Current Projects

Renewbility II



The federal government intends to reduce CO2 emissions by 40% by 2020 compared to 1990. In order to launch targeted measures in the transport sector, we need basic knowledge about what these measures can contribute to achieve emission reduction targets. In this context, Renewbility II develops various model instruments, which quantify the effect of various transport policy measures for reducing CO2 emissions.

Project

Renewbility II continues Renewbility I. The previous project concluded that it is possible to reduce CO2 emissions from transport by 2030 by nearly 25% compared to 2005. This result can be achieved by a series of transport policies, for example the expansion of public transport services, an increase in truck tolls and fuel prices and an increased use of electric vehicles in passenger and commercial transport. Within Renewbility II, the data base will be updated, instruments will be developed and new packages of measures will be examined for their effectiveness. The focus is on:

  • road transport, rail transport, inland waterway transport and air traffic in Germany
  • direct and indirect emissions
  • demonstrating the impact of traffic measures on the economic development

As in the previous project, stakeholders are involved with identifying effective measures within the framework of a holistic strategy for a sustainable mobility. Representatives of the automotive industry, railway industry, energy sector, logistics sector and environmental NGOs are involved in defining the measure set. These external experts should develop a common scenario on a consensus basis, reflecting different positions within the transport sector.

Renewbility 2 - Vorgehensweise
Modellverbund
Bild: Renewbility ||

Objectives

  • It is a special characteristic of this modeling approach that transport policies are evaluated microscopically for three exemplary regions and that resulting changes are considered for the macroscopic model for traffic demand in Germany. Knowledge about mobility patterns from the „Mobility in Germany 2008“ survey („MiD 2008“) forms the basis for modeling the traffic demand in passenger transport.
  • The effects of the economic crisis are considered in the basic development of the freight traffic by 2030. Especially the GDP development and the employment structure are adapted to this. The effects on employment in the basic development will also be integrated into models of passenger transport.

Approach

For Renewbility II, the DLR - Institute of Transport Research is in charge of microscopic and macroscopic modeling of traffic demand in passenger and freight transport as well as for modeling the registrations of new passenger cars and commercial vehicles.

Contracting entity

  • German Federal Environment Agency (UBA)
  • German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU)

Partners

  • DLR - Institute of Transport Research
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI
  • Öko-Institut e.V. Institute for Applied Ecology

Project duration

2010 - 2012


Contact
Dr.-Ing. Stephan Müller
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Commercial Transport
Tel: +49 30 67055-149

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Stephan.Mueller@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-31346/
Links zu diesem Artikel
https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/publikationen/weiterentwicklung-des-analyseinstruments
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/simple?screen=Public%3A%3AEPrintSearch&q=RENEWBILITY&subjects=vf&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen
http://www.renewbility.de/index.php?id=46

Aktuelle Projekte

Renewbility II



Die Bundesregierung hat zum Ziel, die Treibhausgasemissionen bis zum Jahr 2020 im Vergleich zu 1990 um 40 % zu senken. Für den Einsatz gezielter Maßnahmen im Verkehrssektor ist grundlegendes Wissen um deren Beitrag zum Erreichen der Emissionsminderungsziele nötig. Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelt das Projekt Renewbility ein umfangreiches Modellinstrumentarium, welches die Wirkung von vielfältigen verkehrspolitischen Maßnahmen zur Minderung von Treibhausgasemissionen quantifiziert.

Projekt

Das laufende Projekt Renewbility II ist die Fortführung des ersten Projekts Renewbility. Das Projekt Renewbility kam zu dem Ergebnis, dass bis zum Jahr 2030 Minderungen der gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen des Verkehrs um fast ein Viertel gegenüber 2005 möglich sind. Dieser Einschätzung liegt die Überprüfung einer Reihe von verkehrspolitischen Maßnahmen zu Grunde. Dazu gehören die Ausweitung des Angebots im öffentlichen Verkehr, eine Erhöhung der Lkw-Maut, steigende Kraftstoffpreise oder der vermehrte Einsatz von elektrisch angetriebenen Fahrzeugen im Personen- und Wirtschaftsverkehr. Im Anschlussprojekt Renewbility II werden die Daten aktualisiert, die Instrumente weiterentwickelt und neue Maßnahmenbündel auf ihre Wirkmächtigkeit untersucht. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf

  • dem Straßen-, Schienen-, Binnenschiff- und Luftverkehr in Deutschland,
  • den direkten und indirekten Emissionen
  • sowie der Abbildung der Wirkung verkehrlicher Maßnahmen auf die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung.

Wie im Vorgängerprojekt sind gesellschaftliche Akteure bei der Identifizierung wirkungsvoller Maßnahmen innerhalb einer ganzheitlichen Strategie für eine nachhaltige Mobilität beteiligt. An der Definition der Maßnahmenbündel wirken unter anderem Vertreter der Automobil-, Bahn-, Energie- und Logistikbranche sowie Nicht-Regierungs-Organisationen aus dem Umweltbereich mit. Ziel der Integration externer Experten ist die Erstellung eines gemeinschaftlichen, im Konsens erarbeiteten Szenarios, dass die unterschiedlichen Positionen der Beteiligten im Verkehrsbereich zum Ausdruck bringt.

Renewbility 2 - Vorgehensweise
Modellverbund
Bild: Renewbility ||

Ziele

  • Die Besonderheit des Modellierungsansatzes liegt darin, dass die verkehrspolitischen Maßnahmen mikroskopisch für drei Beispielräume evaluiert werden und darauf basierende Änderungen im makroskopischen Modell für die Verkehrsnachfrage in Deutschland berücksichtigt werden. Grundlage für die Modellierung der Verkehrsnachfrage im Personenverkehr sind Erkenntnisse zum Mobilitätsverhalten aus der Erhebung „Mobilität in Deutschland 2008“ (MiD).
  • In der Basisentwicklung des Güterverkehrs bis 2030 sind die Auswirkungen der Wirtschaftskrise berücksichtigt. Insbesondere die BIP-Entwicklung und die Beschäftigungsstruktur werden dabei angepasst. Die Beschäftigungseffekte in der Basisentwicklung werden auch in den Modellen für den Personenverkehr integriert.

Vorgehensweise

Das Institut für Verkehrsforschung (IVF) übernimmt für Renewbility II die mikroskopische und makroskopische Modellierung der Verkehrsnachfrage im Personen- und Wirtschaftsverkehr sowie die Modellierung der Neuzulassungen von Pkw und Nutzfahrzeugen.

Auftraggeber

  • Umweltbundesamt
  • Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit

Projektpartner

  • DLR - Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • Fraunhofer Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung
  • Öko-Institut e.V.

Projektlaufzeit

2010 - 2012


Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Stephan Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Wirtschaftsverkehr
Tel: +49 30 67055-149

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Stephan.Mueller@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-31346/
Links zu diesem Artikel
https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/publikationen/weiterentwicklung-des-analyseinstruments
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/simple?screen=Public%3A%3AEPrintSearch&q=RENEWBILITY&subjects=vf&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen
http://www.renewbility.de/index.php?id=46