Long Range Laser Effectors



Components of a laser effector: bottom: laser radiation source, top: beam shaping and guiding.


Focused laser radiation over shorter distances is an established tool for many applications such as laser materials processing and medicine. Using high power and high beam quality laser sources, it is also possible to transfer and focus energy over large distances. The alignment of the laser beam can thereby be easily and very rapidly controlled by tilting and tuning a reflector. For this reason such long range laser effectors are particularly suited for hitting fast moving objects with laser radiation.

These properties open up a variety of applications. One example is power transmission using laser radiation for energy delivery – for instance for solar-powered unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) to make them usable at night. Even satellites could be supplied with energy in this way to compensate for the deterioration of solar cells, significantly increasing the mission duration.

Important safety applications for long range laser effectors include the protection of infrastructure against attack by mortar shells and missiles, and also the protection of aircrafts during take off or landing against surface-to-air missiles.

The beam shaping and guidance is a significant component of such a system. It must guarantee both optimum focusing of the beam onto the target and tracking of the beam on the target – even if the propagation through the atmosphere leads to marked disturbances in the beam position and beam profile.

For this purpose, methods are being developed at the Institute of Technical Physics for target tracking and the compensation of atmospheric disturbances. These methods are tested on a laser test range.

Specific requirements arise for the laser source for long range laser effectors:
• The emission wavelength must lie outside of atmospheric absorptions.
• The beam quality must be extremely high for optimum focusability.
• The effector system should be compact and efficient.

Based on currently available technology, diode pumped solid state lasers – in particular slab lasers, fibre lasers and disc lasers – are regarded as the best suited beam sources for this purpose. At present fibre lasers offer the highest output power with excellent beam quality, however, the maximum output power of a single fibre is limited.

Current research at the Institute of Technical Physics is focused on the radiation sources, the development of compact high power disc lasers and on concepts to couple several laser sources.



Contact
Jochen Speiser
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Technical Physics
, Solid State Lasers and Nonlinear Optics
Tel: +49 711 6862-451

Fax: +49 711 6862-715

E-Mail: Jochen.Speiser@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/tp/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7056/11694_read-27580/

Lasereffektoren großer Reichweite



Komponenten eines Lasereffektors
unten: Strahlungsquelle (Wirklaser)
oben: Strahlformung und -führung

Fokussierte Laserstrahlung ist über kürzere Distanzen ein etabliertes Werkzeug für viele Anwendungen wie zum Beispiel in der Lasermaterialbearbeitung und in der Medizin. Mit Laserquellen hoher Leistung und hoher Strahlqualität ist auch die Übertragung und Fokussierung von Strahlungsenergie über große Entfernungen möglich. Die Ausrichtung des Laserstrahls kann dabei einfach und sehr schnell durch das Verkippen und Verdrehen eines Spiegels gesteuert werden. Damit eignen sich solche Lasereffektoren großer Reichweite besonders für die Beaufschlagung schnell bewegter Objekte mit Laserstrahlung.

Diese Eigenschaften erschließen eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen. Ein Beispiel ist die Leistungsübertragung mittels Strahlung zur Energieversorgung – etwa für solarzellenbetriebene unbemannte Luftfahrzeuge (UAVs), die dann auch nachts eingesetzt werden könnten. Auch Satelliten könnten so mit Energie versorgt werden, um die Degradation der Solarzellen zu kompensieren und dadurch die Einsatzdauer wesentlich zu erhöhen.

Eine wichtige sicherheitstechnische Anwendung für Lasereffektoren großer Reichweite ist der Schutz von Einrichtungen gegen Beschuss mit Mörsergranaten und Raketen oder auch der Schutz von Flugzeugen in der Start- oder Landephase gegen Boden-Luft-Raketen.

Die Strahlformung und -führung ist eine wesentliche Komponente eines solchen Systems. Sie muss sowohl eine optimale Fokussierung des Strahls auf das Ziel als auch die Nachführung des Strahls auf das Ziel gewährleisten – und zwar auch dann, wenn die Ausbreitung durch die Atmosphäre zu deutlichen Störungen in der Strahllage und im Strahlprofil führt.

Hierzu werden am Institut für Technische Physik Methoden für die Zielverfolgung und für die Kompensation der atmosphärischen Störungen entwickelt. Diese Methoden werden auf einer Freistrahlstrecke getestet.

An die Strahlquelle für Lasereffektoren großer Reichweite ergeben sich spezifische Anforderungen:
• Die Emissionswellenlänge muss außerhalb der atmosphärischen Absorptionen liegen.
• Die Strahlqualität muss zur optimalen Fokussierbarkeit sehr hoch sein.
• Das Effektorsystem soll kompakt und effizient sein.

Diodengepumpte Festkörperlaser - insbesondere Slab-Laser, Faserlaser und Scheibenlaser - gelten nach heutigem Stand der Technik als die hierfür am besten geeigneten Strahlquellen. Faserlaser bieten derzeit die höchsten Ausgangsleistungen mit exzellenter Strahlqualität, jedoch ist die maximale Ausgangsleistung einer einzelnen Faser limitiert.

Aktuelle Forschungen am Institut für Technische Physik konzentrieren sich bei den Strahlquellen auf die Entwicklung kompakter Hochleistungsscheibenlaser und auf Konzepte zur Kopplung vieler Laserquellen.


 


Kontakt
Jochen Speiser
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Physik
, Festkörperlaser
Tel: +49 711 6862-451

Fax: +49 711 6862-715

E-Mail: Jochen.Speiser@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/tp/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7056/11694_read-27580/