Current Projects

WIV-RAD: Analysis of bicycle use in commercial transport



Copyright: DLR

Bicycles in their various structural shapes were a common means of transport for freight distribution and internal company transport in the first half of the 20th century. They have also been used as company vehicles for purposes besides goods transport, such as service trips by craftsmen. However, with the rise of automobiles in the 1950s and 1960s, bicycles were increasingly displaced as commercial vehicles. Their relevance for economic growth was considered to be low. Bicycles were even stigmatized as means of transport for the poor. With the emerging discussion on scarcity of resources and environmental protection, we have seen a bicycle renaissance in passenger transport in some western countries from the 1970s on.

Pioneers of commercial bicycle use can be found in the messenger networks of New York City (also starting in the 1970s) and some large German cities (since the 1990s). Besides freight transport (especially courier services), bicycle use could also conceivably be applied in other market segments of commercial transport and has been tried out to some degree for B2C deliveries (e.g. pizza home delivery), internal transports (e.g. on large industrial or military sites) and service transports (e.g. facility management, handicraft, mobile nursery and home care). Therefore the potentials of (electric) bicycles and (electric) cargo bikes are gaining growing attention as part of modern bicycle transport promotion programs such as the German National Cycling Plan 2020.

Project

DLR Institute of Transport Research has been awarded to carry out the project “Untersuchung des Einsatzes von Fahrrädern im Wirtschaftsverkehr (analysis of bicycle use in commercial transport) WIV-RAD” by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) as part of the “Forschungsprogramm Stadtverkehr (urban transport research program) FoPS”. Within this rarely investigated field, an overview of the needs of commercial transport actors can help in stimulating the future role of bicycles as an environmentally-friendly alternative for urban freight transport and service trips.

Objectives

  • Overview of existing examples of commercial bicycle and (electric) cargo bike use in freight and service transport
  • Potential estimates of bicycle use in commercial transport until 2030
  • Analysis of framework conditions: drivers and barriers
  • Derivation of recommendations to foster commercial bicycle use

Approach

The project WIV-RAD will create a comprehensive overview of bicycle use in commercial transport. Results from different market segments where bicycles and (electric) cargo bikes are used commercially will be included. This overview should help potential new users and branches to implement bicycles as an economically and environmentally viable alternative. Results from existing pilots and demonstrations will be collected. Expert interviews will be conducted with company representatives and bicycle experts (from public authorities, associations, planning, research, etc.).The extent to which innovative city logistics concepts such as same day deliveries have the potential of fostering commercial bicycle and cargo bike use will also be investigated.

In the next step, reduction potentials for traffic volume and emissions will be calculated using scenario techniques. This will allow realistic estimates for the stock of bicycles in the identified market segments by 2030.

Drivers and barriers influencing the exhaustion of the calculated reduction potentials will be identified and will lead to the derivation of recommendations which will be made available for public authorities and relevant economic actors.

Results

A 30-page manual for action guidelines will be published in November 2015.

Contracting entity

  • German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI)

Subcontractors

  • Spath + Nagel, Büro für Städtebau und Stadtforschung (Berlin)
  • messenger Transport + Logistik (Berlin)
  • Forschungsgesellschaft Mobilität, Austrian Mobility Research, FGM - AMOR (Graz)

Project duration

12/2013 - 12/2015


Contact
Dipl.-Geograph Johannes Gruber
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Transport Research
, Commercial Transport
Tel: +49 30 67055-200

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Johannes.Gruber@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-39657/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://edoc.difu.de/edoc.php?id=SR21T6V3
http://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Artikel/UI/forschungsprogramm-stadtverkehr-fops-programm-zur-verbesserung-der-verkehrsverhaeltnisse-in-d.html?nn=36540

Aktuelle Projekte

WIV-RAD: Untersuchung des Einsatzes von Fahrrädern im Wirtschaftsverkehr



Quelle: DLR

Das Fahrrad war in vielfältigen Bauformen in der  ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts ein selbstverständliches Transportmittel für  Distributions- und Werkverkehre. Auch für gewerbliche Tätigkeiten, bei denen der Gütertransport nicht im Mittelpunkt stand – etwa für Handwerker – war das  Fahrrad ein gebräuchliches Dienstfahrzeug. Die Automobilisierung der Gesellschaft führte in den 1950er- und 1960er-Jahren zu einer zunehmenden Verdrängung des Fahrrads. Seine Rolle für das Wirtschaftswachstum wurde als gering angesehen, teilweise wurde es als Fortbewegungsmittel der "armen Leute" stigmatisiert. Eine Renaissance des Fahrrads im Personenverkehr kann seit den 1970er-Jahren beobachtet werden, befördert durch den aufkommenden Diskurs um Ressourcenknappheit und Umweltschutz.

Pioniere der gewerblichen Fahrradnutzung finden sich in den Kurierszenen New York Citys (ebenfalls ab den 1970er-Jahren) sowie einiger deutscher Großstädte (vor allem ab den 1990er-Jahren). Neben den gewerblichen Güterverkehren (insbesondere für Kurierdienstleistungen) ist die Fahrradnutzung auch in anderen Marktsegmenten des Wirtschaftsverkehrs denkbar und bereits teilweise schon erprobt: Auslieferverkehre an Endkunden (z.B. Pizzadienste oder Lebensmittel-Heimbelieferung), Werkverkehre (etwa auf Industrie- oder Kasernengeländen) sowie Service- und Dienstleistungsverkehre (z.B. Facility Management, Handwerk, Pflegedienste). Daher erlangt im Zuge zeitgemäßer Radverkehrsförderung auch die gewerbliche Nutzung von Fahrrädern und Lastenrädern eine aufkeimende Würdigung, etwa im Nationalen Radverkehrsplan 2020.

Projekt

Das Institut für Verkehrsforschung (IVF) erhielt vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) im Rahmen des Forschungsprogramms Stadtverkehr (FoPS) den Auftrag zur Durchführung des Projekts „Untersuchung des Einsatzes von Fahrrädern im Wirtschaftsverkehr“ (WIV-RAD). In diesem bislang kaum erforschten Themenfeld kann eine strukturierte Aufbereitung der Anforderungen gewerblicher Fahrradnutzung helfen, die Rolle des Fahrrads als umweltfreundliches Transportmittel künftig zu stärken.

Ziele

  • Bestandsaufnahme zum Einsatz von Fahrrädern und (Elektro-)Lastenrädern im Güter- und Personenwirtschaftsverkehr
  • Potenzialabschätzung für den Fahrrad-Wirtschaftsverkehr bis 2030
  • Identifikation von förderlichen sowie hemmenden Rahmenbedingungen
  • Ableitung von Handlungsempfehlungen zur Stärkung der gewerblichen Fahrradnutzung

Vorgehensweise

Im Projekt WIV-RAD wird eine ausführliche Bestandsaufnahme zum Einsatz von Fahrrädern und (Elektro-)Lastenrädern im Wirtschaftsverkehr durchgeführt, die strukturiert die Ergebnisse aus denjenigen Marktsegmenten ableitet, in denen bereits heute eine gewerbliche Nutzung von Fahrrädern und Lastenrädern stattfindet. Damit soll weiteren Branchen der Zugang zu einer ökonomischen und ökologischen Fahrzeugalternative vereinfacht werden. Es findet einerseits eine breit angelegte Analyse von Pilotversuchen statt, zum anderen werden Expertengespräche mit Unternehmen und Branchenkennern geführt. Ferner werden innovative Citylogistik-Konzepte untersucht, die dem gewerblichen Einsatz von Fahrrädern und Lastenrädern förderlich sind.

In einem weiteren Schritt werden unter Anwendung der Szenariotechnik verkehrliche und emissionsbezogene Reduktionspotenziale berechnet, um eine wirklichkeitsnahe Abschätzung zum Bestand an Fahrrädern und Lastenrädern in den identifizierten Marktsegmenten des Wirtschaftsverkehrs im Jahr 2030 geben zu können.

Förderliche und hemmende Faktoren, die die Ausschöpfung der Reduktionspotenziale bestimmen, werden identifiziert und führen zur Formulierung von Maßnahmen und Handlungsempfehlungen. Diese werden in Form eines umsetzungsorientierten Leitfadens für die öffentliche Hand sowie für die relevanten wirtschaftlichen Akteure aufbereitet.

Ergebnisse

Ein 30-seitiger Handlungsleitfaden mit den Ergebnissen dieses Projekts wird im November 2015 veröffentlicht.

Auftraggeber

  • Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI)

Unterauftragnehmer

  • Spath + Nagel, Büro für Städtebau und Stadtforschung (Berlin)
  • messenger Transport + Logistik (Berlin)
  • Forschungsgesellschaft Mobilität, Austrian Mobility Research, FGM - AMOR (Graz)

Projektlaufzeit

von 12/2013 bis 12/2015


Kontakt
Dipl.-Geograph Johannes Gruber
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrsforschung
, Wirtschaftsverkehr
Tel: +49 30 67055-200

Fax: +49 30 67055-283

E-Mail: Johannes.Gruber@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2974/1445_read-39657/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://edoc.difu.de/edoc.php?id=SR21T6V3
http://www.bmvi.de/SharedDocs/DE/Artikel/UI/forschungsprogramm-stadtverkehr-fops-programm-zur-verbesserung-der-verkehrsverhaeltnisse-in-d.html?nn=36540