Intermetallics



 

Intermetallics

View enlargement

Titanium aluminides are intermetalic alloys with titanium and aluminium as mean alloying elements. Titanium aluminides are promising materials for high temperature and structural applications of the future. Due to their low density from 3.9 g/cm³ to 4.1 g/cm³ along with an excellent high temperature strength these materials are predestine for usage in stationary and aeronautic gas turbines as well as for valves and turbo chargers in cars.

 

Technically relevant alloys show different microstructures depending on composition and thermo-mechanical treatment influencing the mechanical properties. For example, the globular Near-γ-microstructures are showing an improved ductility while lamellar microstructures are showing a higher toughness.

Conventional titanium alloys can be used up to 550°C while titanium aluminides are intended for service temperatures of 700°C at least. Thus they are competing with established heat resistant steel and nickel alloys – along with a drastically reduced density.

The Institute of Materials research is collaborating with well-known German aeroengine companies for the optimisation and understanding of titanium aluminides. The research work is concentrated on microstructural characterisation und the relationship of microstructure and mechanical properties, such as fatigue, crack propagation, and damage tolerance.

A special research topic conducted at DLR is the impact testing of blade-like specimens followed by determination of the residual fatigue life. The impact tests are carried out in close collaboration with the Institute of Structures and Design. A further speciality of the research work at DLR is the interaction of materials modelling with experimental characterisation.


Contact
Dr.-Ing. Joachim Hausmann
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Materials Research
, Mechanics of materials and joining technology
Tel: +49 2203 601-2054

Fax: +49 2203 696480

E-Mail: Joachim.Hausmann@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/wf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2450/3641_read-5420/

Intermetallics



 

Intermetallics
 

Titanaluminide, intermetallische Legierungen mit den Hauptlegierungselementen Titan und Aluminium, zählen zu den viel versprechenden Werkstoffsystemen für Anwendungen im Hochtemperatur- und Strukturbereich in der Zukunft. Aufgrund ihrer geringen Dichte von 3,9 g/cm³ bis 4,1 g/cm³ bei einer gleichzeitig guten Hochtemperaturfestigkeit sind diese Werkstoffe prädestiniert für den Einsatz in stationären Gas- oder Flugzeugturbinen sowie im Automobilbau für Ventile und Turbolader.

Die technisch relevanten Legierungen weisen je nach thermo-mechanischer Behandlung und Zusammensetzung sehr unterschiedliche Gefügemorphologien auf, die sich wesentlich auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften auswirken. Während beispielsweise die globularen Near-γ-Gefüge eine bessere Duktilität aufweisen, zeigen die lamellaren Gefüge eine höhere Zähigkeit.

Konventionelle Titanlegierungen können lediglich bis 550 °C eingesetzt werden, für Titanaluminide werden dagegen Einsatztemperaturen von bis zu 700 °C angestrebt, beschichtet sogar deutlich höher. Damit stehen sie in direkter Konkurrenz mit den etablierten warmfesten Stählen und Nickelbasis-Superlegierungen - bei gleichzeitig erheblich geringerer Dichte.

Das Institut für Werkstoff-Forschung arbeitet zusammen mit namhaften deutschen Flugzeugtriebwerks-Herstellern an der Optimierung und dem Verständnis dieser Werkstoffe. Dabei konzentrieren sich die Forschungsarbeiten vor allem auf die mikrostrukturelle Charakterisierung und den Zusammenhang zwischen Mikrostruktur und mechanischen Eigenschaften, wie Ermüdung, Rissausbreitung und Schadenstoleranz.

Ein spezieller Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Impact-Prüfung von schaufelähnlichen Proben mit anschließender Bestimmung der Restlebensdauer. Die Impact-Versuche werden in enger Kooperation mit dem Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologi durchgeführt. Eine weitere Besonderheit der Arbeiten im DLR ist die enge Verzahnung zwischen Materialmodellierung und experimenteller Charakterisierung.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/wf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2450/3641_read-5420/