Alternative Fuels



Research Area Manager: Stefan Zunft

 

The alternative fuels research area is focused primarily on thermochemical conversion processes for the production of hydrogen as a secondary energy carrier for decentralized power or mobile applications. As a secondary research topic, the chemical storage of regenerative power in liquid hydrocarbons is being investigated („Power to Liquid“).

Emphasis is put on the process development and techno-economic assessment using process simulation. The thermo-physical and chemical properties of the fuels and fuel mixtures are modeled. Based on detailed knowledge of the single process steps and their operating and boundary conditions, the complete process can be improved and cost-optimized with an intelligent design, integrating the thermal and physical properties.

Experimental investigations include a new process concept using fractionation of liquid hydrocarbons for obtaining a sulfur-reduced fraction and subsequent catalytic conversion in a hydrogen rich product stream. Operating conditions for reforming, partial dehydration and catalytic cleaning processes at high temperatures are characterized in lab- and bench-scale test facilities for a variety of renewable and fossil fuels. The characterization results are used in the process simulations for process optimization and process assessment.

Research Areas and Current Projects:

  • Hydrogen generation by reforming liquid biofuels (EU-Project NEMESIS2+)
  • On-board hydrogen production from kerosene by fractionation and partial dehydration (EU-Project GreenAir)
  • Process development and gas clean-up for decentralized power production from renewable biomass (Project G4Energy of the initiative DLR@UniST)
  • Process development and process assessment of chemical storage of renewable power in liquid hydrocarbons (Project SynKWS of the Helmholtz-Energie-Allianz

Contact
Dr. Stefan Zunft
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics
, Thermal Process Technology
Tel: +49 711 6862-601

Fax: +49 711 6862-747

E-Mail: Stefan.Zunft@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/tt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7747/13220_read-33600/

Alternative Brennstoffe



Leitung: Dr. Stefan Zunft

 

Das Fachgebiet Alternative Brennstoffe befasst sich mit thermochemischen Umwandlungsprozessen zur Erzeugung von Wasserstoff als Sekundärenergieträger zur dezentralen Stromerzeugung und für mobile Anwendungen. Daneben wird die chemische Speicherung von Überschussstrom mittels flüssiger Kohlenwasserstoffe untersucht („Power to Liquid“).

Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten bildet die Verfahrensentwicklung und techno-ökonomische Prozessbewertung mittels Prozesssimulation. Dazu ist die modellmäßige Abbildung der thermo-physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften der eingesetzten Primärbrennstoffe und komplexen Gemische notwendig. Basierend auf einem detaillierten Verständnis der einzelnen Verfahrensschritte und Betriebsparameter kann anschließend durch intelligente thermische und stoffliche Integration die energetische Effizienz des Gesamtprozesses verbessert und unter Kostenaspekten optimiert werden.

Die experimentelle Untersuchung neuartiger Verfahrenskonzepte und Prozessschritte umfasst die Abtrennung schwefelreduzierter Fraktionen aus flüssigen Kohlenwasserstoffgemischen mittels thermischer Trennverfahren zur anschließenden katalytischen Umwandlung in wasserstoffreiche Gase. Die Betriebsbedingungen für Reformierung, partielle Dehydrierung und katalytische Heißgasreinigung werden für biogene und fossile Einsatzstoffe vom Labor- bis in den kW-Maßstab charakterisiert und für die Prozesssimulation verwendet.

Forschungsthemen und aktuelle Projekte:

  • Wasserstofferzeugung mittels Reformierung aus flüssigen, biogenenPrimärbrennstoffen (EU-Projekt NEMESIS2+)
  • On-board Wasserstofferzeugung aus Kerosin durch Fraktionierung und partielle Dehydrierung (EU-Projekt GreenAir)
  • Verfahrensentwicklung und Gasreinigung für die dezentrale Stromerzeugung aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen (Projekt G4Energy im Rahmen der Initiative DLR@UniST)
  • Verfahrensentwicklung und Prozessbewertung der chemischen Speicherung von Überschussstrom mittels flüssiger Kohlenwasserstoffe

Kontakt
Dr. Stefan Zunft
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Thermodynamik
, Thermische Prozesstechnik
Tel: +49 711 6862-601

Fax: +49 711 6862-747

E-Mail: Stefan.Zunft@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/tt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7747/13220_read-33600/