Institute of Transport Research



Mobility – a fundamental human requirement

Mobility and transport move people today more than ever: They ensure social participation, economic activity, the ability to get around locally and even a connection to the rest of the world.

Sustainable mobility

In Germany today, a high level of individual mobility has been reached, and this needs to be maintained. At the same time, involvement in the global economy requires new, even more efficient transport concepts. One of the biggest tasks of the future is to achieve sustainability in transport: We are focused on reducing harmful environmental impacts. With regard to social transformations such as demographic change, however, the social component of mobility is also becoming more and more important.

Researchers of various disciplines are researching the developments and prospects of passenger and commercial transport. Our vision: a modern, fit-for-the future transport system, efficient and sustainable for people and the environment.

The Institute’s research fields:

  • Studies of mobility and trip patterns of people in both private households and businesses
  • Models depicting and forecasting regional transport demand in passenger and commercial transport
  • Assessment of technologies and measures regarding their potential effectiveness
  • Acceptance and usage potential of electric mobility in passenger and commercial transport
  • Interactions between information and communication technology (ICT) and mobility
  • Urban mobility in national and international contexts

The Institute for Transport Research is networked via research cooperation and projects on national and international levels. It works together closely with university teaching and research, for instance via our Head of Institute, Prof. Dr. Barbara Lenz, who holds a Professorship in Transport Geography at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, but also through the teaching of a number of our researchers in higher education institutes and other research centers in the region around the capital and beyond.

Department


 

Passenger Transport


Whether travelling to work or college, going on holiday or getting around in your free time, mobility is a fundamental human requirement and stands for progress, quality of life, and freedom. With increasing wealth and individualization of lifestyles, passenger transport has been increasing in industrialised countries for decades. A second glance shows, however, that mobility patterns are constantly changing...
 
 
 

Commercial Transport


Commercial transport in Germany is growing rapidly. Day after day, 80 million people require extensive freight transport and business journeys. Furthermore, there are 4 million businesses in this country that are dependent on an efficient transport infrastructure. Almost a third of all the kilometers covered on Germany’s roads can today be attributed to commercial transport...
 
 
 

Mobility and Urban Development


Today, more than half of the world’s population is already living in cities. According to UN forecasts it will be around 75% in 2050. The significance of the city as an economic and living space is constantly growing. Mobility in urban areas is a topic where the social, economic and ecological challenges of the 21st century are becoming especially clear. Many new mobility trends are appearing in cities today: In the inner-city...
 
 

 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/vf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-938/1391_read-6295/

Institut für Verkehrsforschung



Mobilität - ein Grundbedürfnis des Menschen

Mobilität und Verkehr bewegen die Menschen heute mehr denn je: Sie garantieren gesellschaftliche Teilhabe, wirtschaftliche Aktivitäten, Fortbewegung im Alltag vor Ort und auch den Anschluss an die Welt.

Zukunftsfähige Mobilität

In Deutschland ist heute ein hohes Maß an individueller Mobilität erreicht, das es zu sichern gilt. Gleichzeitig fordert die Einbindung in die globale Wirtschaft neue, noch leistungsfähigere Transportkonzepte. Zu den großen Zukunftsaufgaben gehört dabei die Verwirklichung der Nachhaltigkeit im Verkehr: Im Fokus steht die Reduzierung von Umweltbelastungen. Angesichts gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen wie dem demographischen Wandel wird aber auch die soziale Komponente von Mobilität immer wichtiger.

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen forschen zu Entwicklungen und Perspektiven des Personen- und Wirtschaftsverkehrs. Unsere Vision: Ein modernes und zukunftsfähiges Verkehrssystem, effizient und nachhaltig für Mensch und Umwelt.

Forschungsfelder des Instituts:

  • Untersuchungen des Mobilitäts- und Verkehrsverhaltens von Personen sowohl in privaten Haushalten als auch in Unternehmen,
  • Modelle zur Abbildung und Prognose der regionalen Verkehrsnachfrage im Personen- und Wirtschaftsverkehr 
  • Bewertung von Technologien und Maßnahmen hinsichtlich ihres Wirkungspotenzials
  • Akzeptanz und Nutzungspotenziale der Elektromobilität im Personen- und Wirtschaftsverkehr
  • Wechselwirkungen zwischen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT) und Mobilität
  • Urbane Mobilität im nationalen und internationalen Kontext

Das Institut für Verkehrsforschung ist durch Forschungskooperationen und -projekte auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene vernetzt. Es arbeitet eng mit der universitären Forschung und Lehre zusammen: Etwa durch die Professur für Verkehrsgeographie der Institutsleiterin Prof. Dr. Barbara Lenz an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, aber auch durch die Lehrtätigkeit einer ganzen Reihe von  Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an Hochschulen und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen in der Hauptstadtregion und darüber hinaus.

Abteilungen


 

Personenverkehr


Ob bei der Fahrt zu Ausbildung und Arbeit oder bei Urlaub und Freizeitgestaltung: Mobilität ist ein Grundbedürfnis des Menschen und steht für Fortschritt, Lebensqualität und Freiheit. Mit zunehmendem Wohlstand und der Individualisierung der Lebensstile hat der Personenverkehr in den Industrieländern jahrzehntelang zugenommen. Ein zweiter Blick zeigt aber auch, dass sich das Mobilitätsverhalten fortwährend ändert...
 
 
 

Wirtschaftsverkehr


Der Wirtschaftsverkehr in Deutschland ist von einer hohen Wachstumsdynamik gekennzeichnet: 80 Millionen Menschen benötigen Tag für Tag umfangreiche Gütertransporte und Dienstleistungsfahrten. Zudem sind hierzulande 4 Millionen Unternehmen angesiedelt, die auf eine leistungsfähige Verkehrsinfrastruktur angewiesen sind. Fast ein Drittel aller auf Deutschlands Straßen zurückgelegten...
 
 
 

Mobilität und Urbane Entwicklung


Heute wohnen bereits über die Hälfte aller Menschen in städtischen Ballungsgebieten, 2050 werden es nach UN-Prognosen sogar rund 75 Prozent sein. Die Bedeutung der Stadt als Lebens- und Wirtschaftsraum wächst stetig. Damit werden am Thema Urbane Mobilität die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts besonders deutlich. Schon heute entstehen in Städten viele...
 
 

URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/vf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-938/1391_read-6295/