Mechanics of Materials and microstructure

Mechanics of Materials and microstructure



Initiation of a secondary crack and further growth of this crack under in-phase biaxial loading
Investigation of damage tolerance properties of metallic light alloys is one of the major tasks within the field of Metallic Materials and Structures. More efficient methods to characterise damage tolerance behaviour are developed. These more fundamental studies result in technical expertise to assess fatigue, crack growth and residual strength of metallic structures analytically.

Numerical modelling of crack growth behaviour is advanced on the basis of profound analytical knowledge. Fatigue life of metallic structures is simulated by integration of resulting crack growth laws. A large-scale biaxial test rig allows verifying crack growth predictions for in-plane biaxial loading of structural components up to one square metre.

Friction Stir Welding is optimised with respect to light metals and structures made from light metals. It is illustrated that the welding parameters chosen are directly connected to the joint’s microstructure, strength and corrosive behaviour. Furthermore, various friction stir welded joint geometries are inspected non-destructively by high-frequency ultrasonics.

 

 

 

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Michael Besel
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Materials Research
, Mechanics of materials and joining technology
Tel: +49 2203 601-2068

Fax: +49 2203 696480

E-Mail: michael.besel@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/wf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-3740/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Friction Stir Welding (FSW) (http://www.dlr.de/wf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2132/2294_read-3738/usetemplate-print/)
Fatigue under service conditions and fracture mechanics (http://www.dlr.de/wf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-4857/usetemplate-print/)
Microstructural investigations of aluminium alloys (http://www.dlr.de/wf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-4855/usetemplate-print/)

Metallische Werkstoffe und Strukturen

Metallische Werkstoffe und Strukturen



Entstehung eines Sekundärrisses und weiterer Rissfortschritt über diesen Sekundärriss bei biaxialer Ermüdung
Im Forschungsfeld metallische Werkstoffe und Strukturen liegt der Fokus auf der Charakterisierung der „Damage Tolerance“-Eigenschaften von metallischen Leichtbaulegierungen auf Al- und Ti-Basis und auf der Erarbeitung von neuen, wirtschaftlicheren Methoden zur Bestimmung der Damage-Tolerance-relevanten Kenngrößen. Diese grundlegenden Arbeiten münden in die generelle Bewertungskompetenz für Lebensdauerverhalten, Rissfortschritt und Restfestigkeit metallischer Strukturen.

Die analytischen Kompetenzen zur Modellierung des Rissausbreitungsverhaltens werden in Richtung von numerischen Werkzeugen zur Lebensdauersimulation von metallischen Strukturen weiterentwickelt. Die biaxiale Prüftechnik rundet die Charakterisierung metallischer Strukturen ab. Mit ihrer Hilfe können die Vorhersagen zum Rissfortschrittsverhalten ebener integraler Strukturkomponenten im Größenbereich bis zu einem Quadratmeter verifiziert werden.

Das Reibrührschweißen wird im Hinblick auf Leichtmetalle und aus Leichtmetallen hergestellte Strukturen optimiert. Der Zusammenhang zwischen den Schweißparametern, der Schweißnahtmikrostruktur und den Festigkeits- und Korrosionseigenschaften wird untersucht. Außerdem werden Verfahren zur zerstörungsfreien Prüfung von reibrührgeschweißten Verbindungen entwickelt.

 

 

 

 

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Michael Besel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Werkstoff-Forschung
, Metallische Strukturen und hybride Werkstoffsysteme
Tel: +49 2203 601-2068

Fax: +49 2203 696480

E-Mail: michael.besel@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/wf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-3740/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Reibrührschweißen – Friction Stir Welding (FSW) (http://www.dlr.de/wf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2132/2294_read-3738/usetemplate-print/)
Betriebsnahe Ermüdung und Bruchmechanik (http://www.dlr.de/wf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-4857/usetemplate-print/)
Gefügeuntersuchungen an Aluminiumlegierungen (http://www.dlr.de/wf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1697/3090_read-4855/usetemplate-print/)