Department: Passenger Transport



Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur
Copyright: DLR/Markus Steur

Mobility – a central dimension of human life
Whether travelling to work or college, going on holiday or getting around in your free time, mobility is a fundamental human requirement and stands for progress, quality of life, and freedom. With increasing wealth and individualization of lifestyles, passenger transport has been increasing in industrialised countries for decades.

Movement in change
A second glance shows, however, that mobility patterns are constantly changing: In industrialised nations we can see first signs of saturation point being reached, for example in car traffic, while long distance passenger transport continues to grow. Emerging economies, on the other hand, are on the cusp of rapid rates of growth: These countries’ populations will increasingly determine the character of global mobility.

Sustainable transport developmen
Increased mobility thus goes hand in hand with social and economic development, although it also has some negative effects, e.g. on the environment and resource consumption. To navigate the resulting tensions, society, business and politics need objective information on current and future developments.

Mobility: the status quo…
Our department carries out numerous empirical studies and analyzes them alongside many other data sets. At the same time, we also research how and why mobility patterns change, for example via transformations in demographics, economic circumstances, values and lifestyles.

…and prospects
Furthermore, we develop models and scenarios to evaluate future passenger transport developments, and are working to improve the methods of measuring mobility. Moreover, we also examine which infrastructural and planning measures may influence mobility patterns and passenger transport, and we forecast their effect. In the same way, we research the potential of new mobility concepts, vehicle types and other innovations, for example in information and communication technology, and analyze their impact on mobility patterns.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2807/4249_read-7666/

Abteilung: Personenverkehr



Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur
Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur

Mobilität – eine zentrale Dimension menschlichen Lebens
Ob bei der Fahrt zu Ausbildung und Arbeit oder bei Urlaub und Freizeitgestaltung: Mobilität ist ein Grundbedürfnis des Menschen und steht für Fortschritt, Lebensqualität und Freiheit. Mit zunehmendem Wohlstand und der Individualisierung der Lebensstile hat der Personenverkehr in den Industrieländern jahrzehntelang zugenommen.

Bewegung im Wandel
Ein zweiter Blick zeigt aber auch, dass sich das Mobilitätsverhalten fortwährend ändert: In den Industrieländern lassen sich erste Sättigungstendenzen feststellen, etwa beim Autoverkehr, während der Personenfernverkehr weiter wächst. Die Schwellenländern hingegen stehen erst am Anfang einer rasanten Wachstumsdynamik: Die Bevölkerungen dieser Länder werden das globale Mobilitätsgeschehen zunehmend prägen.

Zukunftsfähige Verkehrsgestaltung
Die Zunahme der Mobilität geht somit einher mit sozialer und ökonomischer Entwicklung, hat aber auch negative Auswirkungen, z.B. auf Umwelt und Ressourcenverbrauch. In diesem Spannungsfeld benötigen Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft & Politik objektive Informationen über heutige und zukünftige Entwicklungen.

Mobilität: Status Quo...
Unsere Abteilung führt zahlreiche empirische Untersuchungen durch und wertet diese und umfangreiche weitere Datengrundlagen aus. Dabei erforschen wir auch, wie und warum sich das Mobilitätsverhalten verändert - z.B. durch den Wandel von demographischer Entwicklung, den ökonomischen Lebenslagen, Wertehaltungen und Lebensstilen.

…und Perspektiven 
Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir Modelle und Szenarien für die Abschätzung künftiger Entwicklungen im Personenverkehr und arbeiten an der Verbesserung der Methoden zur Messung von Mobilität. Zudem untersuchen wir auch, welche infrastrukturellen oder planerischen Maßnahmen Personenverkehr und Mobilitätsverhalten beeinflussen können und prognostizieren deren Wirkungen. Ebenso erforschen wir die Potentiale neuer Mobilitätskonzepte, Fahrzeugtypen und anderer Innovationen, wie etwa Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien und analysieren deren Einfluss auf das Mobilitätsverhalten.

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2807/4249_read-7666/