners from German and international industry.

As a pioneering German research institution working on concentrated solar power (CSP) technology, the Institute figures as the prime mover of the development and qualification of solar power and allied technologies, both in Europe and on a global scale.

 




Navigation

-
Parameter • Change font size: Small Medium Large Very large

  • Change color mode: Black on White Yellow on Black

  • Language: Deutsch | English

  • Switch to Default Settings

This is the text version of http://www.dlr.de/sf/en/DesktopDefault.aspx/tabid-7128/15166_read-37505/gallery-1/gallery_read-Image.73.22884/
All content is generated dynamically and therefore equal to the standard version.

back to standard version

DLR - Institut für Solarforschung - Konzentrierende Solarsysteme für die Wärme-, Strom- und Brennstofferzeugung


• Accesskeys: Alt+0 = Startseite , Alt+8 = Sprung zum Navigationsbereich/Suche

Kurzporträt

Zurück
Drucken

Konzentrierende Solarsysteme für die Wärme-, Strom- und Brennstofferzeugung
(11. September 2013)


Im Jahr 2011 gründete das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt das Institut für Solarforschung mit Hauptsitz in Köln und fasste damit die verschiedenen Abteilungen der Solarforschung des Stuttgarter Instituts für Technische Thermodynamik in einer eigenständigen Einrichtung zusammen.

Das Institut für Solarforschung wird von den beiden Co-Direktoren Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Robert Pitz-Paal und Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernhard Hoffschmidt geleitet.

Die 140 Mitarbeiter des Instituts für Solarforschung arbeiten am Hauptsitz des DLR in Köln, in Stuttgart und Jülich sowie im größten europäischen Testzentrum für konzentrierende Solartechnologien des spanischen Forschungspartners CIEMAT, der Plataforma Solar de Almería.

 

Zur Erforschung und Entwicklung von konzentrierenden Solarsystemen, Kernthemen des Instituts, stehen den Wissenschaftlern hochmoderne Labore und Testanlagen im industrierelevanten Maßstab zur Verfügung. In der Forschung stehen grundlegende Fragestellungen zur technischen Machbarkeit, zur Effizienzsteigerung und Kostensenkung von konzentrierenden Solarsystemen im Mittelpunkt.

Das Institut für Solarforschung versteht sich als Brückenbauer von der Grundlagenforschung zur großtechnischen Umsetzung und zur Anwendung in der Industrie. Grundlegendere Fragestellungen werden überwiegend aus Mitteln der programmorientierten Förderung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft finanziert. Gemeinsam mit der Industrie entwickeln die Wissenschaftler in Verbundprojekten Lösungen für vorwiegend anwendungsorientierten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufgaben.

Zu den Kunden des Instituts gehören öffentliche Auftraggeber, nationale und internationale wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen ebenso wie deutsche und internationale Industriepartner.

Als führende und richtungsweisende deutsche Forschungseinrichtung zu konzentrierenden Solarsystemen (Conentrated Solar Power = CSP) nimmt das Institut in Europa und im globalen Maßstab eine Architektenrolle in der Entwicklung und Qualifizierung zugehöriger Technologien ein.

 




Navigation

-
Parameter • Schriftgrad ändern: Klein Mittel Groß Sehr groß

  • Farbmodus ändern: Schwarz auf Weiß Gelb auf Schwarz

  • Sprache: Deutsch | English

  • Umschalten auf Standardeinstellungen

Dies ist die Textversion von http://www.dlr.de/sf/de/DesktopDefault.aspx/tabid-7128/15166_read-37505/gallery-1/gallery_read-Image.73.22884/
Alle Inhalte werden dynamisch generiert und sind damit ständig aktuell.

zurück zu Standardversion