Laser Propulsion



Schematic view on the launch of a small satellite by a ground based high energy laser.


The principle of laser propulsion has been demonstrated worldwide in numerous terrestrial experiments. The initial goal of thermal laser propulsion investigations was the development of an alternative propulsion concept for the launch of small satellites (nanosats) from the Earth's surface into low Earth orbit (LEO). However, the pulsed laser output required for this is not available in the short and medium term.
Based on advances in the field of solid state laser technology which permit the development of more powerful, compact pulsed laser sources even for application in space and zero gravity environments, laser propulsion offers new possibilities for the position keeping and attitude control of satellites or satellite constellations in orbit. Beam guidance and control based on active optical systems enable remote laser propulsion applications. Therefore, in a further step, missions with small probes are conceivable, for instance to "take samples" on asteroids or (small) planets and to return on a "tractor beam".

The latest research objective is the development and qualification of highly precise thrusters with thrusts levels in the range of 0.1 ┬ÁN to 1 mN. Alternative micro propulsion concepts which are necessary for many missions with precise position and orbit control are urgently required. A growing need has not only arisen in the case of geodetic missions to measure the Earth's gravitational field (follow-up missions to CHAMP, GRACE or GOCE) or astronomical missions for X ray astronomy in which the telescopes are made of two satellites with highly precise distance control (up to 50 m), but also for astronomical projects which require greater formations (such as Dar-win).
Laser propulsion is ideally suited to micro propulsion as a result of its high precision and very simple (propellant) infrastructure. Laser induced ablation of metals or composites with pulsed laser sources is a promising technology to provide a new type of thrusters with highly precise thrust control. 


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Hans-Albert Eckel
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Technical Physics
, Studies & Concepts
Tel: +49 711 6862-714

Fax: +49 711 6862-788

E-Mail: Hans-Albert.Eckel@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/tp/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7026/11648_read-27474/

Laserantriebe



Schematische Ansicht des Starts eines Kleinsatelliten durch einen erdgestützten Hochenergielaser.

Das Prinzip des Laserantriebs wurde in der Vergangenheit weltweit in zahlreichen terrestrischen Experimenten demonstriert. Ziel der Arbeiten zum thermischen Laserantrieb waren zunächst alternative Antriebskonzepte für den Start von Kleinstsatelliten (Nanosats) von der Erdoberfläche in den Low Earth Orbit (LEO). Die dazu benötigte gepulste Laserleistung steht jedoch kurz- und mittelfristig nicht zur Verfügung.
Basierend auf Fortschritten im Bereich der Festkörpertechnologie, die die Entwicklung leistungsstarker, kompakter Pulslaserquellen auch für den Einsatz in der Schwerelosigkeit des Weltraums erlauben, bietet der Laserantrieb neue Möglichkeiten zur Lageregelung und Positionsstabilisierung von Satelliten oder Satellitenschwärmen im Orbit. Strahlführung und –formung mit aktiven optischen Systemen erlaubt die Nutzung des Laserantriebs auch über weite Distanzen. In einem weiteren Schritt sind somit Missionen mit kleinen Sonden, etwa zur „Probenentnahme“ auf Asteroiden oder (Klein ) Planeten und die Rückkehr auf einem „Traktorstrahl“ denkbar.

Neuestes Forschungsziel ist die Entwicklung und Qualifizierung von hochpräzisen Antrieben mit Schubkräften im Bereich von 0.1 µN bis zu 1 mN. Alternative Mikro-Antriebskonzepte, die bei vielen Missionen mit präziser Lage- und Orbitkontrolle erforderlich sind, werden dringend benötigt. Ein wachsender Bedarf entsteht nicht nur bei geodätischen Missionen zur Vermessung des Erdschwerefeldes (Nachfolgemissionen zu CHAMP, GRACE oder GOCE), bei astronomischen Missionen zur Röntgenastronomie, bei denen man die Teleskope aus zwei Satelliten mit hochpräziser Abstandskontrolle über bis zu 50 m aufbauen muss, sondern auch bei astronomischen Projekten, die größere Formationen (wie z.B. Darwin) erfordern.

Der Laserantrieb ist auf Grund seiner hohen Präzision und seiner einfachen (Treibstoff-) Infrastruktur in idealer Weise für Mikroantriebe geeignet. Durch laserinduzierte Ablation von Metallen oder Kompositen mit gepulsten Laserquellen können präzise regelbare Schubkräfte erzeugt werden. 


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Hans-Albert Eckel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Physik
, Studien & Konzepte
Tel: +49 711 6862-714

Fax: +49 711 6862-788

E-Mail: Hans-Albert.Eckel@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/tp/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7026/11648_read-27474/