DLR - Institute of Solar Research - Line Focus Systems - Proven technology with development potential

• Accesskeys: Alt+0 = Homepage , Alt+8 = Jump to navigation/search

Research and Development


Line Focus Systems - Proven technology with development potential
(25. August 2015)

Parabolic trough plant at the Plataforma Solar de Almería. Source: DLR/Markus-Steur.de

The parabolic trough technology represents the most important technology of the line focus collectors. It is the only solar thermal technology for electricity generation that can look back on 30 years of commercial operation. The first parabolic trough power plants were installed already in 1984 in California. Since 2008, the technology has undergone a renaissance, first in Spain but now also worldwide, as part of the promotion of renewable energy.

In addition to parabolic trough technology, also linear Fresnel collectors are counted among the line focus collectors. Line focus collectors are suitable for implementation at temperature levels up to 500°C. They generally consist of concentrating mirrors with uniaxial tracking of the sun, as well as an absorber tube in the focal line. A heat transfer fluid flowing through the absorber transfers the energy tothe  consumer (e.g. power plant processes, process heat consumers or thermal energy storage).

Parabolic trough collectors are the commercially most successful technology for solar thermal power plants. The state of the art is represented by the plants of ANDASOL type, installed in Spain with a nominal electrical outputof 50 MWe and integrated thermal energy storage for about 8 full-load hours. Parabolically bent glass mirrors mounted on steel frameworks constitute concentrator modules with an aperture width of 5.8 meters and a length of 12 meters, which are put together to 150 meters long collectors. The absorber tubes have a selective coating and are surrounded by a glass envelop with vacuum isolation in between. While thermal oil is used as heat transfer medium in the solar field, the thermal energy storage is filled with molten salt due to the lower costs.

Fresnel collector. Source: Novatec

In linear Fresnel collectors, the concentrator consists of slightly bent, thin facets that concentrate the sunlight on a stationary absorber. Due to the comparatively low wind load of the concentrator, significant savings can be realised on materials and investment costs. The drawback of the technology is the reduced optical efficiency as well as the geometrical disadvantages in comparison to the parabolic trough. So far, the installed plants generate hot water or saturated steam.

Research topics

Thermal oil, which at present is commonly used, is limiting the efficiency of the steam turbine circuit with its inlet temperature of about 400°C. In order to fully utilise the temperature potential of the collectors, the usage of alternative heat transfer media is investigated. Direct steam generation in the collector field reaches live steam conditions up to 120bar/550°C. Similar values can be achieved with molten salt. Further alternative heat transfer media  the corresponding processes are investigated as well.
At the present state of technology, the potential for further efficiency improvements of key components is limited. Therefore, objectives for the development of components shall rather concern the reduction of costs for materials, manufacturing, transport and erection, without retrenching the performance. New collector concepts rely on different construction methods, for instance with sandwich structures, alternative materials like concrete or innovative collector geometries.

In addition to the use in solar thermal power plants, line focus collectors are also installed for industrial use in order to provide process heat or cooling power. On this market, system integration is the most important challenge.

Fields of activity

The department for line focus systems is situated in Almería, Cologne and Stuttgart. We work on relevant issues concerning line focus systems in the entire spectrum from basic research and theory, over experimental and numerical methods up to demonstration under real operation conditions including economic evaluation. Our main research topics are at the moment:

Molten Salt Systems

Direct Steam Generation

Collector Development

Industrial Process Heat

Process Optimisation


Parameter • Change font size: Small Medium Large Very large

  • Change color mode: Black on White Yellow on Black

  • Language: Deutsch | English

  • Switch to Default Settings

This is the text version of http://www.dlr.de/sf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7088/18782_read-43608/
All content is generated dynamically and therefore equal to the standard version.

back to standard version

DLR - Institut für Solarforschung - Linienfokussierende Systeme - Bewährte Technologie mit Entwicklungspotential


• Accesskeys: Alt+0 = Startseite , Alt+8 = Sprung zum Navigationsbereich/Suche

Forschung und Entwicklung

Zurück
Drucken

Linienfokussierende Systeme - Bewährte Technologie mit Entwicklungspotential
(25. August 2015)


Parabolrinnenanlage auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería. Bild: DLR/Markus-Steuer.de

Die Parabolrinnentechnik stellt als wichtigster Vertreter der linienfokussierenden Kollektoren die einzige solarthermische Technologie für die Stromerzeugung dar, bei der man auf Erfahrungen aus bis zu 30 Jahren kommerziellem Betrieb zurückgreifen kann. Die ersten Parabolrinnen-Kraftwerke wurden schon im Jahr 1984 in Kalifornien errichtet. Seit dem Jahr 2008 erlebte die Technologie im Rahmen der Förderung erneuerbarer Energien zunächst in Spanien und mittlerweile weltweit eine Renaissance.

Zu den linienfokussierenden Kollektoren sind neben der Parabolrinnentechnik auch Linear-Fresnel-Kollektoren zu zählen. Linienfokussierende Kollektoren sind für den Einsatz im Temperaturbereich bis ca. 500°C geeignet. Sie bestehen aus in der Regel einachsig der Sonne nachgeführten Konzentratorspiegeln und einem in der Fokallinie angebrachten Absorberrohr. Durch dieses fließt ein Wärmeträgermedium, mit dem die Wärme der vorgesehenen Anwendung (z.B. Kraftwerksprozess, Prozesswärmenutzer, Wärmespeicher) zugeführt wird.

Parabolrinnenkollektoren sind bisher die kommerziell erfolgreichste Technologie für solarthermische Kraftwerke. Den Stand der Technik repräsentieren die in Spanien errichteten Anlagen vom Typ ANDASOL mit einer Leistung von 50 MWe und integriertem Wärmespeicher für rund 8 Volllaststunden. Stahlstrukturen mit parabolisch gekrümmten Glasspiegeln bilden Konzentratormodule mit einer Aperturweite von rund 5,8 Metern und 12 Metern Länge, die zu 150 Meter langen Kollektoren zusammengesetzt werden.
Die Absorberrohre haben eine selektiv beschichtete Oberfläche und sind von einem evakuierten Glashüllrohr umgeben. Als Wärmeträgermedium dient ein Thermoöl, im Wärmespeicher wird aus Kostengründen eine Salzschmelze eingesetzt.

Fresnelkollektor. Bild: Novatec

Bei Linear-Fresnel-Kollektoren besteht der Konzentrator aus leicht gekrümmten, schmalen Facetten, die das Sonnenlicht auf einen feststehenden Absorber konzentrieren. Wegen der vergleichsweise geringen Windlasten auf den Konzentrator, lässt sich dieser besonders material- und kostensparend konstruieren. Dem stehen optische bzw. geometrische Nachteile im Vergleich mit der Parabolrinne gegenüber. Bisher ausgeführte Anlagen erzeugen Heißwasser oder Sattdampf.

Forschungsthemen

Das derzeit übliche Thermoöl begrenzt mit seiner Einsatztemperatur von knapp 400°C den Wirkungsgrad des Dampfturbinenkreislaufs. Um das Temperaturpotenzial der Kollektoren optimal nutzen zu können, wird an der Entwicklung der direkten Dampferzeugung im Kollektorfeld  für Frischdampfzustände bis ca. 120bar/500°C gearbeitet. Darüber hinaus werden Prozesse für alternative Wärmeträgermedien, beispielsweise Salzschmelze, untersucht.

Beim heutigen Stand der Technik sind die Potenziale für weitere Wirkungsgradsteigerungen von Schlüsselkomponenten bereits weitgehend ausgereizt. Ziel der Komponentenentwicklung muss daher die Kostensenkung bei Materialeinsatz, Fertigung, Transport und Montage sein, ohne jedoch das Leistungsvermögen zu beeinträchtigen. Ansatzpunkte für neuartige Kollektorkonzepte  bieten geänderte Bauweisen, beispielsweise auf der Basis von Sandwich-Strukturen, alternative Werkstoffe wie Beton oder innovative Kollektorgeometrien.

Neben der Anwendung in solarthermischen Kraftwerken werden linienfokussierende Kollektoren auch im Bereich industrieller Prozesswärme- oder Kälteerzeugung  eingesetzt. In diesem Marktsegment liegt die besondere Herausforderung bei der Systemintegration.

Arbeitsgebiete

Die DLR-Standorte in Almería, Köln und Stuttgart erarbeiten relevante Fragestellungen zu linienfokussierenden Systemen im gesamten Spektrum von Grundlagenforschung und Theoriebildung, über experimentelle und numerische Methoden bis zur Demonstration unter realen Betriebsbedingungen einschließlich der wirtschaftlichen Bewertung. Unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen derzeit bei den folgenden Themen:

Flüssigsalzsysteme

Direktverdampfung

Kollektorentwicklung

Industrielle Prozesswärme

Prozessoptimierung




Navigation

-
Parameter • Schriftgrad ändern: Klein Mittel Groß Sehr groß

  • Farbmodus ändern: Schwarz auf Weiß Gelb auf Schwarz

  • Sprache: Deutsch | English

  • Umschalten auf Standardeinstellungen

Dies ist die Textversion von http://www.dlr.de/sf/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7088/18782_read-43608/
Alle Inhalte werden dynamisch generiert und sind damit ständig aktuell.

zurück zu Standardversion