Current Projects

Transport and the Environment (VEU)



Securing the mobility of people and goods and at the same time preserving a healthy environment and natural resources is one of the main challenges our societies face. The DLR internal project “Transport and the Environment” (VEU) aims to analyze the complete contextual chain from mobility behavior and transport formation through to the environmental and societal effects of traffic and mobility. At the root of the project are empirical studies regarding transport developments of all modes, technological and conceptual progresses, employment effects and the impacts specifically of noise, air pollution and climate gases. The VEU project will use scenario analysis to depict future mobility concepts. The analysis of different development pathways of mobility will be conducted with an integrated chain of models available at the DLR and Helmholtz Institutes.

Major corner stones of the VEU project are:

  • The analysis of multi-modal transport development accompanied by the expansion of knowledge on the socio-economic dynamics, trends and technological progress that will drive the mobility of the future.
  • The plausible, transparent and reproducible modelling of possible future mobility systems, and the analysis of the effects those systems would have, especially on the environment.

The goal of VEU is to generate new scientific knowledge for an integrated, multi-disciplinary assessment of transport developments. Furthermore, results will support decision makers with drafting and evaluating measures for a more sustainable mobility future.

Project

The institutionally funded Project “Transport and the Environment” (VEU) is a collaborative effort of ten DLR institutes, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Helmholtz-Centre Geesthacht (HZG). The second four-year phase of the project started on 1 January 2014. The project is being coordinated and managed by the Institute of Transport Research of the DLR. The project furthers the inter and transdisciplinary cooperation of the project partners within the Helmholtz research community. It strengthens the competence of the DLR “Transport” program. However, it also connects to other DLR programs, particularly “Energy” and “Aeronautics”. 

 Video: VEU
DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

Approach

The unifying element between the work of the contributing institutions is the development of future mobility system scenarios. The scenarios will describe possible pathways and will allow the assessment of the transport systems and their effects. Existing models at the DLR, the KIT and the HZG will be linked and new elements will be developed. The resulting modelling chain will be able to plot developments of transport systems and evaluate the effects on the environment and society. It will thus be possible to use the models and the knowledge gained from them to assess behavioral shifts, new technologies and specific policy measures.

The comprehensive approach of VEU is unique in the scientific community. The multi-disciplinary research at the DLR institutions together with the cooperation with the Helmholtz Institutions KIT and HZG enables this in-depth comprehensive approach. The VEU project brings together the knowledge necessary to answer questions on mobility and the transport system of the future.

Project Phases

2010 – 2013 First phase (concluded)
2014 – 2017 Second phase

Contracting entity

  • German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Partners

involved DLR institutions:

  • Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
  • Institute of Aerospace Medicine
  • Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research
  • Institute of Atmospheric Physics
  • Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics
  • Institute of Propulsion Technology
  • Institute of Transport Research
  • Institute of Transportation Systems
  • Institute of Vehicle Concepts
  • Simulation and Software Technology

further project partners:

  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG), Centre for Materials and Coastal Research

Project duration

Januar 2014 – Dezember 2017


Contact
Dipl.-Geograph Stefan Seum
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Mobility and Urban Development
Tel: +49 30 67055-293

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Stefan.Seum@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-30822/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
VEU-1 Flyer (http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/Portaldata/12/Resources/dokumente/projekte/veu/VEU_Flyer_290911.pdf)

Aktuelle Projekte

Verkehrsentwicklung und Umwelt (VEU)



Die Sicherung der Mobilität bei gleichzeitiger Schonung von Umwelt und Ressourcen gehört zu den großen Herausforderungen der Zukunft. Das DLR-interne Projekt „Verkehrsentwicklung und Umwelt“ (VEU) zielt darauf ab, die vollständige Prozesskette von der Verkehrsgenese und Verkehrsentwicklung bis zu den Wirkungen des Verkehrs analytisch zu erschließen. Gegenstand des Projektes sind empirische Untersuchungen, zu Verkehrsträger- und Verkehrsmittel-übergreifender  Verkehrsentwicklung, zu neuen Technologien und Konzepten der Mobilität, zu Umweltwirkungen des Verkehrs, insbesondere Lärm, Luftqualität und Klima, sowie zu den Arbeitsplatzeffekten verkehrlicher Entwicklungen. Anhand von Szenarien zur Mobilität der Zukunft und deren Abbildung entlang einer integrierten Modellkette wird es möglich, Entwicklungspfade für die Mobilität zu identifizieren und zu analysieren.

Wichtige Bausteine in dem VEU-Projekt sind:

  • Die Analyse der verkehrlichen Entwicklung und die Ausweitung des Wissens zu sozio-ökonomische Dynamiken und Trends sowie technologischen Fortschritten, die diese verkehrlichen Entwicklungen beeinflussen.
  • Die plausible, nachvollziehbare und transparente Modellierung von möglichen zukünftigen Entwicklungen des Verkehrssystems und den damit verbundenen Wirkungen, insbesondere Umweltwirkungen.

Die Ergebnisse des Projekts werden, über den wissenschaftlichen Beitrag hinaus, Entscheidungsträgern bei der Bewertung der Verkehrsentwicklung sowie der Wirksamkeit und Effizienz von Maßnahmen unterstützen.

Projekt

Das institutionell geförderte und institutsübergreifende Projekt „Verkehrsentwicklung und Umwelt“ ist ein Verbundprojekt im DLR-Programm „Verkehr“, an dem zehn Institute des DLR sowie das Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie (KIT) und das Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG) beteiligt sind. Die vierjährige zweite Projektphase wurde am 1. Januar 2014 gestartet. Koordination und Leitung des Projektes liegen beim Institut für Verkehrsforschung. Mit der Themen- und Instituts-übergreifenden Betrachtung des Verkehrssystems nimmt das Projekt eine wichtige integrierende Funktion innerhalb der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und im DLR-Programm Verkehr wahr. Das Projekt VEU knüpft zudem an die Forschungsarbeiten der anderen DLR-Programme, insbesondere Energie und Luftfahrt, an. 

 Video: VEU
DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

Vorgehensweise

Das verbindende Element zwischen den Arbeiten in den beteiligten Instituten ist die Ausarbeitung von Szenarien zur qualitativen und quantitativen Abschätzung der künftigen Entwicklungen des Verkehrssystems und seiner Wirkungen. Hierzu werden bestehende Modelle des DLR sowie des KIT und des HZG kombiniert. Ergebnis ist ein Modellsystem, das heutige und zukünftige Ursachen und Funktionsweisen des Verkehrssystems sowie seine Wirkungen auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft abbildet. Die mögliche Beeinflussung und Steuerungen der zukünftigen Verkehrssysteme durch Technologien und politische Maßnahmen werden auf diese Weise einer Bewertung zugänglich gemacht.

Der ganzheitliche Ansatz des Projektes ist einzigartig in der Wissenschaftslandschaft. Möglich wird dies durch die multidisziplinäre Ausrichtung der Forschung am DLR und insbesondere in den Programmen Energie und Verkehr sowie der Kooperation mit KIT und HZG. Das Projekt bündelt dieses Wissen, um es für die Beantwortung dringlicher Fragen zur Mobilität von Morgen nutzbar zu machen.

Projektphasen

2010 – 2013 Erste Projektphase (abgeschlossen)
2014 – 2017 Zweite Projektphase

Auftraggeber

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Projektpartner

beteiligte DLR-Institute:

  • Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
  • Institut für Antriebstechnik
  • Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte
  • Institut für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr
  • Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin
  • Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
  • Institut für Technische Thermodynamik
  • Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik
  • Simulations- und Softwaretechnik

weitere Projektpartner:

  • Karlsruhe Institute für Technology (KIT), Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Zentrum für Material- und Küstenforschung (HZG)

Projektlaufzeit

Januar 2014 – Dezember 2017


Kontakt
Dipl.-Geograph Stefan Seum
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Mobilität und Urbane Entwicklung
Tel: +49 30 67055-293

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Stefan.Seum@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-30822/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
VEU-1 Flyer (http://www.dlr.de/vf/Portaldata/12/Resources/dokumente/projekte/veu/VEU_Flyer_290911.pdf)