Current Projects

SELECT - Electric Mobility in Commercial Transport



Commercial transport not only represents a significant share of urban transport but is at the same time responsible for a substantial amount of air pollution and noise. Commercial transport is not simply the transport of goods but also comprises trips of service providers such as electricians, plumbers or social services. These urban commercial trips are usually short and the daily mileage rarely exceeds 100 km. Also these trips are usually planned in advance. Given short distances and early planning, urban commercial transport makes for an excellent use case for battery electric vehicles.

Project

The project “Suitable electromobility for commercial transport“ (SELECT) investigates how electric vehicles could contribute to an environmentally sustainable alternative to current patterns of urban commercial transport. Coordinated by the Berlin Institute of Transport Research of the German Aerospace Centre DLR, SELECT is supported by the European Union as well as national funding authorities in Austria, Denmark and Germany and brings together partners from business and science.

Objectives

The project’s central objective is to understand the technical and practical user requirements for using electric vehicles in commercial transport and to develop a set of methods for the fleet management of electric and mixed fleets. SELECT investigates the economic, infrastructural and political conditions needed for a seamless transition from conventional to electric vehicles.

Approach

SELECT is based on the results of projects such as “Modellregion Elektromobilität” Berlin, the Austrian VLOTTE and others. These provide an important input for SELECT surveys which will identify the possibilities for using electric vehicles as well as sector and fleet specific requirements. Based on these analyses SELECT will develop methods for planning tools tailored to the specific needs of commercial transport and fleet operators when introducing electric vehicles. Throughout the project the team will engage in a continuous discussion with (potential) users of commercial electric vehicles as well as decision makers in politics and urban planning.

Contracting entity

Partners

Research

Industry

Project duration

August 2012 - June 2015


Contact
Dr. rer. pol. Jens Klauenberg
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Commercial Transport
Tel: +49 30 67055-192

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Jens.Klauenberg@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-35688/

Aktuelle Projekte

SELECT - Elektromobilität im Wirtschaftsverkehr



Der Wirtschaftsverkehr stellt einen bedeutenden Anteil des Gesamtverkehrs in den Städten dar. Er trägt in hohem Maße zur Belastung durch Luftschadstoffe und Lärm bei. Wirtschaftsverkehr ist keineswegs nur Güterverkehr, vielmehr gehören dazu auch die Fahrten von Dienstleistern, wie zum Beispiel Handwerkern oder sozialen Diensten. Fahrten im städtischen Wirtschaftsverkehr sind in der Regel eher kurz und die Tagesfahrleistung der Fahrzeuge, die dabei eingesetzt werden, beträgt selten mehr als 100 km. Zudem sind diese Fahrten in der Regel vorab geplant. Kurze Distanzen und frühzeitige Planung machen den städtischen Wirtschaftsverkehr somit zu einem ausgezeichneten Anwendungsfall für batterieelektrische Antriebe.

Projekt

Das Projekt"Suitable electromobility for commercial transport" (SELECT) untersucht, inwieweit der Einsatz von Elektrofahrzeugen eine Alternative für einen umweltfreundlichen Wirtschaftsverkehr in der Stadt sein kann. Das von der Europäischen Union sowie nationalen Initiativen in Österreich, Dänemark und Deutschland geförderte Projekt mit Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft wird vom Berliner Institut für Verkehrsforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) koordiniert.

Ziele

Zentrales Ziel des Projektes ist die Ermittlung der technischen und praktischen Nutzeranforderungen zum Einsatz von Elektrofahrzeugen im Wirtschaftsverkehr sowie die Entwicklung von Methoden zum optimierten Einsatz gemischter Fahrzeugflotten. Darüber hinaus geht es um die Frage nach den notwendigen ökonomischen, infrastrukturellen sowie politischen Voraussetzungen, um einen möglichst reibungslosen Wechsel von konventionellen zu Elektrofahrzeugen realisieren zu können.

Vorgehensweise

Ausgangspunkt für SELECT sind Forschungsergebnisse aus Projekten, wie sie beispielsweise im Rahmen der „Modellregion Elektromobilität“ in Berlin oder VLOTTE in Österreich erarbeitet wurden. Darauf bauen Befragungen auf, die im Projekt SELECT durchgeführt werden, um die Bandbreite der Einsatzmöglichkeiten sowie deren branchen- und betriebsspezifische Voraussetzungen zu ermitteln. In einem weiteren Schritt entwickelt SELECT Methoden für die Erstellung von Planungswerkzeugen, die den speziellen Bedürfnissen des Wirtschaftsverkehrs gerecht werden und Flottenbetreiber beim effizienten Einsatz von Elektrofahrzeugen unterstützen. Wichtig hier wie im gesamten Projekt ist die fortlaufende, begleitende Diskussion mit den (potenziellen) Nutzern der Elektrofahrzeuge sowie mit den Entscheidungsträgern aus Politik und Planung.

Auftraggeber

Projektpartner

Wissenschaft

Wirtschaft

Projektlaufzeit

von August 2012 bis Juni 2015


Kontakt
Dr. rer. pol. Jens Klauenberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Wirtschaftsverkehr
Tel: +49 30 67055-192

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Jens.Klauenberg@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-35688/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.select-project.eu