Current Projects

STROM-Assist: Global Perspectives of Electric Mobility



 STROM: Key Technologies for Electric Mobility
zum Bild STROM: Key Technologies for Electric Mobility

On the road to marketable electric vehicles, there are some fundamental hurdles to overcome. Within the scope of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research’s funding priority “STROM - Key Technologies for Electric Mobility”  (Schlüsseltechnologien für die Elektromobilität – STROM), joint research projects are funded particularly in the areas of battery research, energy management and entire vehicle systems. In this, the STROM sponsorship scheme is guided by recommendations from the National Electric Mobility Platform (Nationalen Plattform Elektromobilität).

The STROM-Assist project forms the accompanying research in this sponsorship scheme and is carried out in cooperation with the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy. The DLR is represented by the Institute of Transport Research and the Institute of Vehicle Concepts.

Project

Within the STROM funding area, a total of 20 projects are being undertaken. Core research areas include energy and thermal management, drive systems, and vehicle concepts and lightweight construction for electric vehicles. The objective of the STROM-Assist project is to compare the technical developments within the STROM funding area with worldwide trends in research and development in the field of electric mobility. The aim is to establish in which areas German research work needs to be strengthened and in which areas it is already playing a leading role. To this end, the project team stays in close contact with all STROM projects, in order to keep informed about current trends and developments.

The work of the STROM-Assist project involves both the technologies themselves and also the current framework conditions concerning the topic of electric mobility. The challenges, objectives and limits of specific key technologies are to be determined by means of technology monitoring. Within this, the international state of development is to be analyzed in particular, in order to be able to correctly assess the STROM technologies and their development level. Alongside technology monitoring, material usage for serial production plays an important role. To this end, essential technology paths are identified in the project, and a material intensity analysis carried out. Demand for material and energy resources is appraised on the basis of long-term scenarios. A third main focus of the accompanying research is to exchange knowledge with international partners on the status quo, and about trends in selected world regions. State funding measures, current market opportunities and important R&D activity in the electric mobility field are analyzed in five regional studies. The STROM-Assist project cooperates with partner institutes from India, Japan, China, Switzerland and the USA in this.

Objectives

The objective of the project is to analyze the STROM funding area technologies in the context of international research, answering the following central questions in the process:

  • What are the trends in vehicle technology and concept research and development, and what are the resulting bottlenecks and problems?
  • What effects does electric mobility have on the consumption of materials?
  • What trends and developments can be seen globally?

Approach

The following key activities run in parallel and are carried out by the DLR, the Wuppertal Institute or jointly.

  1. Technology monitoring (DLR)
  • Determination of challenges, objectives and limits of specific technological developments
  • Analysis of the international state of development for an assessment of STROM technologies
  • Entry of results into a vehicle data base
  1. Material intensity analysis (Wuppertal Institute)
  • Identification and selection of important technology trajectories
  • Analysis of specific material intensity of system components
  • Long-term scenarios for the assessment of total demand for material and energy resources
  1. Regional studies (DLR, Wuppertal Institute)
  • Knowledge exchange on status quo and trends in technologies, state funding measures, R&D activities and electric mobility market opportunities
  • Description of trends and framework conditions of electric mobility for own evaluation and forecasting regarding STROM projects
  • Expert interview in China, Japan, India, USA and Europe

Contracting entity

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Partners

  • DLR-Institute of Transport Research
  • DLR-Institute of Vehicle Concepts
  • Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Enviornment and Energy

Project duration

from 10/2011 to 09/2014


Contact
Danny Kreyenberg, MBE
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Passenger Transport
Tel: +49 30 67055-7936

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Danny.Kreyenberg@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-36945/

Aktuelle Projekte

STROMbegleitung: Begleitforschung zu Technologien, Perspektiven und Ökobilanzen der Elektromobilität



 

 STROM: Schlüsseltechnologien der Elektromobilität
zum Bild STROM: Schlüsseltechnologien der Elektromobilität

Auf dem Weg zu marktfähigen Elektrofahrzeugen sind wesentliche technologische Hürden zu überwinden. Im Rahmen des Förderschwerpunktes „Schlüsseltechnologien für die Elektromobilität – STROM“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung werden Verbundvorhaben insbesondere auf den Gebieten Batterieforschung, Energiemanagement und Gesamtfahrzeugsysteme gefördert. Der Förderschwerpunkt STROM orientiert sich dabei an den Empfehlungen der Nationalen Plattform Elektromobilität.

Das Projekt STROMbegleitung stellt die Begleitforschung zu diesem Förderschwerpunkt dar und wird in Kooperation mit dem Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt und Energie durchgeführt. Das DLR ist mit dem Institut für Verkehrsforschung und dem Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte vertreten.

Projekt

Innerhalb des Förderschwerpunktes STROM werden insgesamt 20 Projekte durchgeführt. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind dabei beispielsweise das Energie und Thermomanagement, das Antriebssystem, das Fahrzeugkonzept oder der Leichtbau von Elektrofahrzeugen. Ziel des Projekts STROMbegleitung ist es, die technischen Entwicklungen innerhalb des STROM Förderschwerpunktes mit den weltweiten Trends in Entwicklung und Forschung im Bereich Elektromobilität zu vergleichen. Es soll geklärt werden, in welchen Bereichen die deutschen Forschungsarbeiten verstärkt werden müssen und in welchen Bereichen bereits eine führende Rolle eingenommen wurde. Dazu steht das Projektteam in engem Kontakt mit den STROM-Projekten, um über aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen zu informieren.

Die Arbeiten des Projekts STROMbegleitung umfassen sowohl die Technologien selbst, als auch die aktuellen Rahmenbedingungen zum Thema Elektromobilität. Anhand eines Technologie-Monitorings sollen Herausforderungen, Ziele und Grenzen spezifischer Schlüsseltechnologien der Elektromobilität ermittelt werden. Dabei soll insbesondere der internationale Entwicklungsstand analysiert werden, um die STROM-Technologien und deren Entwicklungsstand richtig einordnen zu können. Neben dem Monitoring der Technologien spielt der Materialeinsatz für eine Serienfertigung eine wichtige Rolle. Dazu werden im Projekt wesentliche Technologiepfade identifiziert und eine Materialintensitätsanalyse durchgeführt. Anhand von Langfristszenarien wird der Bedarf an stofflichen und energetischen Ressourcen abgeschätzt. Ein dritter Schwerpunkt der Begleitforschung ist der Wissensaustausch mit internationalen Partnern zum Status-quo und zu Trends in ausgewählten Weltregionen. In fünf Regionalstudien werden staatliche Fördermaßnahmen, die aktuelle Marktperspektive und wesentliche F&E Aktivitäten im Bereich Elektromobilität analysiert. Das Projekt STROMbegleitung kooperiert hierzu mit Partnerinstituten aus Indien, Japan, China, Schweiz und der USA.

Ziele

Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Technologien des STROM Förderschwerpunktes im Kontext internationaler Forschungsaktivitäten zu analysieren und dabei folgende Leitfragen zu beantworten:

  • Welche Trends in der Entwicklung und Erforschung von Fahrzeugtechniken und Fahrzeugkonzepten existieren, und welche technologischen Engpässe und Probleme ergeben sich?
  • Welche Auswirkungen hat die Elektromobilität auf den Verbrauch von Materialen und Rohstoffen?
  • Welche unterschiedlichen Trends und Entwicklungen lassen sich global erkennen?

Vorgehensweise

Die folgenden Arbeitsschwerpunkte laufen zeitlich parallel zueinander und werden durch das DLR, das Wuppertal Institut oder in Zusammenarbeit bearbeitet.

  1. Technologie-Monitoring (DLR)
  • Ermittlung von Herausforderungen, Zielen und Grenzen spezifischer technologischer Entwicklungen
  • Analyse des internationalen Entwicklungsstands zur Einordnung der STROM-Technologien
  • Überführung der Ergebnisse in eine Fahrzeugdatenbank
  1. Materialintensitätsanalyse (Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt und Energie GmbH)
  • Identifizierung und Auswahl wesentlicher Technologiepfade
  • Analysen zur spezifischen Materialintensität von Systemkomponenten
  • Langfristszenarien zur Abschätzung des gesamten Bedarfs an stofflichen und energetischen Ressourcen
  1. Regionalstudien (DLR, Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt und Energie GmbH)
  • Wissensaustausch zum Status-quo und zu Trends von Technologien, staatlichen Fördermaßnahmen, F&E Aktivitäten und Marktperspektiven der Elektromobilität
  • Darstellung von Rahmenbedingungen und Trends zur Elektromobilität für eigene Bewertungen und Prognosen bezüglich der STROM-Projekte
  • Experteninterviews in China, Japan, Indien, USA und Europa.

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Projektpartner

  • DLR-Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • DLR-Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte
  • Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt und Energie GmbH

Projektlaufzeit

von 10/2011 bis 09/2014


Kontakt
Danny Kreyenberg, MBE
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Personenverkehr
Tel: +49 30 67055-7936

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Danny.Kreyenberg@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-36945/