Thermal Process Technology



 

 

 

 
.
 

Head: Dr. Antje Wörner

Assistant: Nora Fischer

With about 50 members of staff, the department of Thermal Process Technology is concerned with energy storage, thermal management and heat exchange topics. These topics are of importance to all fields of energy use and energy supply.
Apart from applications in the fields of industrial process heat, combined heat and power and fossil power plants, thermal energy storages are developed and qualified for solar thermal power plants. The significance of energy storage for the power plant sector is reinforced by the demands on net stability with an increasing share of renewable electricity production and by the recent developments in the field of solar thermal power plants, to cover the increasing electricity demand in central Europe. Innovative storage concepts for a temperature range from 100 to 1000 °C are being developed and realized in the department. The technologies under development cover sensible heat storage based on liquid and solid materials, latent heat storage and thermochemical systems.


The increasing urgency to reduce the primary energy consumption in the commercial and industrial area requires the exploitation of to-date unused waste heat. For the purpose of high temperature applications with gaseous heat transfer fluids in power plants and industrial processes, high temperature heat exchangers based on ceramic materials are being developed. Thereby, the focus lies on thermal and thermo-mechanical design issues, which are also validated experimentally.
In the area of alternative fuels, the focus is on liquid (biogenic) hydrocarbons. The thermochemical conversion processes for the production of hydrogen for decentralized power or mobile applications and decentralized stationary electricity production are being researched, as well as gas clean-up processes for decentralized power production from renewable biomass. The relevance of storing surplus electricity in the form of liquid hydrocarbons is investigated by process simulation and techno-economic assessment.

The key topics of the department are covered by 4 research areas:

  • Thermal Energy Storage – Development of high temperature heat storage for solar thermal power plants and industrial process heat applications; the emphasis lies on applications with liquid or two-phase heat transfer fluids
  • Thermochemical Systems – Investigation of gas-solid reactions to be used in thermochemical heat storages with very high storage and heat flux densities, for heat transformation and as hydrogen storage
  • Thermal Power Plant Components – Development of high temperature heat storage and ceramic heat exchangers for gaseous heat transfer fluids to increase the energy efficiency of power plant and process technologies
  • Alternative Fuels – Investigation and assessment of processes for hydrogen production from biogenic primary fuels and for production of liquid hydrocarbons to store surplus electricity from renewable sources

 


Contact
Dr. Antje Wörner
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Technical Thermodynamics
, Thermal Process Technology
Tel: +49 711 6862-484

Fax: +49 711 6862-632

E-Mail: Antje.Woerner@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/tt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2883/4339_read-6489/

Thermische Prozesstechnik



 

 

 

 
.
 

Leitung: Dr. Antje Wörner

Sekretariat: Nora Fischer

Mit rund 50 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern befasst sich die Abteilung Thermische Prozesstechnik mit Fragen der Energiespeicherung, des Wärmemanagements und der Wärmeübertragung, die in allen Bereichen der Energienutzung und der Energiebereitstellung von Bedeutung sind.

Neben Anwendungen im Bereich der industriellen Prozesswärme, der Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung und konventioneller Kraftwerkstechnik werden thermische Energiespeicher für solarthermische Kraftwerke entwickelt und qualifiziert. Gerade die Bedeutung der Energiespeicherung im Kraftwerksbereich wird durch Anforderungen an die Netzstabilität bei vermehrter Einspeisung von erneuerbaren Energien und durch die jüngsten Entwicklungen im Bereich der solarthermischen Kraftwerke zur Deckung des Strombedarfs in Zentraleuropa eindrucksvoll bestätigt. Innerhalb der Abteilung werden für unterschiedliche Wärmeträgermedien innovative Speicherkonzepte für einen Temperaturbereich von 100 bis 1000 °C entwickelt und realisiert. Die eingesetzten Technologien umfassen sensible Speicher auf der Basis von Flüssigkeiten und Feststoffen, Latentwärmespeicher und thermochemische Speicher.

Der zunehmende Druck zur Reduktion des Primärenergieverbrauchs im gewerblichen und industriellen Bereich erfordert die Erschließung bisher nicht genutzter Wärmeströme. Für Hochtemperaturanwendungen mit gasförmigen Wärmeträgern in Kraftwerks- und Industrieprozessen werden hierfür Hochtemperatur-Wärmeübertrager auf der Basis von Keramik entwickelt  Dabei stehen thermische und thermomechanische Entwurfsaspekte im Fokus, die auch in experimentellen Untersuchungen überprüft werden.

Im Bereich alternativer Brennstoffe liegt der Schwerpunkt der Abteilung auf flüssigen (biogenen) Kohlenwasserstoffen. Deren thermochemische Umwandlung für die Erzeugung von Wasserstoff zur Stromerzeugung für dezentrale stationäre und mobile Anwendungen wird ebenso untersucht, wie die Gasreinigung beim Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe. Die Bedeutung der Speicherung von Überschussstrom aus erneuerbaren Quellen in Form synthetischer flüssiger Kohlenwasserstoffe wird anhand techno-ökonomischer Analysen des Gesamtprozesses bewertet.


Die Themenschwerpunkte der Abteilung werden in 4 Fachgebieten bearbeitet:

  • Thermische Energiespeicher – Entwicklung von Hochtemperaturspeichern für solarthermische Kraftwerke und für Anwendungen im Bereich der industriellen Prozesswärme mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Anwendungen mit flüssigen oder zweiphasigen Wärmeträgern 
  • Chemische Energiespeicher – Untersuchung von Gas-Feststoff-Reaktionen zur Entwicklung von thermochemischen Wärmespeichern höchster Speicher- und Leistungsdichte, zur Wärmetransformation und zur stofflichen Speicherung von Wasserstoff
  • Thermische Kraftwerkskomponenten – Entwicklung von Hochtemperatur-Wärmespeichern und keramischen Wärmeübertragern für gasförmige Wärmeträger zur Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz in der Kraftwerks- und Prozesstechnik 
  • Alternative Brennstoffe – Untersuchung und Bewertung von Prozessen zur Wasserstofferzeugung aus biogenen Primärbrennstoffen und zur Erzeugung von flüssigen Kohlenwasserstoffen zur Speicherung von Überschussstrom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen

Kontakt
Dr. Antje Wörner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Thermodynamik
, Thermische Prozesstechnik
Tel: +49 711 6862-484

Fax: +49 711 6862-632

E-Mail: Antje.Woerner@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/tt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2883/4339_read-6489/