Current Projects

TAPAS: Model for future demand in passenger transport



The TAPAS transport model provides data on the future development of passenger transport demand. Socio-demographic data and information on the time use of people whose mobility behavior is documented form its basis. TAPAS serves to map and evaluate measures and altered framework conditions which influence the demand for passenger transport and its infrastructure. This takes places in the context of a sustainable transport policy, which at the same time ensures a high measure of mobility.

 

 Video: TAPAS

TAPAS: Model for future demand in passenger transport
DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

For the timeframe 2004 to 2025, the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development (BMVBS) projects an increase in passenger transport of 2.7%. The number of motorized and non-motorized trips in Germany will thus rise from 100.3 to 103.1 billion. Motorized transport will grow by 7.1 percent. Traffic volume, the most important parameter in determining transport development, will increase even more strongly due to the disproportionally large growth in long-distance travel and increasing journey distances, namely by 17.9 percent, to 1,368 billion passenger kilometers.

Transport demand

Transport demand is an expression of human requirement for social participation. Each individual is daily confronted with decisions concerning their chosen location and mode of transport. An increasing travel demand requires concepts which ensure the mobility for each individual for social participation while ensuring a sustainable transport strategy.

The DLR Institute of Transport Research (IVF) is working on several projects in which scenarios for sustainable transport development are developed and analyzed. In the process, potential transport measures are tested for their effectiveness. Against this background, the IVF has developed the TAPAS transport model, which examines future demand in passenger transport.

Outlook

TAPAS makes it possible to evaluate possible future developments in transport demand under variable framework conditions, that of demographic change, for instance, or altered income structures. The model serves to map and assess measures influencing infrastructure and demand in passenger transport, for example cost changes in the transport sector, or an alternative service in local public transport. Furthermore, important findings on the acceptance amongst the population of innovative vehicles, fuels and mobility concepts are to be expected from TAPAS.

Base data

As a microscopic model, TAPAS starts off from the transport behavior of individuals. Empirical spatial and structural data, information on time use as well as indications on the use of various modes of transport form the basis, via TAPAS, for a realistic mapping of current and future demand. The time use data of the current version of TAPAS come from a time budget survey carried out by the Federal Statistical Office in 2001/02. In the process, 12,600 people from 5,400 households recorded their daily routines, including transport, in diaries. Each diary reported the type and duration of each activity at ten minute intervals. In addition, socio-demographic characteristics and the household equipment of those surveyed were compiled.

The representative survey on everyday mobility behavior in Germany, “Mobility in Germany (MiD)” is a further important data source for TAPAS. In particular, the chosen mode of transport and travel distance can be gained from the survey results. MiD was carried out on behalf of the BMVBS in 2002 and 2008, and includes the behavior of around 60,000 people in the form of travel diaries enriched with additional socio-demographic information.

Synthetic population

TAPAS uses a synthetic population for a specific target area as an essential basic element. On the basis of available data for the area to be examined, it is determined how many people live there, amongst how many households they are distributed and which socio-demographic characteristics they exhibit. For each person of the synthetic population, the diaries from the time budget survey to subsequently determine, which activities they pursue within a workday.

Activities

Age, gender, employment status and availability of a car are decisive criteria for the formation of daily activity plans. Trip chains arise which describe a series of location changes resulting from the succession of activities throughout the day. On the basis of these trip chains and the personal and household characteristics, TAPAS offers numerous possibilities to investigate measures and their impact on individual road and transport users within the model.

Activity plans for individual members are on hand as a result of the calculations. These include the trips origin and destination, the distance covered, the trip purpose and the chosen mode of transport. From this, statistics can be derived and further processed to provide information on expected transport demand.

What is TAPAS used for?

TAPAS is an important component of the range of analytical instruments which map and assess measures and impacts of a future sustainable transport policy. For example, TAPAS was applied within the research project RENEWBILITY, “Stoffstromanalyse nachhaltige Mobilität im Kontext erneuerbarer Energien bis 2030”, carried out by the IVF and the Öko-Institut. In the process calculations were made comparing passenger transport demand in 2005 and 2030 in the Berlin, Hamburg, Braunschweig and Main-Rhön regions. Conclusions could be drawn from this about transport development in the whole of Germany.


Contact
Dipl.-Geographin Rita Cyganski
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Mobility and Urban Development
Tel: +49 30 67055-147

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Rita.Cyganski@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Matthias Heinrichs
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Mobility and Urban Development
Tel: +49 30 67055-174

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Matthias.Heinrichs@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-29381/gallery-1/gallery_read-Image.12.18892/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/simple?screen=Public%3A%3AEPrintSearch&q=TAPAS&subjects=vf&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen
http://daten.clearingstelle-verkehr.de/223/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Markus Mehlin und Rita Cyganski: Mobilität im Modell (DLR Nachrichten 124) (http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/Portaldata/12/Resources/dokumente/projekte/tapas/Mobilitaet_im_Modell_in_DLR-Nachrichten-124-11-2009.pdf)

Aktuelle Projekte

TAPAS: Modell für die zukünftige Nachfrage im Personenverkehr



Das Verkehrsmodell TAPAS liefert Daten zur zukünftigen Entwicklung der Personenverkehrsnachfrage. Die Grundlage bilden soziodemografische Daten und Informationen zur Zeitverwendung von Personen, in denen das individuelle Verkehrsverhalten dokumentiert ist. TAPAS dient zur Abbildung und Bewertung von Maßnahmen und veränderten Rahmenbedingungen, welche die Nachfrage im Personenverkehr und die Infrastruktur beeinflussen. Dieses geschieht im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Verkehrspolitik, die zugleich ein hohes Maß an Mobilität gewährleistet.

 Video: TAPAS

TAPAS: Modell für die zukünftige Nachfrage im Personenverkehr
DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

Für den Zeitraum von 2004 bis 2025 prognostiziert das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS) einen Anstieg des Personenverkehrs um 2,7 Prozent. Demnach steigt die Zahl der motorisierten und nichtmotorisierten Fahrten in Deutschland von 100,3 Milliarden auf 103,1 Milliarden. Der motorisierte Verkehr nimmt um 7,1 Prozent zu. Die Verkehrsleistung, die wichtigste Kenngröße zur Bestimmung der Verkehrsentwicklung, erhöht sich aufgrund des überproportional wachsenden Fernverkehrs und steigender Fahrtweiten deutlich stärker, nämlich um 17,9 Prozent auf 1.368 Milliarden Personenkilometer.

Verkehrsnachfrage

Die Verkehrsnachfrage ist ein Ausdruck des menschlichen Bedürfnisses, am gesellschaftlichen Leben teilzunehmen. Jeder Verkehrsteilnehmer trifft dabei Entscheidungen hinsichtlich der Orts- und Verkehrsmittelwahl. Eine steigende Verkehrsleistung benötigt Konzepte, die im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Strategie die Mobilität des einzelnen Verkehrsteilnehmers für eine gesellschaftliche Teilhabe gewährleisten.

Das DLR – Institut für Verkehrsforschung (IVF) bearbeitet mehrere Projekte, in denen Szenarien für eine nachhaltige Verkehrsentwicklung entwickelt und analysiert werden. Dabei werden mögliche verkehrliche Maßnahmen auf ihre Wirksamkeit geprüft. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das IVF das Verkehrsmodell TAPAS (Travel and Activity Patterns Simulation) entwickelt, das die zukünftige Nachfrage im Personenverkehr untersucht.

Prognose

TAPAS ermöglicht es, denkbare zukünftige Entwicklungen der Verkehrsnachfrage unter veränderten Rahmenbedingungen, etwa durch den demographischen Wandel oder veränderte Einkommensstrukturen darzustellen. Das Modell dient zur Abbildung und Bewertung von Maßnahmen, welche die Nachfrage im Personenverkehr und die Infrastruktur beeinflussen, zum Beispiel veränderte Kosten im Verkehr oder ein anderes Angebot im Öffentlichen Nahverkehr. Darüber hinaus sind von TAPAS wichtige Erkenntnisse über die Akzeptanz von Bevölkerungsgruppen hinsichtlich innovativer Fahrzeuge, Kraftstoffe und Mobilitätskonzepte zu erwarten.

Datengrundlage

Als mikroskopisches Modell geht TAPAS vom Verkehrsverhalten einzelner Personen aus. Empirische Raum- und Strukturdaten, Informationen zur Zeitverwendung sowie Angaben über die Nutzung von Verkehrsmitteln bilden die Basis für eine realistische Abbildung der heutigen und künftigen Nachfrage durch TAPAS. Die Zeitverwendungsdaten der aktuellen Version von TAPAS stammen aus einer Zeitbudgeterhebung, die das Statistische Bundesamt 2001/02 durchführte. Dabei haben 12.600 Personen aus 5.400 Haushalten ihre Tagesabläufe, inklusive der Verkehrsaktivitäten, in Tagebüchern geschildert. Jedes Tagebuch berichtet im Zehn-Minuten-Takt von der Art und Dauer der jeweiligen Aktivität. Erhoben wurden außerdem soziodemografische Merkmale und die Haushaltsausstattung der Befragten.

Die repräsentative Erhebung zum Mobilitätsverhalten der Deutschen im Alltag, „Mobilität in Deutschland (MiD)“, bildet eine weitere wichtige Datenquelle für TAPAS. Insbesondere die Wahl des Verkehrsmittels und der Reiseweiten wird aus den Befragungsergebnissen gewonnen. Die MiD wurde 2002 und 2008 im Auftrag des BMVBS erhoben und enthält das Verhalten von rund 60.000 Personen in Form von Wegedatenbüchern und zusätzlichen soziodemografischen Angaben.

Synthetische Bevölkerung

TAPAS verwendet als wesentliches Grundelement eine synthetische Bevölkerung für einen bestimmten Untersuchungsraum. Auf der Grundlage vorhandener Daten für ein bestimmtes Untersuchungsgebiet wird bestimmt, wie viele Personen dort leben, auf wie viele Haushalte sie sich verteilen und welche soziodemografischen Merkmale sie aufweisen. Anschließend wird für jede Person der synthetischen Bevölkerung anhand der Tagebücher aus der Zeitbudgeterhebung festgelegt, welchen Aktivitäten sie im betrachteten Zeitraum nachgeht.

Aktivitäten

Alter, Geschlecht, Erwerbsstatus und Pkw-Verfügbarkeit sind hierfür entscheidende Kriterien. Es entstehen Wegeketten, die eine Reihe von Ortsveränderungen beschreiben, die sich aus der Abfolge von Tätigkeiten im Tagesverlauf ergeben. Auf Basis dieser Wegeketten und der Personen- und Haushaltseigenschaften bietet TAPAS zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, um Maßnahmen und deren Auswirkungen auf einzelne Verkehrsteilnehmer innerhalb des Modells zu ermitteln.

Als Ergebnis der Berechnungen liegen Fahrtenlisten für einzelne Mitglieder der synthetischen Bevölkerung vor. Diese enthalten den Start und das Ziel der Fahrt, die überbrückte Distanz, den Wegezweck und das gewählte Verkehrsmittel. Daraus lassen sich Kenngrößen ableiten und weiterverarbeiten, die Aufschluss über zu erwartende Verkehrsaktivitäten geben.

Wofür wird TAPAS eingesetzt?

TAPAS ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Analyseinstrumentarien, die Maßnahmen und Wirkungen einer zukünftigen nachhaltigen Verkehrspolitik abbilden und einschätzen. Beispielsweise wurde TAPAS im Rahmen des vom IVF und dem Öko-Institut durchgeführten Forschungsvorhabens RENEWBILITY „Stoffstromanalyse nachhaltige Mobilität im Kontext erneuerbarer Energien bis 2030“ genutzt. Dabei wurden Berechnungen zur Nachfrage im Personenverkehr für die Regionen Berlin, Hamburg, Braunschweig und Main-Rhön für das Jahr 2030 im Vergleich zu 2005 angestellt. Hieraus konnten auch Rückschlüsse auf die Verkehrsentwicklung in ganz Deutschland gezogen werden.


Kontakt
Dipl.-Geographin Rita Cyganski
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Mobilität und Urbane Entwicklung
Tel: +49 30 67055-147

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Rita.Cyganski@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Matthias Heinrichs
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Mobilität und Urbane Entwicklung
Tel: +49 30 67055-174

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Matthias.Heinrichs@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-29381/gallery-1/gallery_read-Image.12.18892/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/simple?screen=Public%3A%3AEPrintSearch&q=TAPAS&subjects=vf&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen
http://daten.clearingstelle-verkehr.de/cgi/set_lang?lang=de&referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fdaten.clearingstelle-verkehr.de%2F223%2F