Current Projects

Integration of logistics hubs and their specific volume of traffic in freight transport demand modelling



Logistics hubs play an important role in transport processes between sender and recipients. Specific characteristics of logistics hubs cause differences in transport volumes. These transport differences cannot actually be taken up by the transport demand theory, as neither a general nor a node typological classification exists.

Project

The core objective of this project is the integrated view of logistics hubs (e.g. regional warehouses, terminals for combined transport, freight stations) and the typological derivation of parameters of the logistics hubs. These values shall provide information about specific transport services and transport volumes of the logistics hubs. The target is to systematically identify and analyse the relationships which are significant for the development of freight traffic generation. In this way, the application of a transport demand theory which includes explicit logistics hubs shall be made possible. Based on extensive theoretically fundamental work, a typological order of logistics hubs is derived. On this basis a transport demand theory is developed, which is integrating logistics hubs with their specific volumes of traffic as active, demand driving systems. The research project will make a crucial contribution to explore and to structure fundamental correlations between logistics hubs and freight transport and to make this usable for models. By combining logistics knowledge and competences in the field of transport demand theory and modelling, the project provides data bases, typologies of logistics hubs and approaches of the demand theory in an innovative way.

Objectives

The core objective is the integration of logistics hubs and the typological derivation of parameters for the development and first-time adoption of a transport demand theory, explicitly considering these logistics hubs. To achieve this goal, several steps have to be implemented:

  1. Theory-guided, empirically based typological order of logistics hubs
    Inventory controlling hubs (distribution network hubs) as well as non-inventory controlling hubs (transport network hubs) are considered. For the derivation of a systematic correlation between the typology of logistics hubs and the resulting freight traffic, the main focus is on non-inventory controlling hubs in this project.
  2. Determination of the specific ingoing and outgoing volume of traffic for different types of logistics hubs
    Based on the typology of hubs, specific volumes of traffic are determined. In this context, parameters of single hubs or locations are considered microscopically and abstracted to an extent that makes it possible to develop typical and similar groups for macroscopic approaches.
  3. Developing a theory for integrating logistics hubs and their specific volume of traffic into a freight transport demand model
    Based on macroscopic and disaggregated approaches, a theory is developed, which incorporates single nodes, their network integration and their transport demand in an aggregated way. This is the basis for a crucial improvement of freight transport demand modelling.

Approach

  • Development of a typology of logistics hubs
  • Analysis of secondary statistics
  • Empirical survey
  • Literary analysis about freight transport demand modelling
  • Development of a demand theory
  • Typification
  • Characteristic value formation
  • Implementation and validation

Contracting entity

  • German Research Foundation (DFG)

Partners

  • DLR - Institute of Transport Research
  • Institute of Transport Logistics at TU Dortmund, Professor Clausen

Projekt duration

June 2011 – May 2013


Contact
Dr. rer. pol. Jens Klauenberg
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Commercial Transport
Tel: +49 30 67055-192

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Jens.Klauenberg@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-32616/

Aktuelle Projekte

Integration logistischer Knoten und ihres spezifischen Verkehrsaufkommens in die Nachfragemodellierung des Güterverkehrs



Logistische Knoten nehmen eine entscheidende Stellung in den Transportprozessen zwischen Versendern (Quellen) und Empfängern (Ziele bzw. Senken) ein. Die spezifischen Charakteristika der Knoten bedingen Unterschiede im – aus der Funktion des Knotens resultierenden – Güterverkehr. Doch weder allgemein noch knotentypologisch untergliedert können diese verkehrlichen Unterschiede momentan seitens der Verkehrsnachfragetheorie aufgegriffen werden.

Projekt

Kernziel des Vorhabens ist die integrierte Betrachtung von logistischen Knoten (z.B. Regionallager, Terminals des kombinierten Verkehrs, Speditionsstandorte) und die typologische Ableitung von Kennwerten für die Entwicklung der Güterverkehrsgenese sowie die Anwendung einer diese Knoten explizit beachtenden Verkehrsnachfragetheorie. Auf Grundlage umfangreicher theoretischer Grundlagenarbeiten wird eine typologische Ordnung logistischer Knoten abgeleitet. Darauf aufbauend wird erstmals eine Verkehrsnachfragetheorie entwickelt, die Logistikknoten mit ihren spezifischen Quell- und Zielverkehrsaufkommen als agierende, die Nachfrage bestimmende Systeme in Nachfragemodelle integriert. Das Forschungsvorhaben wird einen entscheidenden Beitrag dazu leisten, grundlegende Zusammenhänge zwischen logistischen Knoten und dem Güterverkehr zu erforschen, zu strukturieren und modellseitig nutzbar zu machen. Mittels der Verknüpfung des logistischen Fachwissens und der Kompetenzen im Bereich der Verkehrsnachfragetheorie und -modellierung werden im Projekt Datengrundlagen, Knotentypologien und Ansätze der Nachfragetheorie in einer neuartigen Aufbereitung und Verknüpfung bereitgestellt.

Ziele

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes ist die integrierte Betrachtung von logistischen Knoten und die typologische Ableitung von Kennwerten für die Entwicklung bzw. erstmalige Anwendung einer diese Knoten explizit beachtenden Verkehrsnachfragetheorie. Zur Erreichung dieser Zielsetzung sind verschiedene Teilziele umzusetzen:

  1. Theorie geleitete und Empirie basierte typologische Ordnung logistischer Knoten
    Hierbei werden sowohl bestandsführende Knoten (Distributionsnetzknoten) als auch nicht-bestandsführende Knoten (Transportnetzknoten) grundlegend analytisch berücksichtigt. Für die Ableitung eines systematischen Zusammenhangs zwischen der Knotentypologie und dem resultierenden Güterverkehr liegt der spezielle Fokus jedoch vorerst auf den nicht-bestandsführende Knoten.
  2. Bestimmung eines spezifischen Quell- und Zielverkehrsaufkommens für die Knotentypen
    Auf Grundlage der Knotentypologie werden spezifische Verkehrsaufkommen bestimmt. Dabei werden die Kennwerte einzelner Knoten bzw. Standorte auf der mikroskopischen Perspektive betrachtet als auch soweit abstrahiert, dass typische, verkehrlich ähnliche Gruppen für makroskopische Ansätze gebildet werden können.
  3. Theorieentwicklung zur Integration der logistischen Knotentypen und ihres spezifischen Verkehrsaufkommens in ein Verkehrsnachfragemodell
    Aufbauend auf bisherigen makroskopischen und disaggregierten Ansätzen wird eine Theorie generiert, welche die einzelnen Knoten, ihre Netzwerkeinbindung und ihre Transportnachfrage aggregiert nachbildet. Damit wird der Grundstein für eine entscheidende Verbesserung der Verkehrsnachfragemodellierung des Güterverkehrs gelegt.

Vorgehensweise

  • Typologisierung von logistischen Knotenpunkten
  • Analyse der Sekundärstatistik
  • Empirische Erhebung
  • Literaturanalyse zur Verkehrsnachfragemodellierung
  • Entwicklung einer Nachfragetheorie
  • Typenbildung
  • Kennwertbildung
  • Umsetzung und Validierung

Auftraggeber

  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Projektpartner

  • DLR - Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • TU Dortmund, Institut für Transportlogistik, Professor Clausen

Projektlaufzeit

Juni 2011 – Mai 2013


Kontakt
Dr. rer. pol. Jens Klauenberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Wirtschaftsverkehr
Tel: +49 30 67055-192

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Jens.Klauenberg@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-32616/