Department: Commercial Transport



Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur
Copyright: DLR/Markus Steur

Commercial transport lifeline
Commercial transport in Germany is growing rapidly. Day after day, 80 million people require extensive freight transport and business journeys. Furthermore, there are 4 million businesses in this country that are dependent on an efficient transport infrastructure.

Rapid dynamism
Almost a third of all the kilometers covered on Germany’s roads can today be attributed to commercial transport. This proportion is even more highly pronounced on rail and waterways. The growth trend, among other factors, can be ascribed to globalization and new developments in logistics. It also leads, however, to problems such as increased noise pollution and engine emissions.

Complex challenges
To be able to understand the developments in commercial transport, our department performs the most varied tasks: from pure fundamental research to large-scale analysis, to individual case studies. Moreover, we develop measures to improve the cost effectiveness and quality of transport and reduce its negative impact on people and the environment.

Wide-ranging expertise
Long-distance and urban transport have different characteristics, and they require specialized research approaches. At the same time, there are many links between them – between urban and nationwide traffic, for example, or between passenger and freight transport. In researching such interrelationships, we are able to build on the experience of our "Passenger Transport" and "Mobility and Urban Development" departments, with whom we cooperate closely. Working together with other DLR institutes, moreover, enables more extensive studies, for instance on the interactions with air traffic.

Multifaceted research
Our department’s particular strength is its diversity. Our team is interdisciplinary, our mix of methods ranges from empirical studies to spatial analyses, to mathematical models, to scenario and forecasting techniques. 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2808/4250_read-6288/

Abteilung: Wirtschaftsverkehr



Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur
Quelle: DLR/Markus Steur

Lebensader Wirtschaftsverkehr
Der Wirtschaftsverkehr in Deutschland ist von einer hohen Wachstumsdynamik gekennzeichnet: 80 Millionen Menschen benötigen Tag für Tag umfangreiche Gütertransporte und Dienstleistungsfahrten. Zudem sind hierzulande 4 Millionen Unternehmen angesiedelt, die auf eine leistungsfähige Verkehrsinfrastruktur angewiesen sind.

Rasante Dynamik
Fast ein Drittel aller auf Deutschlands Straßen zurückgelegten Kilometer sind heute dem  Wirtschaftsverkehr zuzurechnen. Auf Schiene und Wasserwegen ist dieses Verhältnis sogar noch deutlicher ausgeprägt. Der Wachstumstrend ist u.a. auf die Globalisierung und neue Entwicklungen im Logistikbereich zurückzuführen, führt aber auch zu Problemen: Zum Beispiel zu steigender Lärmbelastung oder wachsenden Schadstoff- und Treibhausgasemissionen.

Komplexe Herausforderungen
Um die Entwicklungen des Wirtschaftsverkehrs verstehen zu können, nimmt unsere Abteilung unterschiedlichste Aufgaben wahr: Von der Grundlagenforschung über großangelegte Analysen bis hin zu Einzelfallstudien. Zudem entwickeln wir Maßnahmen, mit denen Verkehrsqualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit verbessert und negative Folgen für Mensch und Umwelt reduziert werden können.

Große Expertise
Fernverkehre und urbane Verkehre weisen unterschiedliche Charakteristiken auf und erfordern spezialisierte Forschungsansätze. Gleichzeitig bestehen viele Verbindungen – zum Beispiel zwischen städtischen und überregionalen Verkehrsräumen oder zwischen Personen- und Güterverkehr. Bei der Erforschung solcher Zusammenhänge können wir auf die Erfahrungen unserer Instituts-Abteilungen „Personenverkehr“ und „Mobilität und Urbane Entwicklung“ bauen, mit denen wir eng zusammen arbeiten. Kooperationen mit anderen DLR-Instituten ermöglichen zudem weitergehende Untersuchungen, zum Beispiel der Wechselwirkungen mit dem Flugverkehr.

Vielfältige Forschung
Die besondere Stärke unserer Abteilung ist unsere Vielfalt: Unser Team ist interdisziplinär, unser Methodenmix reicht von empirischen Untersuchungen über räumlichen Analysen bis hin zu mathematischen Modellen und Szenario- und Prognose-Techniken. 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2808/4250_read-6288/